.

2846 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
2846 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.3)

dined on Sat, 6 May 2017

(10)
First time diner and would definitely return. Extensive menu with many options. Great views overlooking harbour.

dined on Wed, 3 May 2017

(9)
Great food, atmosphere and service
David

dined on Tue, 2 May 2017

(9)
Food was great, service felt a bit rushed. But to be expected on a weekday. Shame we couldn't get an aperitif before we got into our meal but! Otherwise, all good.

dined on Mon, 1 May 2017

(10)
Food was exceptional. Service fantastic. We had a newborn with our group that made is late getting there. The staff held the kitchen for us. And they never pressured us to rush our meal. Thanks for understanding.

dined on Mon, 1 May 2017

(9)
Was an incredibly good meal. The service was impressive and the wine list good. Highly recommended restaurant.
Jackson

dined on Sat, 29 Apr 2017

(8)
We are a regular visitor. Disappointing this time as the signature banquet lost its prawn main dish and no roti. Portion of mains seems to have shrunk a little. We ordered chilli wings too and the quality was bad as there was too much batter and over fried so it was really hard. We sent it back to kitchen. It was disappointing as we know we've had better previously. Hope it could be improved on our next visit.

dined on Sat, 22 Apr 2017

(9)
Malaya is consistently good , .
Melanie Turner

dined on Fri, 21 Apr 2017

(9)
Great food! Lovely location and atmosphere

dined on Thu, 20 Apr 2017

(8)
Food was delicious and service was great
Hi Aneita, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. As a business who has been in operation since 1963 we are so proud of the food and service we offer. Am so glad to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon.
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Father's Day 2017

Please note, we request that you provide your credit card details during the booking process to secure your reservation with a deposit to the value of $40 per person.
When
03 Sep 2017
Sun 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10