.

3227 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3227 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Fri, 9 Feb 2018

(10)
Fantastic food - this place never misses, great service and great dining experience.
Dear Caroline, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. As a business who has been operating since 1963, we strive to offer a consistent product. We are thrilled to hear we have been able to do this for you & your guests. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 12 Feb 2018

dined on Thu, 8 Feb 2018

(9)
Had a nice dinner at the Malaya. The food and atmosphere are top notch but pricey as it is located in darling harbour. beautiful patio seating over the habour which must be booked ahead. great cocktails and wine list as well.
Dear Caroline, We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent dining experience. As a business who has been operating since1963, we strive to offer a consistent product & service. We are delighted to hear we have done this on this occasion. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our wonderful team. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 12 Feb 2018
Joel

dined on Wed, 7 Feb 2018

(9)
Consistently good food and service
John Pass

dined on Wed, 7 Feb 2018

(10)
The Malaya never fails with food and service and it is always a pleasure to dine, even more so when you have guests and know you won't be disappointed.
Dear John, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are thrilled to hear we can offer consistent food & service to you & your guests. It is always a pleasure having you dine with us. Looking forward to seeing you at the restaurant again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 12 Feb 2018

dined on Tue, 6 Feb 2018

(9)
Excellent menu and lovely views
Thanks Yvonne :)
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 8 Feb 2018

dined on Tue, 6 Feb 2018

(9)
enjoyed the lunch

dined on Tue, 6 Feb 2018

(10)
Great location, great service
Dear Belinda, Great review! Thank you for taking the time to write this. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 8 Feb 2018

dined on Mon, 5 Feb 2018

(10)
It's our favorite restaurant by far. Been going for years and have recommended to friends who are now also regulars

dined on Mon, 5 Feb 2018

(10)
best malaysian food in sydney, my second visit
Dear Lalith, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are so pleased to hear you voted us the best Malaysian restaurant in Sydney! We take a lot of pride in what we do and love delivering a great product to our guests. Looking forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 8 Feb 2018

dined on Mon, 5 Feb 2018

(8)
Tasty curries and fun night out overall
Hi Floriana, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the wonderful flavours of our curries. Some curries on the menu are still using the same recipe since the restaurant opened in 1963! Thanks again and regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 8 Feb 2018
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Specials

Mother's Day 2018

All reservations for Mother's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
13 May 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Father's Day 2018

All reservations for Father's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
02 Sep 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2018

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
06 Nov 2018
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10