.

120 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8
120 reviews
Recommended
(8.1)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.2)
Value for money
(8.3)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Fri, 10 Apr 2015

(4)
Service by the Dining room staff was OK and friendly, However,,,, The main bar of this "Hotel" does not serve a Pot of Light Beer on tap. Only Full strength. Wanted to sell me a bottle of James Boags light for $6. I only wanted to drink a Pot of Beer so I declined. We ordered a 2012 Shiraz from the Grampians region, but we were served a 2013 Heathcote Shiraz. We ordered a 4x steaks and were asked "did you want chips and salad with the steak" We said Yes. We only got served the steaks. Then when we asked about the chips and salad, we were told that the chips and salad were "Sides" and would cost extra. This was not conveyed to us when we ordered. We ended up getting only one plate of salad and chips to share. They initially refused to accept 2 Melb Entertainment vouchers but after I insisted and they finally did. This place was a good dinning experience some time ago, but now..I am not so sure.

dined on Mon, 16 Feb 2015

(8)
The service was good but for the second consecutive time that we've been there, the bill was incorrect and we were chaeged for items we didn't have. Food was good but the steak was a little overdone.

dined on Sat, 27 Dec 2014

(9)
Very fast service and extremely delicious food. A surprisingly cheap menu that didn't lack quality! A definite must go especially if you like American style food.
Steve

dined on Wed, 26 Nov 2014

(8)
The food and service was great. We both had porterhouse steak and the quality of the cut and how it was cooked was excellent. We will be back.

dined on Sat, 30 Aug 2014

(1)
Would neveer dine there again. The quality has dropped dramatically

dined on Fri, 20 Jun 2014

(8)
Great service and atmosphere
David

dined on Fri, 9 May 2014

(9)
Had a great lunch here. Both diners had the eye fillet with prawns, which was excellent. Steak was cooked to perfection and the sauce was superb. Service was also very good – very friendly and efficient.
Fiona

dined on Thu, 17 Apr 2014

(9)
Only problem was the accidental addition of items to our bill. We were billed an extra 40 dollars. Once this was pointed out the problem was quickly rectified.
Maggie

dined on Sat, 29 Mar 2014

(8)
Great atmosphere smiling faces lots going on great service.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Oh Crêpe! $49pp

Build your own crêpe with toppings like: chocolate, crème, strawberry, pineapple, cheese and more. Enjoy a bottomless package including: house wines, sparking, mimosas, select beers and a new range of cocktails every week! Please note that the package finishes at 1pm regardless of booking time. Due to the nature of this event, we can unfortunately not cater for dietary requirements General T&C’s / Set Menus ● Confirmation of your booking is required 48 hours prior to your booking time, don’t worry we will call to confirm! ● We accept all major credit cards or cash. ● We take credit card details as security only. The bill is to be paid in full on arrival. If you choose to cancel the whole reservation within 48 hours of the booking, or if your group numbers drop by more than 3 in the same period of time, 50% of the menu selected will be charged to the card provided. ● All non-attenedees on the package may incur a fee. ● When notified of food allergies & intolerances we will take all due care to ensure meals or beverages served are free from notified products. However, we cannot guarantee that the meals or beverages will be free from trace elements. Please ensure that you notify us of any requirements 48 hours or more prior to booking.
When
02 Jun 2018 - 09 Sep 2018
Sun, Sat 11:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Provincial Hotel

Party at the Prov. Whether you’re meeting mates pre or post footy, attending a hen’s, bucks or birthday party, listening to live music or comedy or curled up in the infamous Chesterfield sofa in the front bar, there’s partying to be done at The Provincial Hotel. One of Fitzroy’s most famous pubs, located on Brunswick Street in the heart of bohemian Fitzroy. Its shabby flaking façade hides a warm and friendly main bar, with open fire in winter, and a cool breeze blowing through the windows in summer. We love both the main restaurant and large courtyard, and marvel at how it consistently fills with diners for lunch and dinner, seven days a week. The menu is extensive, with Australian and International flavours and something for everyone. We order the Twice pulled pork soft shell tacos, Portuguese barramundi, wontons with nam jim sauce or just a traditional steak or parma meal. Best Dish: Caramelised Pork Belly

The Provincial Hotel Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

73
2.5/5