.

123 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8
123 reviews
Recommended
(8.1)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.2)
Value for money
(8.3)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Thu, 27 Aug 2015

(9)
new favourite :)

dined on Sat, 11 Jul 2015

(6)
Portions were too small, did not feel full.

dined on Sat, 25 Apr 2015

(8)
Great pub. Great day. Service Excellent.

dined on Fri, 10 Apr 2015

(4)
Service by the Dining room staff was OK and friendly, However,,,, The main bar of this "Hotel" does not serve a Pot of Light Beer on tap. Only Full strength. Wanted to sell me a bottle of James Boags light for $6. I only wanted to drink a Pot of Beer so I declined. We ordered a 2012 Shiraz from the Grampians region, but we were served a 2013 Heathcote Shiraz. We ordered a 4x steaks and were asked "did you want chips and salad with the steak" We said Yes. We only got served the steaks. Then when we asked about the chips and salad, we were told that the chips and salad were "Sides" and would cost extra. This was not conveyed to us when we ordered. We ended up getting only one plate of salad and chips to share. They initially refused to accept 2 Melb Entertainment vouchers but after I insisted and they finally did. This place was a good dinning experience some time ago, but now..I am not so sure.

dined on Mon, 16 Feb 2015

(8)
The service was good but for the second consecutive time that we've been there, the bill was incorrect and we were chaeged for items we didn't have. Food was good but the steak was a little overdone.

dined on Sat, 27 Dec 2014

(9)
Very fast service and extremely delicious food. A surprisingly cheap menu that didn't lack quality! A definite must go especially if you like American style food.
Steve

dined on Wed, 26 Nov 2014

(8)
The food and service was great. We both had porterhouse steak and the quality of the cut and how it was cooked was excellent. We will be back.

dined on Sat, 30 Aug 2014

(1)
Would neveer dine there again. The quality has dropped dramatically

dined on Fri, 20 Jun 2014

(8)
Great service and atmosphere
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About The Provincial Hotel

Party at the Prov. Whether you’re meeting mates pre or post footy, attending a hen’s, bucks or birthday party, listening to live music or comedy or curled up in the infamous Chesterfield sofa in the front bar, there’s partying to be done at The Provincial Hotel. One of Fitzroy’s most famous pubs, located on Brunswick Street in the heart of bohemian Fitzroy. Its shabby flaking façade hides a warm and friendly main bar, with open fire in winter, and a cool breeze blowing through the windows in summer. We love both the main restaurant and large courtyard, and marvel at how it consistently fills with diners for lunch and dinner, seven days a week. The menu is extensive, with Australian and International flavours and something for everyone. We order the Twice pulled pork soft shell tacos, Portuguese barramundi, wontons with nam jim sauce or just a traditional steak or parma meal. Best Dish: Caramelised Pork Belly

The Provincial Hotel Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

73
2.5/5