.

3227 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3227 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Sat, 2 Dec 2017

(8)
A personal favourite, never fails to disappoint.
Hi Neil, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience. We are so pleased to hear we are your favourite Sydney restaurant. We strive to deliver a consistently great product and having been doing so since 1953. Thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 7 Dec 2017
justin jo

dined on Sat, 2 Dec 2017

(10)
All good!!! Thanks

dined on Sat, 25 Nov 2017

(8)
Great place, great food, great views, ... We will be back.:-)
Hi Axel, Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the wonderful food, attentive service and fantastic location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 30 Nov 2017

dined on Fri, 24 Nov 2017

(9)
Great food and great service...
Hi Jamie, Thanks for the wonderful review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sun, 26 Nov 2017

dined on Wed, 22 Nov 2017

(9)
Great, buzzing spot with indoor/outdoor dining vibe. Terrific, diverse menu with a great range of interesting flavours. One of my favourites!
Hi David, What a wonderful review thank you. We are delighted to hear we are one of your favourites! Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 20 Dec 2017

dined on Fri, 17 Nov 2017

(10)
A good lunch experience.
Hi Stephen, Thank you for the review and 10/10 ratings. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 18 Nov 2017

dined on Sat, 4 Nov 2017

(10)
Great food, and service! We have been here a few times and will continue to visit Malaya. We love it!
Hi Mary, Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased we can offer you a consistent product & wonderful service on your visits. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 8 Nov 2017

dined on Fri, 13 Oct 2017

(10)
Love The Malaya, love the signature banquet, will come back again and again.
Hi Cassandra, Thank you so much for your review of your recent dining experience with us. We love it! Looking forward to welcoming you back at the restaurant again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 9 Nov 2017

dined on Wed, 11 Oct 2017

(9)
Consistent quality and service
Hi David, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent dining experience. We are so pleased to hear that you are happy with the consistent product and service we offer. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 12 Oct 2017

dined on Tue, 10 Oct 2017

(10)
Really enjoyed the lunch set as always. Salt and pepper squid and water spinach were still the highlight, my friends loved the Singaporean curry too. Lamb curry on the other hand was a bit too spicy. Definitely going back again.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Mother's Day 2018

All reservations for Mother's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
13 May 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Father's Day 2018

All reservations for Father's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
02 Sep 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2018

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
06 Nov 2018
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10