.

2846 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
2846 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.3)
Mark

dined on Tue, 13 Jun 2017

(10)
Asian with a delightful twist. Popiah is the best & most unique entree I have eaten in a long while.
Hi Mark, Thank you for your wonderful review. I will be sure to pass on your praises to our staff. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon.
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 19 Jun 2017

dined on Sat, 10 Jun 2017

(8)
Very nice food. Very expensive for the portions. Great view but too many families with small kids screaming

dined on Fri, 9 Jun 2017

(9)
My favourite restaurant! Great food, great service.

dined on Mon, 5 Jun 2017

(9)
Delicious cocktails and tasty dishes
Hi Vickie, Thanks for the kind words. Will be sure to pass them on to our wonderful staff. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 17 Jul 2017

dined on Fri, 2 Jun 2017

(9)
Been here a couple of times & always amazing banquet menu & food.
Hi Aaron, We are so pleased you enjoyed the banquet menu when you dined with us. Our wonderful kitchen staff do such an amazing job! Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 3 Jul 2017
Gowrinanthanan Panchacharavel

dined on Sat, 27 May 2017

(10)
Good food. Ask the waiter for amount of food (ie enough for 2 people). Try Sezuan Eggplant & Kapitan Kingprawns. Don't order fried rice. Good service. Always do reservation
Hi Gowrinanthanan, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon.
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 6 Jun 2017

dined on Sat, 27 May 2017

(8)
Great night with great food and company
Hi Chris, Thank you for your great review. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon.
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 1 Jun 2017

dined on Fri, 26 May 2017

(9)
Malaya was a great experience. We loved the ambience and the service waa excellent. Food was really good and well priced
Thank you Abhishek for taking the time to review us! We take lots of pride in the service and food we offer. So glad to hear you had a wonderful experience. Look forward to having you dine with us again soon.
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 1 Jun 2017
Katherine

dined on Fri, 26 May 2017

(9)
The laksa is a must try. The best laksa I've had in Sydney. It's a generous and spicy serving.
Hi Katherine, Thank you for your wonderful review. Our laksa has been on the menu since the restaurant opened in 1963. We are glad you loved it as much as we do!
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 1 Jun 2017
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Father's Day 2017

Please note, we request that you provide your credit card details during the booking process to secure your reservation with a deposit to the value of $40 per person.
When
03 Sep 2017
Sun 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10