.

3412 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3412 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Thu, 19 Apr 2018

(10)
Waiter was very helpful and attentive.

dined on Fri, 13 Apr 2018

(9)
I don't have any further comments/feedback

dined on Mon, 9 Apr 2018

(8)
Great food, great service in a great location
Great review! Thanks John Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 18 Apr 2018

dined on Fri, 6 Apr 2018

(9)
Lovely lunch and great service. Always a pleasure to dine here.
Dear Stephen, Thank you for your feedback on your recent dining experience. It is always a pleasure having you dine with us. Looking forward to seeing you at the restaurant again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 13 Apr 2018

dined on Sun, 1 Apr 2018

(8)
Great food, but really noisy, not the one for a romantic dinner :).

dined on Sat, 31 Mar 2018

(8)
Wonderful Malay food in a great Sydney setting. The perfect restaurant for a special occasion with beautiful views and very attentive service. Good wine selection and food was better then expected, particularly the San Choy Bow and Beef Rendang, will return again.
Dear Monique, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are thrilled to hear The Malaya meet all your expectations and more! I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our wonderful team of staff. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 4 Apr 2018

dined on Wed, 28 Mar 2018

(9)
Lovely views of the harbour. Fantastic food for vegetarians! Thank you!
Thank you for the lovely review Christine :)
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 29 Mar 2018

dined on Tue, 27 Mar 2018

(10)
Amazing food, prompt service and friendly staff. We were recommended to dine here by a friend and I can see why!
Dear Natasha, Thank you for your feedback on your recent dining experience. We are so pleased to hear you were happy with amazing food and the efficient friendly service. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our wonderful team of staff. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 29 Mar 2018

dined on Mon, 26 Mar 2018

(10)
Our visit to Malaya was superb in every way - all members of the staff are very pleasant, the food is delicious and the position and atmosphere is great. We plan a return visit ASAP. Thank you to all the staff at Malaya for treating us to a very enjoyable night. Syd
Dear Syd, Thank you for your feedback on your recent dining experience with us. We are very delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations in every way. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 29 Mar 2018
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Father's Day 2018

All reservations for Father's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
03 Sep 2017
Sun 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
When
02 Sep 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2018

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
03 Nov 2015
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
When
01 Nov 2016
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
When
06 Nov 2018
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10