.

3050 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3050 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)
Hieu Tran

dined on Sat, 30 Sep 2017

(9)
Seafood had some balanced flavours.

dined on Fri, 29 Sep 2017

(10)
Malaya again was fantastic. Special ordered prawns for my Kerabu dish and they were delicious. Highly recommend Malaya for a great night out either with your special someone or with a group of friends.
Hi Nathan, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are so pleased you were happy with the wonderful food and service. The Kerabu Prawns is a great dish. If in the future you would like to pre order this again, it will be no problem. Thank you for your continued support of the restaurant. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 4 Oct 2017
Judith

dined on Wed, 27 Sep 2017

(10)
Food always excellent, so tasty and interesting. We had the banquet menu which was so much food, had to take some home!!
Hi Judith, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with the variety and wonderful flavours of the Signature Banquet. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon. regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 28 Sep 2017

dined on Mon, 25 Sep 2017

(9)
Great restaurant. Truly authentic Malaysian dishes.
Hi Christopher, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience. We are so pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and wonderful food. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 27 Sep 2017

dined on Sun, 24 Sep 2017

(10)
Sensational evening. Had the Signature Banquet Menu. Fantastic, service was outstanding
Hi Jennie, Thank you for taking the time to review us. What a sensational review it is! We are so pleased you enjoyed the wonderful food and attentive service. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our wonderful team. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 25 Sep 2017

dined on Thu, 21 Sep 2017

(9)
One of favourite places in Stdney
Hi Jan, Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased to hear that we are one of your favourite Sydney restaurants! Thanks for your ongoing patronage. Regards The Malaya Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sun, 24 Sep 2017

dined on Wed, 20 Sep 2017

(10)
order the kapitan prawns!
Hi Jonathon, Wow, 10/10 rating on all aspects of the restaurant is fantastic. Thank you! The Kapitan is a favourite of many of our loyal regular customers and has a huge following. It would have to be one of our biggest selling dishes. For good reason, it is delicious! Thanks for taking the time to review us. Regards The Malaya Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sun, 24 Sep 2017

dined on Sat, 16 Sep 2017

(9)
Very slick operation! Food was divine, kapitan is out of this world. Highly recommended.
Hi Lynn, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you had attentive service and a lovely meal. The Kapitan is loved by many of our guests, because it is wonderful! Thanks again and looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 25 Sep 2017

dined on Mon, 11 Sep 2017

(8)
good food and service. tables packed in a bit too tightly could get somewhat uncomfortable
Hi Michael, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful food and service we offer. We are very proud of our staff and we have a great team who consistently delivers a wonderful product. We do apologise if you felt uncomfortable with your table setting for the evening. As we are a very busy restaurant, generally most evenings all the tables are sat. Thanks again & regards The Malaya Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 14 Sep 2017

dined on Thu, 7 Sep 2017

(10)
Best restaurant in Sydney, amazing food, service and delicious cocktails... my number 1 restaurant! Look forward to coming back soon!
Hi Lidia, Thanks for the wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear we are your number 1 restaurant in Sydney!! Thanks for your continued support. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Christmas Group 8 guests min

Book your end of year function now. Enjoy sweeping harbour views with the friendly, professional service and delicious cuisine of The Malaya. Reservations between the 24th November and 24th December for 8 or more guests, or that order the Christmas set menu are required to pay a $59.00 deposit per seat reserved. All tentative reservations will be held for one week, giving you this time to settle the deposit to secure your reservation. Please find the link in your confirmation email to confirm your reservation. Please note that due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area. Groups of 10 guest and over are required to choose a set menu. Please let us know if you require assistance. Please phone 02 9279 1170 to confirm the accurate number of guests attending by 10:30am 48 hours before your reservation. $59.00 will be kept from the deposit for each empty seat at your table. Full cancellation within two weeks of your reservation will result in forfeiture of all monies paid. The deposit will be redeemed from the bill total at the conclusion of the meal based on the most recent confirmation of the number of guests attending – no partial refund can be made prior to arrival.
Min. people
8
When
24 Nov 2017 - 24 Dec 2017
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10