.

66 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

9.1
66 reviews
Recommended
(9.4)
Food
(9.1)
Service
(9.5)
Value for money
(8.3)
Atmosphere
(9.0)
Richard OBrien

dined on Fri, 9 Jun 2017

(9)
This was our third visit to Recreation and the food and service have been consistently excellent. The pear and black pudding tarte tatin is fabulous: we have had it each time, but many other dishes are also memorable . They do a great Aperol Spritz, the wine list has lots of interesting offerings and there are plenty available by the glass. You can also BYO for a modest corkage. Service is very good: friendly, knowledgeable and efficient. We will be back.
Hi Richard, Thank you for the review. Great to see you at the weekend too.
Restaurant The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop responded on Tue, 27 Jun 2017

dined on Sat, 27 May 2017

(9)
Beautiful food, good service, a little noisy,
Hi, Thank you for coming in, we are very glad you enjoyed it. On the noise level, we spent some of Sunday evening replacing the feet on the chairs to reduce the noise they make and take that away from the overall background noise. We are pleased with the effect it has had. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon to show you the difference this has made.
Restaurant The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop responded on Tue, 30 May 2017

dined on Tue, 16 May 2017

(8)
Lovely meal, great service but bill shock at the end.

dined on Sat, 13 May 2017

(10)
A random find from an online venue reviewer, we thought we would gove this place a chance. We must have had a bit of everything on the menu ad I am stuffed. And found a top glass of wine so got the bottle, so very happy to write a good review about the Recreation! One bad note: they ran out of suckling pig just as i was about to order, so we will have to go back and try that!
Hi Chris, Thank you for visiting. Sorry the suckling pig ran out - very glad it has given you a reason to come back. See you soon.
Restaurant The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop responded on Sun, 14 May 2017
Jill

dined on Thu, 4 May 2017

(9)
The two of us baby boomers enjoyed the choices provided on the menu, presentation was excellent as was the helpful selection of wine to food. We shall be back to try the suckling pig that another patron had.. It smelt & looked delicious!
Hi Jill, Thank you for having a look at what we do. Very happy that you already have something in mind for next time too! See you soon.
Restaurant The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop responded on Fri, 5 May 2017

dined on Fri, 24 Mar 2017

(10)
Such a lovely little restaurant, the atmosphere was country/pub/charming/chic, the staff were attentive- perhaps a little too much at times, food and wine were amazing- classic dishes but with next level flavour ! Will be back :)
Hi, glad you enjoyed The Recreation. Hopefully we can welcome you again soon
Joe Durrant, The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop responded on Sat, 25 Mar 2017
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7

About The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop

Located on Queens Parade in Fitzroy North, The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop is the perfect spot to enjoy lunch with colleagues or a long dinner with friends. The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop’s fresh and authentic menus are inspired by modern Australian cuisine. Be prepared to experience tasty drinks and exceptional food including roasted lamb, chargrilled calamari and vanilla bean creme brulee. Go and experience this one of a kind restaurant for yourself- you won’t be disappointed! Best Dish: Veal tartare, pickled radish, leek, wasabi rouille

The Recreation Bistro & Bottleshop Address

Google Map