.

2966 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
2966 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Fri, 18 Aug 2017

(8)
Always a favourite for great quality food and wine. After all these years too.
Hi Eva, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent dining experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed that you enjoyed our consistent food and lovely service. We are so proud of the product we serve. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 19 Aug 2017

dined on Fri, 18 Aug 2017

(9)
As a vegetarian not always easy to get great quality food but this place was great. It was my second time there and definitely didn't disappoint!
Celia

dined on Fri, 11 Aug 2017

(9)
Delicious food. Lovely views overlooking Darling Harbour, great place for dinner before seeing a show at the new ICC.
Hi Celia, Thank you for taking the time to write your review & choosing to dine with us pre theatre at the ICC. We are so pleased you enjoyed the food & wonderful service. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 15 Aug 2017

dined on Mon, 7 Aug 2017

(9)
Superb and yummy food. Never disappoints!

dined on Sun, 6 Aug 2017

(10)
Great array of Asian flavours
Hi Lyndall, Thanks for your wonderful review. Will be sure to pass on your kind words to our wonderful staff. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 10 Aug 2017

dined on Fri, 4 Aug 2017

(9)
Great worth special allergy requests!
Hi Sabrina, Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you enjoyed the food and service on your recent visit to us. I am happy to hear that your allergy was treated with in a professional manner. This is something we take very seriously at the restaurant and always try to do our best to accommodate. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 5 Aug 2017

dined on Thu, 3 Aug 2017

(10)
Always a great dinner. Consistent food and service. Best King prawn Laksa in town
Hi Jules, What a wonderful review. Thank you for taking the time to right this. We are really proud of The Malaya Laksa. This has been on the menu since the restaurant opened its doors in 1963! We are so pleased that you enjoyed it and always enjoy our great consistent product. Thanks for your ongoing patronage. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 5 Aug 2017

dined on Sat, 29 Jul 2017

(9)
Food always great. I would like to see more variation on dessert and drink, especially traditional ones.
Hi Wanda, Thank your feedback on your recent dining experience with us. We are pleased that we are able to deliver consistent food and service. Thank you for your feedback regarding dessert and drinks. We have a limited dessert menu, due to the fact that we do not have a pastry kitchen. The current desserts we have on the menu are so popular. The drinks menu and wine list are very extensive. On you next visit if there is a particular drink you would like, please ask and we may be able to make it for you. Thanks again & regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sun, 3 Sep 2017

dined on Fri, 28 Jul 2017

(10)
Fantastic service and atmosphere. Our waiter recommended a wonderful cocktail for my girlfriend. The food was amazing
Hi Daniel, Thank you so much for a truly wonderful review. We are so pleased you were happy with the food and service you received. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 3 Aug 2017

dined on Thu, 27 Jul 2017

(9)
Always a great place to take clients to. Super busy last night but the food came out promptly and very enjoyable.
Hi Andy, Thanks for considering us for your business meetings / dinners. We are pleased you enjoyed your dining experiences with us. I will certainly pass on your kind words to our wonderful staff. Regards
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 29 Jul 2017
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Christmas Group 10 guests min

Book your end of year function now. Enjoy sweeping harbour views with the friendly, professional service and delicious cuisine of The Malaya. Reservations between the 24th November and 24th December for 10 or more guests, or that order the Christmas set menu are required to pay a $59.00 deposit per seat reserved. All tentative reservations will be held for one week, giving you this time to settle the deposit to secure your reservation. Please find the link in your confirmation email to confirm your reservation. Please note that due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area. Please phone 02 9279 1170 to confirm the accurate number of guests attending by 10:30am 48 hours before your reservation. $59.00 will be kept from the deposit for each empty seat at your table. Full cancellation within two weeks of your reservation will result in forfeiture of all monies paid. The deposit will be redeemed from the bill total at the conclusion of the meal based on the most recent confirmation of the number of guests attending – no partial refund can be made prior to arrival.
Min. people
10
When
24 Nov 2017 - 24 Dec 2017
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup

Watch the Melbourne Cup with sweeping views of Darling harbour and your favourite Malaya cuisine. Lunch reservation for Melbourne Cup are required to provide a $59.00 deposit for each seat reserved. Please find the link in your confirmation email to confirm your reservation. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by 5pm, Tuesday 25th October. Past this date full cancellation, or a reduction in numbers will result in forfeiture of $59.00 from the deposit for each empty seat reserved. The deposit will be redeemed from the table bill at the conclusion of the meal based on the final confirmation of how many guests will be in attendance – no partial refund can be made prior to arrival. Please note: To prevent disappointment we encourage you book for the maximum number of guests that may attend as we will be unable to increase your reservation once we have fully booked. To amend the number of guests you have booked please call the restaurant directly on 9279 1170. An 8% gratuity applies to all non-exclusive parties of 8 people and above. SET MENU Group bookings for 10 people or more are required to pre-order a set menu. With the exception of vegetarians, one set menu can be served for the table. Our set menus are served banquet style, all the dishes listed for each of our menus are served to the middle of the table for your guests to share. Changing dishes on a set menu to include items from the a la carte menu, or live seafood menu can be made by prearrangement only. Without prior knowledge we may not be able to provide a meal for guests with certain allergies.
When
07 Nov 2017
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10