.

3414 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3414 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Thu, 31 May 2018

(6)
The food is decent, but very expensive for what it is.
Bill Shires

dined on Tue, 29 May 2018

(9)
Great food, but is pricey. Not an every day occasion

dined on Sat, 26 May 2018

(9)
outstanding service and seriously good food
Dear Trevor, Thank you for your feedback on your recent dining experience. We are delighted to hear we delivered on exceptional food and service. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our wonderful team of staff. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 30 May 2018
Yu

dined on Sat, 26 May 2018

(9)
Everything is great except noodle tastes but oily. All drinks are fantastic!
Dear Yu, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you were happy with the exceptional service you received. It is disappointing the noodles you ordered were not to your taste. If something was mentioned on the night, we would have been more than happy to replace the dish, if we felt is was not satisfactory. Thanks again and regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 30 May 2018

dined on Fri, 25 May 2018

(9)
Szechuan Eggplant was divine, Prawn Sambol . Do yourself a favor. Staff extremely friendly and welcoming.. Visit!!!!
Dear Leslie, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear we deliver on a consistent product and service on your many visits. Thank you for your continued patronage. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 27 Jun 2018

dined on Wed, 23 May 2018

(8)
One of my fave restaurants in Sydney - always beautiful food, and great service! Long time customer of here, and will always keep going back! :)
Dear Rubi, Thank you for your feedback. We are truly so happy to hear we are your number one restaurant in Sydney :) We strive to offer consistent service and great food with wonderful flavours. We really do have one of the best teams of staff, who are an asset to our business. Thank you for your continued support of the restaurant over the years. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 30 May 2018

dined on Wed, 16 May 2018

(10)
Amazing vegetarian options, their eggplant dish was simply amazing. We are going again the next day for another business meeting. Highly recommended.
Dear Varun, Thank you for your feedback. What a wonderful review it is too! We are so delighted to hear we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to having you dine with us again for your business meeting. Kindest regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 17 May 2018

dined on Fri, 11 May 2018

(10)
Exceptional food, service and ambience. A real gem

dined on Tue, 8 May 2018

(9)
As always food is great, loved the salt n pepper prawns, delicious! Service is consistent and great value for money.
Dear Anna, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are so delighted to hear we lived up to The Malaya experience you have received on your past visits. Consistency, great hospitality and atmosphere. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 10 May 2018

dined on Sun, 6 May 2018

(9)
Beautiful everytime!
Thanks Lauren :)
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 8 May 2018
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Father's Day 2018

All reservations for Father's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
03 Sep 2017
Sun 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
When
02 Sep 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2018

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
03 Nov 2015
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
When
01 Nov 2016
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
When
06 Nov 2018
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10