.

3167 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3167 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Wed, 30 Aug 2017

(8)
Great service and lovely food
Hi Adam, Thanks for your kind words regarding your recent dining experience at The Malaya. We are so pleased you enjoyed our wonderful food and hospitality. Thanks again & regards The Malaya Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
Trevor

dined on Thu, 24 Aug 2017

(9)
The service was good and the waiter actually quite funny. They had no problem making adjustments to Banquet menu as we didn't eat beef. Good place overall, 2nd time there.

dined on Sat, 19 Aug 2017

(10)
The food was absolutely amazing! Opted for the signature banquet menu and was not disappointed.

dined on Fri, 18 Aug 2017

(8)
Always a favourite for great quality food and wine. After all these years too.
Hi Eva, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent dining experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed that you enjoyed our consistent food and lovely service. We are so proud of the product we serve. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 19 Aug 2017

dined on Fri, 18 Aug 2017

(9)
As a vegetarian not always easy to get great quality food but this place was great. It was my second time there and definitely didn't disappoint!

dined on Fri, 11 Aug 2017

(9)
Delicious food. Lovely views overlooking Darling Harbour, great place for dinner before seeing a show at the new ICC.
Hi Celia, Thank you for taking the time to write your review & choosing to dine with us pre theatre at the ICC. We are so pleased you enjoyed the food & wonderful service. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 15 Aug 2017

dined on Mon, 7 Aug 2017

(9)
Superb and yummy food. Never disappoints!

dined on Sun, 6 Aug 2017

(10)
Great array of Asian flavours
Hi Lyndall, Thanks for your wonderful review. Will be sure to pass on your kind words to our wonderful staff. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 10 Aug 2017

dined on Fri, 4 Aug 2017

(9)
Great worth special allergy requests!
Hi Sabrina, Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the food and service on your recent visit to us. I am happy to hear that your allergy was treated with in a professional manner. This is something we take very seriously at the restaurant and always try to do our best to accommodate. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 5 Aug 2017

dined on Thu, 3 Aug 2017

(10)
Always a great dinner. Consistent food and service. Best King prawn Laksa in town
Hi Jules, What a wonderful review. Thank you for taking the time to right this. We are really proud of The Malaya Laksa. This has been on the menu since the restaurant opened its doors in 1963! We are so pleased that you enjoyed it and always enjoy our great consistent product. Thanks for your ongoing patronage. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 5 Aug 2017
page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Specials

Valentines Day Banquet Menu $65pp

For Valentines Day dinner our wonderful team of chefs has put together two outstanding Banquet menus for diners to choose between, both sure to win over your special someone’s heart. There is both a standard and a vegetarian option, with both menus requiring a minimum of 2 guests. The cost is $65.00 per person, or $100.00 per person if you would like to add matching wines. Children up to 12 years old will be served a Children’s Menu for $35 per child. For those who would prefer an earlier meal we are offering a fantastic Early lovebird special. This applies to bookings from 5.30pm and the table is required to be vacated by 7.30pm. The cost is $55.00 per person, or $85.00 per person with matching wines. All reservations are required to provide credit card details to secure the booking. **Please note we will only be serving the Valentine’s Day Banquet Menus for dinner. Our full a la carte menu will be available only for lunch service only. No changes will be available to the Valentine’s Day Banquet menus. Please advise us of all dietary requirements 48 hours prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed.** Booking Policies: Full cancellation of a reservation or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by 5pm, Monday 5th February - please call us on 02 9279 1170 to make amendments to your booking. Past this date, an amount of $65.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers.
Min. people
2
When
14 Feb 2018
Wed 5:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Mother's Day 2018

Cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by 5pm, Monday 7th May - please call us on 9279 1170 to make amendments to your booking. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or deduction in numbers. Please note: To prevent disappointment we encourage you book for the maximum number of guests that may attend as we will be unable to increase your reservation once we have fully booked. To amend the number of guests you have booked please call the restaurant directly on 9279 1170. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area. SET MENU Group bookings for 10 people or more are required to pre-order a set menu. With the exception of vegetarians, one set menu can be served for the table. Our set menus are served banquet style, all the dishes listed for each of our menus are served to the middle of the table for your guests to share. Changing dishes on a set menu to include items from the a la carte menu, or live seafood menu can be made by prearrangement only. Without prior knowledge we may not be able to provide a meal for guests with certain allergies.
When
13 May 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10