.

3019 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3019 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Mon, 16 Oct 2017

(8)
During our second visit to The Malaya, we ordered the vegan szechuan eggplant dish and again it was very delicious. Good location and views of Darling Harbour.

dined on Thu, 12 Oct 2017

(8)
Good food and service as always!
Eliza

dined on Tue, 10 Oct 2017

(9)
The Malaya continues to be one of our favourite restaurants, the food never disappoints!
Hi Eliza, Thank you so much for reviewing your recent dining experience with us. We are so pleased that we are one of your favourite restaurants!! We strive to offer a consistent product and deliver excellent service. We are so proud of the product we serve . Thanks for your ongoing patronage. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 12 Oct 2017

dined on Tue, 10 Oct 2017

(8)
The Malaya has always had great food and continues to delight.

dined on Sun, 8 Oct 2017

(8)
Nice meal, great location, good service and a pleasant night out.
Hi Richard, Thanks for taking the time to review us! We are so pleased we could deliver on all aspects of food and service. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 10 Oct 2017

dined on Sat, 7 Oct 2017

(9)
Food was delicious as always but noticed the signature menu that we’ve had for years getting smaller. No more roti with the mains.
Hi Debbie, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the delicious flavours of our wonderful Signature Menu. The restuarant recently underwent some renovations and during this period we changed all the plating throughout the restuarant. Although the plates seem smaller than before, I can assure you the serving sizes have not changed. Roti was served with the menu in the past, however this has changed. It can always be ordered as an additional side order if required. Thanks again & regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 9 Oct 2017

dined on Sat, 7 Oct 2017

(10)
Excellent food, had overseas visitors who all enjoyed the meal
Hi Liora, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are so pleased to hear you and your overseas guests all enjoyed the excellent food and wonderful hospitality we offer. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 9 Oct 2017

dined on Sat, 7 Oct 2017

(9)
Generally very good but a few bogan types ruin a massive potential to be really up market, food was amazing, situation and view is great
Peter

dined on Sat, 7 Oct 2017

(8)
I've been to the Malaya many times and continue to return for the great food, service and views. The food is always excellent with a nice relaxed service vibe. The menu has something for everyone...
Hi Peter, Thanks for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you were happy with the great views, service and restuarant ambience. As a restuarant who has been in operation since 1963, we are so proud to offer our guests such a consistent product. Thank you for your patronage. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 9 Oct 2017
SImon

dined on Sat, 7 Oct 2017

(9)
Great Malaysian Food!
Hi Simon, Thanks for the wonderful ratings and review! Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 9 Oct 2017
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Specials

Christmas Group 8 guests min

Book your end of year function now. Enjoy sweeping harbour views with the friendly, professional service and delicious cuisine of The Malaya. Reservations between the 24th November and 24th December for 8 or more guests, or that order the Christmas set menu are required to pay a $59.00 deposit per seat reserved. All tentative reservations will be held for one week, giving you this time to settle the deposit to secure your reservation. Please find the link in your confirmation email to confirm your reservation. Please note that due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area. Groups of 10 guest and over are required to choose a set menu. Please let us know if you require assistance. Please phone 02 9279 1170 to confirm the accurate number of guests attending by 10:30am 48 hours before your reservation. $59.00 will be kept from the deposit for each empty seat at your table. Full cancellation within two weeks of your reservation will result in forfeiture of all monies paid. The deposit will be redeemed from the bill total at the conclusion of the meal based on the most recent confirmation of the number of guests attending – no partial refund can be made prior to arrival.
Min. people
8
When
24 Nov 2017 - 24 Dec 2017
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup

Watch the Melbourne Cup with sweeping views of Darling harbour and your favourite Malaya cuisine. Lunch reservation for Melbourne Cup are required to provide a $59.00 deposit for each seat reserved. Please find the link in your confirmation email to confirm your reservation. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by 5pm, Tuesday 25th October. Past this date full cancellation, or a reduction in numbers will result in forfeiture of $59.00 from the deposit for each empty seat reserved. The deposit will be redeemed from the table bill at the conclusion of the meal based on the final confirmation of how many guests will be in attendance – no partial refund can be made prior to arrival. Please note: To prevent disappointment we encourage you book for the maximum number of guests that may attend as we will be unable to increase your reservation once we have fully booked. To amend the number of guests you have booked please call the restaurant directly on 9279 1170. An 8% gratuity applies to all non-exclusive parties of 8 people and above. SET MENU Group bookings for 10 people or more are required to pre-order a set menu. With the exception of vegetarians, one set menu can be served for the table. Our set menus are served banquet style, all the dishes listed for each of our menus are served to the middle of the table for your guests to share. Changing dishes on a set menu to include items from the a la carte menu, or live seafood menu can be made by prearrangement only. Without prior knowledge we may not be able to provide a meal for guests with certain allergies.
When
07 Nov 2017
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10