.

3415 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3415 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Wed, 27 Jun 2018

(9)
Very nice for relaxing lunch. We had lunch special - it was very good value.
Dear Julie, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you and your guests were happy with the $40 lunch menu and wonderful atmosphere. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 2 Jul 2018

dined on Sat, 23 Jun 2018

(10)
One of our favorite restaurants - always have a good meal here. Great service & food.. best laksa in Sydney
Dear Robert, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear we deliver on consistent food and service on your frequent visits. The Laksa is a favourite dish of many of our customers. It still follows the same recipe as when the restaurant first opened in 1963! Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 27 Jun 2018
Clare

dined on Fri, 22 Jun 2018

(6)
I request to change all the beef or lamb to chicken for my banquet menu but they didnt change. And the kapitan chicken taste is so so. The otak taste very nice, the most dishes i like on the menu.
Dear Clare, Thank you for feedback. I can see that your group ordered the Signature Menu. The satay beef was changed to chicken. We do apologise if the coconut beef rendang was not changed. We are more than happy to make any changes to the menu with enough notice. As per our website states. It is disappointing to hear the Kapitan was not to your taste. This is one of our most popular dishes. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 27 Jun 2018
Julie Sampson

dined on Fri, 22 Jun 2018

(10)
Fabulous service and food was delicious.
Dear Julie, Thank you for the fabulous review! Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 27 Jun 2018

dined on Sat, 16 Jun 2018

(7)
Great, authentic Malaysian with an excellent wine list
Dear Simon, Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased to hear you had a great evening with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our wonderful team of staff. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 20 Jun 2018

dined on Sun, 10 Jun 2018

(8)
The food was great. Notably the duck and the laksa. The food were comfort food and one of the better Malaysian restaurants in Sydney. The price is a little expensive but worth it due to the large portions provided.

dined on Sat, 9 Jun 2018

(10)
The vegetarian menu is amazing
Dear Lisa, Thank you for the review and ratings. We are delighted to hear you and your guests enjoyed the vegetarian banquet. Kindest Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 15 Jun 2018

dined on Mon, 4 Jun 2018

(9)
Lovely ambience. We were seated beside the window with a nice view of the harbour. Delicious menu with a modern fusion of Malaysian and Chinese food. We loved the eggplant and the king prawns.

dined on Sun, 3 Jun 2018

(8)
Great restaurant, that has been a star in Sydney for so long providing good food and a good location to see the city
Dear Shaun, Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you and your guests enjoyed your dining experience with us. The restaurant itself has been in operation since 1963, then moved to the King Street Wharf location in the year 2000. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our wonderful team of staff. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 6 Jun 2018
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Father's Day 2018

All reservations for Father's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
03 Sep 2017
Sun 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
When
02 Sep 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2018

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
03 Nov 2015
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
When
01 Nov 2016
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
When
06 Nov 2018
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10