.

2846 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
2846 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.3)

dined on Sun, 2 Jul 2017

(10)
Always great food! Love the ice cream balls!
Dear Donna, Thanks for your wonderful review. 10/10 on all service and food aspects is fantastic! Will certainly pass on your kind words to our wonderful staff. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 6 Jul 2017

dined on Sat, 1 Jul 2017

(9)
Even though they were busy, service was excellent and food came out promptly
Hi Peter, Thanks for taking the time to write your review and for choosing The Malaya for your dinner on Saturday. We are so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 3 Jul 2017

dined on Tue, 27 Jun 2017

(10)
My friends love the restaurant! we had the $40 pp lunch special and it was fantastic. Love the squid.
Hi Janet, Thanks for choosing to dine at The Malaya for our $40 lunch special. It is such a great menu and the squid is one of our favourites too! Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 29 Jun 2017

dined on Sat, 24 Jun 2017

(10)
Great food, great service. Early dinner made a great start to our night.
Hi Jim, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
Lora

dined on Fri, 23 Jun 2017

(7)
Recommended for groups to share and sample meals.
Hi Lora, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 26 Jun 2017

dined on Tue, 20 Jun 2017

(10)
Great food and excellent service will be back again
Hi Tim, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I will certainly pass this on to our staff. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon.
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 23 Jun 2017

dined on Sat, 17 Jun 2017

(10)
Great service , attentive staff and food is delicious. Food never disappoints and very good wine list! Highly recommend
Hi Nicole Clarke, Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad to hear your dining experience with us was exceptional. I will certainly pass your kind words on to our team. Thank you for your ongoing patronage with us and looking forward to having you dine at the restaurant again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 22 Jun 2017
Nicole

dined on Fri, 16 Jun 2017

(10)
The Malaya never disappoints! Start with the Panama Cocktail, it's divine. The food is delicious and suits all palates from mild, moderate to spicy. I love the open kitchen where you can see the team doing their magic. Staff are friendly and offer exceptional service. The Malaya is one of my favourite Sydney restaurants!
Hi Nicole, What a wonderful review! 10/10 on all service aspects. Thanks for taking the time to write this review. I will most certainly pass this on to our wonderful staff. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 3 Jul 2017

dined on Fri, 16 Jun 2017

(9)
Vegan banquet was extremely delicious. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a vegan Malaysian food experience. Good views and very attentive staff. Worth a visit!
Hi May, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you enjoyed the vegetarian banquet menu. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon.
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 19 Jun 2017

dined on Thu, 15 Jun 2017

(9)
One of my favorite places. Great business lunch location. Food is always great.
Hi John, Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are so pleased that we can consistently deliver on great service and food. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Father's Day 2017

Please note, we request that you provide your credit card details during the booking process to secure your reservation with a deposit to the value of $40 per person.
When
03 Sep 2017
Sun 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10