.

3412 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3412 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Wed, 21 Mar 2018

(9)
As usual, The Malaya delivered! The food was fantastic, our favourites included the Szechuan eggplant and the Kapitan Chicken. The food is very quick to come out and you can tell it’s always freshly prepared.
Dear Sonia, Thanks for reviewing us! We are delighted to hear we delivered on consistent food and friendly efficient service. Thank you for your patronage. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 22 Mar 2018
Eric

dined on Sat, 10 Mar 2018

(10)
Great food and service
Katie

dined on Sat, 10 Mar 2018

(9)
Great service. Delicious food.

dined on Fri, 9 Mar 2018

(10)
The food is amazing, highly recommend.

dined on Thu, 8 Mar 2018

(8)
One of my favourite restaurants in Sydney. Consistently great food and service.Scampi is a must.
Dear Leslie, Thank you for your feedback on your recent dining experience.
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 18 Apr 2018

dined on Sat, 3 Mar 2018

(9)
We had the set menu which meant we tried lots of things we wouldn’t normally order and there was so much food!

dined on Thu, 1 Mar 2018

(10)
Food is amazing! Must get the eggplant dish.
Terrell

dined on Thu, 1 Mar 2018

(8)
The food and service were excellent, well worth another visit while we are in town.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Father's Day 2018

All reservations for Father's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
03 Sep 2017
Sun 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
When
02 Sep 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2018

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
03 Nov 2015
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
When
01 Nov 2016
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
When
06 Nov 2018
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10