.

3358 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3358 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Fri, 22 Dec 2017

(8)
It was a delicious meal, food is great, but it was really noisy (it was xmas lunch season though). but would recommend it.
Hi Kate, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the wonderful food and service. You are right in saying the restuarant can be very noisy. December is our busiest month of the year. We look forward to you dining with us again in the future. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 2 Jan 2018

dined on Thu, 21 Dec 2017

(9)
The beef Satays were very under done. We have been coming there for years and years. We have an alumni group that comes and we always order the same. We love it.
Hi Ray, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience. Feedback is very important to us as a business. It is very disappointing to hear the Beef Satay that was ordered was underdone. I can assure you this is a rare occurrence and something that will be followed up with our head chef. We do hope you can come back in the future and experience the tradition that is The Malaya. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 26 Dec 2017

dined on Sun, 17 Jun 2018

(7)
Not a lot of service

dined on Sat, 16 Jun 2018

(8)
Food was good but service was very slow despite the restaurant not being full - the laksa took a very long time to arrive. We found the Shing Lau Tong to have bit much vinegar for our palate. The Duck Maryland is delicious!! The sauce is perfect, and the duck is tender and crispy.

dined on Fri, 15 Jun 2018

(9)
Food was amazing and service was great

dined on Sun, 10 Jun 2018

(10)
great restaurant, we only had one drink thus only $140 for the bill. we love the food .we had plenty of food. Better in a group though , only 2 of us this time . you can try more of the amazing food .
Dear Sue, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you and your guests enjoyed your time with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our wonderful team of staff. Kindest Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 15 Jun 2018

dined on Sun, 10 Jun 2018

(9)
Great service and food is always amazing.

dined on Fri, 8 Jun 2018

(9)
fantastic evening

dined on Thu, 7 Jun 2018

(6)
Buzzing restaurant. Food seems to be bland, perhaps the chef has changed?
Garry

dined on Thu, 7 Jun 2018

(9)
Great genuine Malaysian food
page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Specials

Father's Day 2018

All reservations for Father's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
03 Sep 2017
Sun 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
When
02 Sep 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2018

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
03 Nov 2015
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
When
01 Nov 2016
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
When
06 Nov 2018
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10