.

122 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8
122 reviews
Recommended
(8.1)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.2)
Value for money
(8.3)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Sun, 2 Sep 2012

(10)
An excellent experience

dined on Fri, 31 Aug 2012

(6)
Staff were very pleasant but I found the service was confused, maybe some of the staff were in training? 3 of our party ordered the beef ragu pasta, but it looked and tasted very much like a beef bourguignon (curiously - that was the special for the day) chunks of beef (a little dry) in a gravy sauce poured over pasta. The Kransky special was well prepared and very tasty.
Katherine

dined on Fri, 24 Aug 2012

(10)
Fantastic food and atmosphere....

dined on Sat, 18 Aug 2012

(0)
The restaurant is a shocker. The service levels and the food quality has deteriorated terribly over the years. The roof caved in with water from the male toilet upstairs. The moved us from our table to a table only a meter from the water issues...no health department would have allowed that. The compensated us by paying for our drinks and dry cleaning bills but then argued we had to pay for a meal that was incorrectly delivered to us. A powerhouse steak was ordered and it was clearly not that. The chef insisted we pay for it and that he would show us his meat bucket to support his claims. Terrible customer service. The meals that arrived looked ordinary and worse than any pub meal I have ever had. They need to close up and start again elsewhere! Melbourne does not deserve a restaurant on Brunswick Street of such shocking standards.
Lynn

dined on Sat, 11 Aug 2012

(6)
Good food. Wine list a bit pricey for a pub.
Kerry

dined on Tue, 7 Aug 2012

(7)
Two out of our three meals were good - unfortunately mine was just okay. Staff were excellent.

dined on Thu, 12 Jul 2012

(9)
I have dined at the Provincial for the past thirty years but it was at its best last evening. We did not have the time to enjoy the spectacular Bastille Day set menu but, nevertheless, service was tops and our interests and early departure were well supported by the staff. Wine purchased by the glass was excellent and the food to our liking.

dined on Sat, 30 Jun 2012

(7)
N/A
Kate

dined on Sat, 23 Jun 2012

(10)
Best gnocci Ever!!!!!
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

About The Provincial Hotel

Party at the Prov. Whether you’re meeting mates pre or post footy, attending a hen’s, bucks or birthday party, listening to live music or comedy or curled up in the infamous Chesterfield sofa in the front bar, there’s partying to be done at The Provincial Hotel. One of Fitzroy’s most famous pubs, located on Brunswick Street in the heart of bohemian Fitzroy. Its shabby flaking façade hides a warm and friendly main bar, with open fire in winter, and a cool breeze blowing through the windows in summer. We love both the main restaurant and large courtyard, and marvel at how it consistently fills with diners for lunch and dinner, seven days a week. The menu is extensive, with Australian and International flavours and something for everyone. We order the Twice pulled pork soft shell tacos, Portuguese barramundi, wontons with nam jim sauce or just a traditional steak or parma meal. Best Dish: Caramelised Pork Belly

The Provincial Hotel Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

73
2.5/5