.

2768 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
2768 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.3)

dined on Fri, 6 Jan 2017

(10)
Excellent food although the portions seem to be getting smaller. Backed up by great service.

dined on Fri, 6 Jan 2017

(10)
The Malaya has it all- great food, fabulous views and a wonderful selection of wines! It's a fabulous place for a divine dinner, particularly for those that lot a little bit (or more) or spice!

dined on Thu, 5 Jan 2017

(10)
Excellent food and service, consistent quality over many years. Will definitely dine there again.
Jason

dined on Tue, 3 Jan 2017

(8)
The Malaya has been a long time favourite since it opened! Amazing dishes like the otak otak, stay skewers, beef rendang, kapitan prawns (battered prawns in an incredible coconut curry sauce) - I would always happily recommend to locals and overseas visitors alike!

dined on Sat, 31 Dec 2016

(10)
Great night celebrating NYE; good was amazing and good value for money

dined on Fri, 30 Dec 2016

(10)
AMAZING SERVICE, FOOD AND VIEWS, A DEFINITE WHEN IN SYDNEY

dined on Fri, 30 Dec 2016

(10)
The MALAYA is one of my favourites in Sydney, I'm never disappointed with the food. My favourites are the salt and pepper prawns which are so crisp and light and delicious. Also love the kapitan prawns and the Szechuan eggplant which are really tasty. Had dessert for the first time and was so pleased they were small serves but packed full of flavour. We had the black rice pudding and the sago pudding which were a perfect way to finish our meals. Will be back again as often as possible!

dined on Wed, 28 Dec 2016

(10)
Fantastic food, great service, nice selection of drinks and a beautiful view! This is our favourite restaurant, this time we took friends over the holiday break and they loved it as much as we do.
Lesley

dined on Wed, 28 Dec 2016

(9)
Always great - beef/chicken rending and szchewan eggplant our favourites. Service is always good
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10