.

3019 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3019 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Wed, 3 May 2017

(9)
Great food, atmosphere and service
David

dined on Tue, 2 May 2017

(9)
Food was great, service felt a bit rushed. But to be expected on a weekday. Shame we couldn't get an aperitif before we got into our meal but! Otherwise, all good.

dined on Mon, 1 May 2017

(10)
Food was exceptional. Service fantastic. We had a newborn with our group that made is late getting there. The staff held the kitchen for us. And they never pressured us to rush our meal. Thanks for understanding.

dined on Mon, 1 May 2017

(9)
Was an incredibly good meal. The service was impressive and the wine list good. Highly recommended restaurant.
Jackson

dined on Sat, 29 Apr 2017

(8)
We are a regular visitor. Disappointing this time as the signature banquet lost its prawn main dish and no roti. Portion of mains seems to have shrunk a little. We ordered chilli wings too and the quality was bad as there was too much batter and over fried so it was really hard. We sent it back to kitchen. It was disappointing as we know we've had better previously. Hope it could be improved on our next visit.

dined on Sat, 22 Apr 2017

(9)
Malaya is consistently good , .
Melanie Turner

dined on Fri, 21 Apr 2017

(9)
Great food! Lovely location and atmosphere

dined on Thu, 20 Apr 2017

(8)
Food was delicious and service was great
Hi Aneita, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. As a business who has been in operation since 1963 we are so proud of the food and service we offer. Am so glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon.
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 19 Jun 2017

dined on Wed, 19 Apr 2017

(9)
Great food that never disappoints in quality
page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Specials

Christmas Group 8 guests min

Book your end of year function now. Enjoy sweeping harbour views with the friendly, professional service and delicious cuisine of The Malaya. Reservations between the 24th November and 24th December for 8 or more guests, or that order the Christmas set menu are required to pay a $59.00 deposit per seat reserved. All tentative reservations will be held for one week, giving you this time to settle the deposit to secure your reservation. Please find the link in your confirmation email to confirm your reservation. Please note that due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area. Groups of 10 guest and over are required to choose a set menu. Please let us know if you require assistance. Please phone 02 9279 1170 to confirm the accurate number of guests attending by 10:30am 48 hours before your reservation. $59.00 will be kept from the deposit for each empty seat at your table. Full cancellation within two weeks of your reservation will result in forfeiture of all monies paid. The deposit will be redeemed from the bill total at the conclusion of the meal based on the most recent confirmation of the number of guests attending – no partial refund can be made prior to arrival.
Min. people
8
When
24 Nov 2017 - 24 Dec 2017
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup

Watch the Melbourne Cup with sweeping views of Darling harbour and your favourite Malaya cuisine. Lunch reservation for Melbourne Cup are required to provide a $59.00 deposit for each seat reserved. Please find the link in your confirmation email to confirm your reservation. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by 5pm, Tuesday 25th October. Past this date full cancellation, or a reduction in numbers will result in forfeiture of $59.00 from the deposit for each empty seat reserved. The deposit will be redeemed from the table bill at the conclusion of the meal based on the final confirmation of how many guests will be in attendance – no partial refund can be made prior to arrival. Please note: To prevent disappointment we encourage you book for the maximum number of guests that may attend as we will be unable to increase your reservation once we have fully booked. To amend the number of guests you have booked please call the restaurant directly on 9279 1170. An 8% gratuity applies to all non-exclusive parties of 8 people and above. SET MENU Group bookings for 10 people or more are required to pre-order a set menu. With the exception of vegetarians, one set menu can be served for the table. Our set menus are served banquet style, all the dishes listed for each of our menus are served to the middle of the table for your guests to share. Changing dishes on a set menu to include items from the a la carte menu, or live seafood menu can be made by prearrangement only. Without prior knowledge we may not be able to provide a meal for guests with certain allergies.
When
07 Nov 2017
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10