.

2966 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
2966 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)
Julie

dined on Wed, 26 Jul 2017

(8)
Service was extremely attentive and the food was delicious.
Hi Julie, Thanks for take by the time to write this wonderful review. I will be sure to pass on your praises to our wonderful staff. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 27 Jul 2017
Amy

dined on Sat, 22 Jul 2017

(9)
Every time we visit the Malaya it never disappoints! Seafood rolls and beef rendang are always great however the roti was slightly over done and was the only down side to our meal on this occasion. Otherwise a great meal! Very consistent restaurant!
Hi Amy, Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We value your feedback. We do apologise on this occasion that your roti was overcooked. There is a fine line to cooking it to perfection, and it seems that we had a rare miss. We are so pleased you enjoyed your other dishes and service. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 31 Jul 2017

dined on Sat, 22 Jul 2017

(10)
Undoubtedly the best Malaysien food in Sydney
Hi Peter, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our wonderful staff. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
Jackie Annakin

dined on Fri, 21 Jul 2017

(10)
Great food and service.
Hi Jackie, What a wonderful review. 10/10 on all aspects of service.Thank you. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our wonderful staff. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 24 Jul 2017

dined on Fri, 21 Jul 2017

(10)
My favourite restaurant in Sydney !!!
Hi Lidia, Wow. Your favourite restaurant in Sydney that's fantastic! We are so pleased we are able to deliver you consistent food and service. Thanks for your patronage. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 24 Jul 2017

dined on Wed, 12 Jul 2017

(9)
One of my favourite restaurants and always delivery exceptional food and service.

dined on Wed, 5 Jul 2017

(9)
Great food and wine choices. Great staff highly recommended
Hi Quentin, Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us. I will pass on your kind words to our wonderful staff. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 6 Jul 2017

dined on Tue, 4 Jul 2017

(10)
Nice spot for lunch or dinner
Dear Andrew, Thank you for your wonderful review and ratings! We are pleased you enjoyed your dinner with us. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 7 Jul 2017

dined on Tue, 4 Jul 2017

(9)
Very enjoyable lunch indeed. The set menu is delicious and good value, but they do get you, as in so many places, if you like a glass of wine or three. Can't complain, though. Fantastic position, food and service. Higly recommended.
Hi John, Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your recent dining experience with us. I am glad our wonderful wait staff, were on top of service throughout the duration of the lunch. I will pass on your kind words to all our staff. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 6 Jul 2017

dined on Sun, 2 Jul 2017

(10)
Always great food! Love the ice cream balls!
Dear Donna, Thanks for your wonderful review. 10/10 on all service and food aspects is fantastic! Will certainly pass on your kind words to our wonderful staff. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 6 Jul 2017
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Christmas Group 10 guests min

Book your end of year function now. Enjoy sweeping harbour views with the friendly, professional service and delicious cuisine of The Malaya. Reservations between the 24th November and 24th December for 10 or more guests, or that order the Christmas set menu are required to pay a $59.00 deposit per seat reserved. All tentative reservations will be held for one week, giving you this time to settle the deposit to secure your reservation. Please find the link in your confirmation email to confirm your reservation. Please note that due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area. Please phone 02 9279 1170 to confirm the accurate number of guests attending by 10:30am 48 hours before your reservation. $59.00 will be kept from the deposit for each empty seat at your table. Full cancellation within two weeks of your reservation will result in forfeiture of all monies paid. The deposit will be redeemed from the bill total at the conclusion of the meal based on the most recent confirmation of the number of guests attending – no partial refund can be made prior to arrival.
Min. people
10
When
24 Nov 2017 - 24 Dec 2017
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup

Watch the Melbourne Cup with sweeping views of Darling harbour and your favourite Malaya cuisine. Lunch reservation for Melbourne Cup are required to provide a $59.00 deposit for each seat reserved. Please find the link in your confirmation email to confirm your reservation. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by 5pm, Tuesday 25th October. Past this date full cancellation, or a reduction in numbers will result in forfeiture of $59.00 from the deposit for each empty seat reserved. The deposit will be redeemed from the table bill at the conclusion of the meal based on the final confirmation of how many guests will be in attendance – no partial refund can be made prior to arrival. Please note: To prevent disappointment we encourage you book for the maximum number of guests that may attend as we will be unable to increase your reservation once we have fully booked. To amend the number of guests you have booked please call the restaurant directly on 9279 1170. An 8% gratuity applies to all non-exclusive parties of 8 people and above. SET MENU Group bookings for 10 people or more are required to pre-order a set menu. With the exception of vegetarians, one set menu can be served for the table. Our set menus are served banquet style, all the dishes listed for each of our menus are served to the middle of the table for your guests to share. Changing dishes on a set menu to include items from the a la carte menu, or live seafood menu can be made by prearrangement only. Without prior knowledge we may not be able to provide a meal for guests with certain allergies.
When
07 Nov 2017
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10