.

3227 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3227 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)
Garry Hasler

dined on Fri, 5 Jan 2018

(9)
Absolutely love The Malaya as my wife and I have been dining here for years and we now take our three kids here for a treat. But unfortunately it is getting too expensive to dine here with a family of five.
Hi Garry, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience. We are delighted to hear that we have delivered consistently great quality food and service, to you and your family over the years. We do hope you will keep us in mind in the future for any special family occasions. Thank you for your continued support of the restaurant. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 8 Jan 2018
Sonia

dined on Thu, 4 Jan 2018

(8)
Loved the food, great as always!

dined on Thu, 4 Jan 2018

(10)
always great food and friendly service
Hi Murray, Thank you for the wonderful review. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our wonderful staff. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 5 Jan 2018

dined on Thu, 4 Jan 2018

(9)
Nice meal but pricey-it was dinner for 2 and we had 4 entree dishes , a couple of glasses of wine (1 each)-no rice. The entrees were spring rolls, popiah, salt and pepper cauliflower and seafood san choy bow, 1 piece each - no dessert- this was a pricey meal unfortunately.
Hi Mala, Thank you for reviewing your recent dining experience with us. We are pleased you rated us a 9/10 for the food and drinks you received. We do appreciate your feedback on our pricing, however we do only use the highest quality ingredients that are sourced daily from our suppliers. This does come at a cost. Thank you and regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 8 Jan 2018

dined on Tue, 2 Jan 2018

(10)
Thank you The Malaya! My husband and I had an amazing first experience dining your restaurant! We had the banquet and it was absolutely delicious! We will be back very soon.
Hi Lauren, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are delighted to hear you were 'wowed' by our Signature Banquet menu and attentive service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 3 Jan 2018

dined on Sat, 30 Dec 2017

(9)
Authentic Malaysian food, good location too.
Hi Umesh, Thanks for the wonderful review. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 3 Jan 2018

dined on Thu, 28 Dec 2017

(8)
It was pretty hot when we walked into the restaurant as we sat near the window. It would be great if the restaurant turn on the air conditioning before the opening time.
Hi Kelly, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. It is a part of the opening procedure of the restaurant to turn on the air conditioner every morning. In the heat that we have been experiencing this is done by 10am every day. Thursday was an extremely hot day in Sydney hitting temperatures of up to 32 degrees. The front of the restaurant where the harbour side tables are located does become very hot as there is a glass panel located right next to them. We do find this panel can hold in a lot of heat. This time of year with daylight savings if you are able to dine later, this is always recommended. Despite this, I do hope you and your guests enjoyed the food and attentive service. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 1 Jan 2018

dined on Sat, 23 Dec 2017

(9)
Malaya is a family favourite with us & our 3 boys. They are fantastic!
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Mother's Day 2018

All reservations for Mother's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
13 May 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Father's Day 2018

All reservations for Father's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
02 Sep 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2018

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
06 Nov 2018
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10