.

74 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

9.1
74 reviews
Recommended
(9.4)
Food
(9.1)
Service
(9.5)
Value for money
(8.4)
Atmosphere
(9.0)

dined on Fri, 28 Jul 2017

(10)
We love this restaurant! Booked a group table for wife's birthday dinner and we were very well looked after by staff. Extensive wine and beer selection and incredible food. Thanks again Recreattion!

dined on Sat, 22 Jul 2017

(7)
Mains we're disappointing after delicious starters and entrees
Mark

dined on Thu, 20 Jul 2017

(8)
Good place. Did take a little time to get underway! First drinks took sometime and was a wait for menus. Maybe this was done on purpose to slow orders to kitchen? But once all the above was fixed, it was really good.

dined on Tue, 4 Jul 2017

(8)
Very helpful for coeliac - would highly recommend. Suckling pig as a main was on the small side - would have paid more for more pig. Entree suckling pig was perfect size.
Thank you for dining with us. We are always more than happy to help with dietary requirements.
Restaurant The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop responded on Fri, 7 Jul 2017
Tanya

dined on Sat, 1 Jul 2017

(10)
Excellent service. Food was delightful. A premium dining experience. They have nailed the menu, service, atmosphere and ambience.
Hi Tanya, Thank you for visiting. We loved hosting your group.
Restaurant The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop responded on Fri, 7 Jul 2017

dined on Sat, 24 Jun 2017

(9)
A gem this place would definitely go back
Thank you for visiting Joe. We are very glad you enjoyed it.
Restaurant The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop responded on Tue, 27 Jun 2017

dined on Fri, 23 Jun 2017

(8)
Food was really good but service was a little cold and officious
Hi Anne, Thank you for your feedback. Glad you enjoyed the food. We are disappointed to have fallen short in a service capacity - we have taken the feedback on board and as a service team we are always working to bring a better experience to those dining at The Recreation.
Restaurant The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop responded on Tue, 27 Jun 2017

dined on Fri, 23 Jun 2017

(9)
Delicious menu either a la carte or shared. Good value for money given the quality and good noise level - even when full it wasn't too loud. Highly recommended.
Thank you for visiting. Glad that you had a great time
Restaurant The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop responded on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
Richard OBrien

dined on Fri, 9 Jun 2017

(9)
This was our third visit to Recreation and the food and service have been consistently excellent. The pear and black pudding tarte tatin is fabulous: we have had it each time, but many other dishes are also memorable . They do a great Aperol Spritz, the wine list has lots of interesting offerings and there are plenty available by the glass. You can also BYO for a modest corkage. Service is very good: friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. We will be back.
Hi Richard, Thank you for the review. Great to see you at the weekend too.
Restaurant The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop responded on Tue, 27 Jun 2017

dined on Sat, 27 May 2017

(9)
Beautiful food, good service, a little noisy,
Hi, Thank you for coming in, we are very glad you enjoyed it. On the noise level, we spent some of Sunday evening replacing the feet on the chairs to reduce the noise they make and take that away from the overall background noise. We are pleased with the effect it has had. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon to show you the difference this has made.
Restaurant The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop responded on Tue, 30 May 2017
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

About The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop

Located on Queens Parade in Fitzroy North, The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop is the perfect spot to enjoy lunch with colleagues or a long dinner with friends. The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop’s fresh and authentic menus are inspired by modern Australian cuisine. Be prepared to experience tasty drinks and exceptional food including roasted lamb, chargrilled calamari and vanilla bean creme brulee. Go and experience this one of a kind restaurant for yourself- you won’t be disappointed! Best Dish: Veal tartare, pickled radish, leek, wasabi rouille

The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop Address

Google Map