.

3081 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3081 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Tue, 12 Dec 2017

(10)
Great service and food as always.
Susan

dined on Mon, 11 Dec 2017

(9)
THE $59 SET MENUE IS EXCELLENT
Hi Susan, Thanks for the review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our Malaya Banquet Menu on your recent visit. All of our menus offer such a fantastic variety of flavours. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
Sarah

dined on Sun, 10 Dec 2017

(8)
Lovely ambience, great staff, tasty authentic Malay food
Hi Sarah, Thank you for the review of your recent dining experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
Vivian

dined on Sun, 10 Dec 2017

(8)
Lots of flavour and great skewers!
Hi Vivian, Thanks for the review. We are delighted you enjoyed the wonderful flavours of our food. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
Ralph

dined on Sun, 10 Dec 2017

(9)
As good as ever for decades....
Hi Ralph, Thanks for the kind words. Yes we have been in business for 54 years this year and still going strong. Thank you for your patronage over the years. Have a lovely Christmas and New Year. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 12 Dec 2017

dined on Sat, 9 Dec 2017

(10)
Great customer service, fantastic food, quick service! Got a little noisy with a few bigger groups there but overall a great dining experience!

dined on Wed, 6 Dec 2017

(10)
Great menu choices and delicious authentic Malaysian dishes!

dined on Mon, 27 Nov 2017

(9)
one of my favourite places to eat and catch up with friends. Food is always amazing!
Hi Karen, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear we are one of your favourite restaurants. We have such a wonderful team of dedicated staff who deliver such a fantastic product. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 30 Nov 2017

dined on Mon, 27 Nov 2017

(9)
Just delicious !
Thanks Pascale! Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 30 Nov 2017

dined on Sat, 25 Nov 2017

(7)
Great location overlooking Darling Harbour. The food is delicious.
Hi Stella, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the wonderful flavours of our food and our prime Sydney location. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 30 Nov 2017
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

Specials

Celebrate NYE at The Malaya

Bid farewell to the year gone by and welcome in the New Year in style. Relax and let our friendly and professional staff look after your every need while dining on a delicious 7 course set menu. Please advise us of all dietary requirements when booking as we may not be able to accommodate some. Children under 12 will be served a children’s menu. Cancellation of a reservation or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by 5pm, Wednesday 27th of December. Past this date, an amount of $120 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or deduction in numbers. Tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside the main dining area.
When
31 Dec 2017
Sun 5:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10