.

139 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.9
139 reviews
Recommended
(9.2)
Food
(9.0)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(8.7)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Sun, 14 Feb 2016

(3)
The food was tasty, but the chefs were let down by the terribly rude service from the two older staff. I also felt sorry for the nice younger waitress. Never again! Especially with so many great places in the neighbourhood.

dined on Sat, 13 Feb 2016

(10)
Service and food was fantastic. Authentic Italian
Kay Feain

dined on Sat, 13 Feb 2016

(9)
Love the authentic southern Italian fare. I had the stuffed sardines as an entree which was super delicious and my friends had calamari and arancini which they also said was the best. I then followed with fish (Ling) and the other had Gnocchi and lasagne. We couldn't find any fault other than we had left no room for dessert. If you want them to make a selection for you they will and you won't be disappointed. The girls opted for a 'surprise me' drink. I had a Bellini and my friend had an Aperol Spritz and again we weren't disappointed. Situated in Lygon St away from the hustle and bustle and ridiculous pricing of Carlton we were lucky we made a booking as the house was full with more waiting around the bar for a table.
Francesco

dined on Sun, 7 Feb 2016

(9)
best gnocchi in town

dined on Sun, 7 Feb 2016

(7)
Good service. The Sicilian linguine is recommended. Entrees are overpriced. Lovely furniture and rustic atmosphere.
Francesco Caso

dined on Wed, 20 Jan 2016

(8)
amazing gnocchi

dined on Sat, 16 Jan 2016

(8)
Authentic Italian Food, generous helpings and great service
Gabrielle

dined on Fri, 15 Jan 2016

(6)
Good gluten free options for Italian restaurant

dined on Sat, 9 Jan 2016

(5)
We chose this place as it is one of my husband's favourites and we were there for his birthday. However, it was a disappointing experience. The owner was almost annoyed with us when we arrived, hardly acknowledged us and made us feel very uncomfortable. We had to constantly ask for water and glasses for our drinks and menus. It was the first time we brought our entire family and they were left feeling puzzled as to why we liked the place so much. Despite the fact that I had told them we were there for my husband's birthday, no reference or acknowledgement. Very disappointing evening considering how many times we have been here and how much business we have brought to this restaurant. Not sure that we will be back in a hurry. And we were the first people in the restaurant for some time!

dined on Fri, 8 Jan 2016

(4)
The restaurant was packed when we got there and after all the good reviews I'd read I was really looking forward to it- unfortunately I was pretty disappointed. The service was patchy, everyone was very nice but they just seemed to keep forgetting about us. Food was nice but not spectacular, we had arancini balls and calamari for entrée, lasagne and a chicken dish for main and then a nutella pizza for desert. My friend had three beers with his meal, the first was lovely, in a frosty cold glass, the second was cold but in a warm glass so quickly warmed up. After that they ran out of the beer he was drinking so he switched to something else but it was tepid when it came out in a warm glass. We wanted to order coffee but they didn't ask us so we left and went somewhere else. I got the feeling they were a lot more attentive to the regular customers but we wont be going back to find out.
page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Specials

Christmas Day Lunch $125pp

The Stonemill will be open for Christmas Day lunch this year. Our Set menu has been specially selected to feature the very best of The Stonemill and the spirit of the season of Joy! Please be informed that this is a tentative booking and the restaurant will be in contact to arrange full payment. $125 pp - Including complimentary glass of Prosecco on arrival. Menu: Entrée – Mare *Tris di Mare Capesante, Salmone & Polipeto Scallops (with a zucchini pure’, asparagus & trout eggs); Salmon (with marinated citrus fruits); Octopus (with marinated fennel) Main *Barramundi al Cartoccio Tender Barramundi fillets with aromatic fennel, capers, olives, mussels & clams oven baked in parchment paper Dessert *Sorbetto al limone e’ menta Lemon & Mint Sorbet *Café ---------------------------------------------------OR----------------------------------------------- Entrée – Monte *Antipasto all’Italiana A selection of cured meats (salami, prosciutto, capocollo, cheese, olives & marinated artichoke) Main *Brasato di Agnello con pure’ di patate Oven baked succulent braised Lamb shoulder served with potato pure’ Dessert *Semifreddo al Cioccolato Chocolate Semifreddo *Café
When
25 Dec 2017
Mon 12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Stonemill 347

Your home away from home The Stonemill 347 Food & Wine Bar is one of East Brunswick’s newest gems. This smart restaurant and cosy cafe has a contemporary and welcoming feel. Decorated with quirky industrial lights and pretty light wood furniture, this place has an upbeat and warm atmosphere that feels like home. The place is considered by many to be the alter-ego of its owner Salvo, whose hospitable and vibrant personality is famous around these parts. His restaurant is more than welcome in the upper end of Lygon Street, which is a bit more chilled than the Carlton side. The Stonemill has got all the sophistication of Lygon Street but with a homey, laid back vibe. So what’s their speciality? The Stonemill 347 Food & Wine Bar is really all about pasta – and homemade pasta at that. In fact, they make all of their pasta-goodies by hand daily, so you know you’re getting the freshest of the fresh. Combine that with seasonal fresh produce and you’ve got amazing Italian dishes that’ll give you a new reason for getting out of bed in the morning. Don’t sleep in too late – breakfast is at The Stonemill. Best dish Frutti di Mare- their creamy seafood pasta

The Stonemill 347 Address

Google Map