.

3227 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3227 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Fri, 22 Dec 2017

(8)
It was a delicious meal, food is great, but it was really noisy (it was xmas lunch season though). but would recommend it.
Hi Kate, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the wonderful food and service. You are right in saying the restuarant can be very noisy. December is our busiest month of the year. We look forward to you dining with us again in the future. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 2 Jan 2018

dined on Thu, 21 Dec 2017

(9)
The beef Satays were very under done. We have been coming there for years and years. We have an alumni group that comes and we always order the same. We love it.
Hi Ray, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience. Feedback is very important to us as a business. It is very disappointing to hear the Beef Satay that was ordered was underdone. I can assure you this is a rare occurrence and something that will be followed up with our head chef. We do hope you can come back in the future and experience the tradition that is The Malaya. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 26 Dec 2017
Helen

dined on Mon, 18 Dec 2017

(8)
Always a fantastic and enormous meal here!
Hi Helen, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased to hear you were happy with the wonderful flavours of our food and the portion sizes. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 20 Dec 2017

dined on Thu, 14 Dec 2017

(9)
Always enjoy going back to The Malaya. Great food and a good selection of cocktails.
Hi Shri, Thank you for the wonderful review. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our staff. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 20 Dec 2017

dined on Sun, 10 Dec 2017

(10)
the food and service was amazing! Can’t wait to go back again!
Hi Melanie, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful time. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 15 Dec 2017
Minji

dined on Sat, 9 Dec 2017

(9)
Everything was good, but a little loudly. And it is necessary for guidance of spicy menu.
Hi Minji, Thank you for your feedback on your recent dining experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the food and wonderful service. You are right in saying the restaurant can be 'lively' when full. This is an extremely busy time of year for us with Christmas parties. Our wonderful wait staff are always willing to assist with the menu when needed. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 12 Dec 2017

dined on Fri, 8 Dec 2017

(9)
Great atmosphere with generous servings of delicious food on offer - the menu was quite extensive so it was hard to choose! The cocktails were quite yummy too! Service was brisk and efficient and the view out across the water was of course fantastic - great fun watching the various boats coming and going.
Hi Dianne, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are pleased to hear you were happy with the wonderful flavour and portion sizes of our dishes. We truly have a wonderful team of kitchen staff who deliver a consistently good product. You are right in saying we do have a large menu that is hard to choose from. We do have some wonderful Banquet Menu options which are fabulous if you choose to dine with us again. Thanks again and regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 12 Dec 2017

dined on Wed, 6 Dec 2017

(9)
Amazing delicious food always consistent
Hi Marina, Thank you for your review. We are pleased we can offer you consistently great food and service on your visits. Thanks for your patronage. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
Diana

dined on Tue, 5 Dec 2017

(10)
Very nice table for two away from big groups and lovely food - will recommend and go again
Hi Diana, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are so pleased you were happy with the lovely food and great position on your table. We certainly are very lucky to have a great team of kitchen staff and fantastic Sydney location. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 7 Dec 2017

dined on Mon, 4 Dec 2017

(9)
Fabulous food - took our vegetarian daughter there for dinner and ordered the Veg Banquet - fantastic!
Hi Deborah, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed the Vegetarian Banquet. It offers such a great variety of dishes and wonderful flavours. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 7 Dec 2017
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Mother's Day 2018

All reservations for Mother's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
13 May 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Father's Day 2018

All reservations for Father's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
02 Sep 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2018

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
06 Nov 2018
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10