.

3227 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3227 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)
Greg

dined on Thu, 15 Feb 2018

(8)
Malaya is always first class

dined on Wed, 14 Feb 2018

(7)
Food was average, was decent. Service was great, very welcoming.

dined on Wed, 14 Feb 2018

(10)
As a veteran of dining at The Malaya for 50 years, I can testify that the food is never a disappointment, always fresh and well prepared. Their prawn dishes are always brilliant. However, not for those who prefer bland food!

dined on Wed, 14 Feb 2018

(10)
Great place and food.. slightly expensive.

dined on Sun, 11 Feb 2018

(9)
We had the banquet for 2 last night and enjoyed the food and service. I had dined here previously but it was my first time to have banquet. Cuisine is fine Asian that's bold in flavours and aroma. Hubby was thoroughly impressed.

dined on Sun, 11 Feb 2018

(8)
Very enjoyable meal and good service.
Jams

dined on Sat, 10 Feb 2018

(6)
Pricier than was said on Dimmi. Banquet is 70 pp
Dear Jams, Thank you for your review. All of the restaurants third party website are up to date with our current menu and pricing. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 12 Feb 2018

dined on Sat, 10 Feb 2018

(10)
Wonderful food and venue and service.

dined on Fri, 9 Feb 2018

(10)
Amazing food, especially for a vegetarian. Great service. Beautiful views.
Dear Tadhg, Thank you for your kind words and reviewing your recent dining experience with us. We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable time. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 10 Feb 2018

dined on Fri, 9 Feb 2018

(9)
Thanks for looking after our group.
page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Specials

Mother's Day 2018

All reservations for Mother's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
13 May 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Father's Day 2018

All reservations for Father's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
02 Sep 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2018

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
06 Nov 2018
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10