.

2966 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
2966 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Sat, 1 Jul 2017

(9)
Even though they were busy, service was excellent and food came out promptly
Hi Peter, Thanks for taking the time to write your review and for choosing The Malaya for your dinner on Saturday. We are so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 3 Jul 2017

dined on Thu, 29 Jun 2017

(9)
Best Malaysian place in town. Always enjoyed the food there especially with my foodie friends specialized in Asian food. thinking of trying drinks next time.
Hi Janet, Thanks for taking the time to write your review and for choosing to dine at The Malaya. Thank you so much for your kind words. Best Malaysian place in town. Wow!! We are so proud of the consistent product and service we deliver. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 10 Aug 2017

dined on Tue, 27 Jun 2017

(10)
My friends love the restaurant! we had the $40 pp lunch special and it was fantastic. Love the squid.
Hi Janet, Thanks for choosing to dine at The Malaya for our $40 lunch special. It is such a great menu and the squid is one of our favourites too! Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 29 Jun 2017

dined on Sat, 24 Jun 2017

(10)
Great food, great service. Early dinner made a great start to our night.
Hi Jim, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
Lora

dined on Fri, 23 Jun 2017

(7)
Recommended for groups to share and sample meals.
Hi Lora, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 26 Jun 2017

dined on Tue, 20 Jun 2017

(10)
Great food and excellent service will be back again
Hi Tim, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I will certainly pass this on to our staff. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon.
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 23 Jun 2017

dined on Sat, 17 Jun 2017

(10)
Great service , attentive staff and food is delicious. Food never disappoints and very good wine list! Highly recommend
Hi Nicole Clarke, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad to hear your dining experience with us was exceptional. I will certainly pass your kind words on to our team. Thank you for your ongoing patronage with us and looking forward to having you dine at the restaurant again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 22 Jun 2017
Nicole

dined on Fri, 16 Jun 2017

(10)
The Malaya never disappoints! Start with the Panama Cocktail, it's divine. The food is delicious and suits all palates from mild, moderate to spicy. I love the open kitchen where you can see the team doing their magic. Staff are friendly and offer exceptional service. The Malaya is one of my favourite Sydney restaurants!
Hi Nicole, What a wonderful review! 10/10 on all service aspects. Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I will most certainly pass this on to our wonderful staff. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 3 Jul 2017

dined on Fri, 16 Jun 2017

(9)
Vegan banquet was extremely delicious. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a vegan Malaysian food experience. Good views and very attentive staff. Worth a visit!
Hi May, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you enjoyed the vegetarian banquet menu. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon.
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 19 Jun 2017

dined on Thu, 15 Jun 2017

(9)
One of my favorite places. Great business lunch location. Food is always great.
Hi John, Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased that we can consistently deliver on great service and food. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Christmas Group 10 guests min

Book your end of year function now. Enjoy sweeping harbour views with the friendly, professional service and delicious cuisine of The Malaya. Reservations between the 24th November and 24th December for 10 or more guests, or that order the Christmas set menu are required to pay a $59.00 deposit per seat reserved. All tentative reservations will be held for one week, giving you this time to settle the deposit to secure your reservation. Please find the link in your confirmation email to confirm your reservation. Please note that due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area. Please phone 02 9279 1170 to confirm the accurate number of guests attending by 10:30am 48 hours before your reservation. $59.00 will be kept from the deposit for each empty seat at your table. Full cancellation within two weeks of your reservation will result in forfeiture of all monies paid. The deposit will be redeemed from the bill total at the conclusion of the meal based on the most recent confirmation of the number of guests attending – no partial refund can be made prior to arrival.
Min. people
10
When
24 Nov 2017 - 24 Dec 2017
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup

Watch the Melbourne Cup with sweeping views of Darling harbour and your favourite Malaya cuisine. Lunch reservation for Melbourne Cup are required to provide a $59.00 deposit for each seat reserved. Please find the link in your confirmation email to confirm your reservation. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by 5pm, Tuesday 25th October. Past this date full cancellation, or a reduction in numbers will result in forfeiture of $59.00 from the deposit for each empty seat reserved. The deposit will be redeemed from the table bill at the conclusion of the meal based on the final confirmation of how many guests will be in attendance – no partial refund can be made prior to arrival. Please note: To prevent disappointment we encourage you book for the maximum number of guests that may attend as we will be unable to increase your reservation once we have fully booked. To amend the number of guests you have booked please call the restaurant directly on 9279 1170. An 8% gratuity applies to all non-exclusive parties of 8 people and above. SET MENU Group bookings for 10 people or more are required to pre-order a set menu. With the exception of vegetarians, one set menu can be served for the table. Our set menus are served banquet style, all the dishes listed for each of our menus are served to the middle of the table for your guests to share. Changing dishes on a set menu to include items from the a la carte menu, or live seafood menu can be made by prearrangement only. Without prior knowledge we may not be able to provide a meal for guests with certain allergies.
When
07 Nov 2017
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10