.

478 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.8
478 reviews
Recommended
(9.4)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(9.2)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Sat, 14 Apr 2018

(10)
Such a wonderful little place. Great atmosphere, food was wonderful and lovely and relaxed staff. Thanks for letting us stay so long. We had a really lovely night.
Jag

dined on Sat, 17 Mar 2018

(9)
Excellent service and outstanding food. Loved the croquettes.

dined on Sat, 10 Mar 2018

(8)
We were seated at the bar and we found it a bit too squishy. The food was lovely and the service was wonderful, but it wasn’t the most comfortable of evenings.,

dined on Fri, 9 Mar 2018

(8)
The degustation is fantastic value, and an interesting array of food and tastes. Matching cocktails not outstanding though, and would probably recommend going for the matching wines instead. Fantastic price though!
Stephanie

dined on Tue, 6 Mar 2018

(10)
Fantastic food and wonderful service. We started the evening with cocktails at the bar and then dined upstairs. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

dined on Sat, 10 Feb 2018

(10)
The food and service were very good.

dined on Sun, 4 Feb 2018

(9)
We enjoyed the bar area (it was a sunday, upstairs are closed), we had great cocktails and food. Food was a bit warm, but still tasted good. Atmosphere was good and we would go again.

dined on Tue, 30 Jan 2018

(9)
We were advise by a friend to sit at the bar and Owen, the barman, would take good care of us with great wine pairings for our food. Owen was as advertised and took great care of us.

dined on Sun, 21 Jan 2018

(10)
great service great food

dined on Wed, 10 Jan 2018

(10)
I had been here once a few years ago and was keen to try it again, as a pre-theatre meal before going to Hayes Theatre nearby. They do two courses for $39 on Monday to Wednesday, which seemed like an excellent deal. I was very pleased that the food, drink and service was as good, if not better, than I remembered. The food was outstanding. Beautifully presented, with delicate flavours. Comparable to the meal we had at a hatted restaurant last week. My boyfriend and I had the spanner crab salad to start, I then had the gnocchi and he had the lamb. We had the house red with our meal and I had a NY whisky to start. Everything was excellent, not even considering the excellent value. We started off with a drink downstairs which was a lovely way to start our meal. The only minor complaint I have is that our booking was for 6 and upstairs wasn't ready till after 6.15, which was an issue only because of the theatre booking. Once we told them however, they made sure the food was served promptly and we left in plenty of time to make the theatre. A lovey experience!
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

2 Course Menu $39pp

Enjoy any two courses plus a complimentary glass of wine for $39pp when you dine with us on Monday to Wednesday. Offer not valid in conjunction with any other special, promotion or coupon
When
12 Sep 2017 - 12 Sep 2020
Mon, Tue, Wed 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Owl House

Have a hoot of a time Behind an unassuming red terrace door, on the Darlinghurst end of Crown Street, lies a neighbourhood watering hole that makes drinking at the ‘wrong’ end of Crown Street a much more pleasant affair. Downstairs, happy patrons crowd around the long narrow bar sipping cocktails under the oversized, naked light bulbs. Mingling with others, or even with owners Amir Halpert and Paul Loulli is not uncommon at this compact eatery so be prepared for bar banter and story trading if you enter this little local. Bar snacks such as smoked bone marrow and oxtail croquettes, and marinated Sicilian olives go down a treat. Or you can choose to dine upstairs on the second level, where things are a little more diner-friendly, and not such a tight squeeze. The best seats in the house are unquestionably up on the intimate balcony, which seats a party of four. But no matter where you sit at The Owl House, you’re sure to have one hoot of a time. Hoot, hoot! Best dish: smoked bone marrow and oxtail croquette

The Owl House Address

Google Map