.

3081 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3081 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)
Eddie Harper-Pell

dined on Fri, 24 Nov 2017

(10)
The food is bang on and a great bang for your buck. Really impressed and always love coming back
Hi Eddie, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are pleased we were rated 10/10 on all aspects of food and service. We have such a wonderful dedicated team of staff who deliver a fantastic product. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 30 Nov 2017

dined on Thu, 23 Nov 2017

(8)
great services and amazing food
Hi Melinda, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased you were happy with the friendly professional service and amazing food. Our staff truly do such a wonderful job and deliver such a wonderful product. Thanks again & regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sun, 26 Nov 2017

dined on Wed, 22 Nov 2017

(9)
Excellent spot for a sunset meal.

dined on Tue, 21 Nov 2017

(8)
Delicious food and great for groups as they cater for all dietary requirements.
Hi Laura, Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted to hear you were well catered for with your dietary requirement. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 22 Nov 2017

dined on Sat, 18 Nov 2017

(8)
Great cocktails
Hi Sandra, Thanks for the review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the great range of cocktails we offer. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 22 Nov 2017
Cath O'Brien

dined on Sat, 18 Nov 2017

(9)
I've been dining at The Malaya for 36 years now. It's one of my favourite restaurants in Sydney.
Hi Cath, Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that we are your favourite Sydney restaurant. We thank you for your continued support of the restaurant over the years. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 22 Nov 2017

dined on Sat, 18 Nov 2017

(8)
Very good authentic food
Hi Hari, Thanks for the wonderful ratings and review. Regards The Malaya Management
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 22 Nov 2017

dined on Sat, 18 Nov 2017

(7)
Nice place for casual dining!
Hi Ping, Thanks for the review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 22 Nov 2017

dined on Fri, 17 Nov 2017

(8)
Good food and cocktails.
Hi Darpana, Thanks for the lovely review! Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 22 Nov 2017

dined on Fri, 17 Nov 2017

(9)
Very good food, friendly service, nice views. It gets loud because the place is quite popular and open plan, so not too easy to hear the people at your table. Would still recommend.
Hi Cathy, Thanks you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the wonderful food, friendly service and location. You are right in saying we are a large open plan restaurant which can get 'very lively'. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 22 Nov 2017
page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Specials

Celebrate NYE at The Malaya

Bid farewell to the year gone by and welcome in the New Year in style. Relax and let our friendly and professional staff look after your every need while dining on a delicious 7 course set menu. Please advise us of all dietary requirements when booking as we may not be able to accommodate some. Children under 12 will be served a children’s menu. Cancellation of a reservation or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by 5pm, Wednesday 27th of December. Past this date, an amount of $120 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or deduction in numbers. Tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside the main dining area.
When
31 Dec 2017
Sun 5:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10