.

3227 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3227 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Sun, 8 Oct 2017

(7)
The service at the Malaya was really attentive without being overbearing. The food was ok we had the $59 banquet
Hi Debra, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the attentive service of our outstanding wait staff. It is disappointing to hear that the Malaya Banquet was 'OK'. Please feel free to contact us directly on 9279 1170, should you wish to discuss the matter further. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 10 Oct 2017

dined on Sat, 7 Oct 2017

(9)
Food is always great, service is attentive. Only downside is that it can get a bit noisy.
Hi Jasmine, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the wonderful food and attentive service. You are right in saying the restuarant can be lively when it is full. We believe this adds a great atmosphere to The Malaya dining experience. Thanks again & regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 9 Oct 2017

dined on Sat, 7 Oct 2017

(9)
My friends were really pleased with the flavours - very authentic. The only downer was that as the seats are quite close, when a waiter dropped a glass it spilt and shattered across my friends and other diners. But it was cleaned up quickly. Need a ramp for prams. The kids enjoyed their menu (though portions could be larger for the price). Overall very tasty and kid friendly.
Hi Jenne, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the wonderful flavours of our food. The kitchen staff sure do an amazing job! You are right in saying we are a large restaurant operation with capacity for 300 guests. We are sorry to hear you thought the tables were too cramped. We do have lift access to the restaurant however, this is used as a disabled access only. There are 3 steps to enter the restaurant from the main entrance. Our friendly staff are always willing to assist with prams. It is very disappointing to hear you did not think the kids portions were substantial enough. I will follow this up with the kitchen. Thanks again & regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 30 Nov 2017

dined on Fri, 6 Oct 2017

(9)
Have been to Malaya for many times, but this time the order wasnt so great. the Singaporean curry wasn't taste good, but others were ok. love the lunch set menu better.
Hi Janet, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are disappointed to hear that the Singaporean Curry was not to your liking. We are however, very pleased to hear you enjoyed the Lunch Banquet Menu. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 16 Oct 2017

dined on Fri, 6 Oct 2017

(10)
I have been going to Malaya for years and the food is as amazing from before. Set aside the beautiful food and views, the restaurants décor is becoming dated...most specially the chairs.
Hi Leah, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the food and wonderful ambience of the restuarant. We do appreciate your feedback in regards to the decor, however the restaurant went through a major renovation in 2015. Thanks again & regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 9 Oct 2017

dined on Thu, 5 Oct 2017

(10)
Amazing restaurant! Schezuan eggplant, Kapitan Prawns and everything else they make speaks for itself. It consistently is a 10/10 with service, food and atmosphere. Have been going for years and won’t ever stop!
Hi Angelica, Thank you so much for your 10/10 rating and review. We are so pleased we can offer a consistently great product for you to enjoy on your visits. Thank you for your continued support over the years. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 30 Nov 2017
Caroline

dined on Sat, 30 Sep 2017

(9)
Always fantastic- thank you!
Hi Caroline, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent dining experience. We are pleased we can continue to deliver on consistent food and service. Regards The Malaya Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 4 Oct 2017
Hieu Tran

dined on Sat, 30 Sep 2017

(9)
Seafood had some balanced flavours.

dined on Fri, 29 Sep 2017

(10)
Malaya again was fantastic. Special ordered prawns for my Kerabu dish and they were delicious. Highly recommend Malaya for a great night out either with your special someone or with a group of friends.
Hi Nathan, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are so pleased you were happy with the wonderful food and service. The Kerabu Prawns is a great dish. If in the future you would like to pre order this again, it will be no problem. Thank you for your continued support of the restaurant. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 4 Oct 2017
Judith

dined on Wed, 27 Sep 2017

(10)
Food always excellent, so tasty and interesting. We had the banquet menu which was so much food, had to take some home!!
Hi Judith, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with the variety and wonderful flavours of the Signature Banquet. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon. regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 28 Sep 2017
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Mother's Day 2018

All reservations for Mother's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
13 May 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Father's Day 2018

All reservations for Father's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
02 Sep 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2018

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
06 Nov 2018
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10