.

3081 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3081 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)
Jeff

dined on Sat, 11 Nov 2017

(8)
Tasty food, interesting menu. Excellent service. View and ambience exactly as promoted. Only criticism, Wine was overpriced and not suitable for spicy food.
Hi Jeff, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are all so pleased to hear you enjoyed the wonderful flavors of our extensive menu, friendly service & unbeatable views. We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy our extensive wine list. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 14 Nov 2017

dined on Thu, 9 Nov 2017

(9)
Great food and service
Hi Rose, Thank you for the great review! Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sun, 26 Nov 2017

dined on Sun, 5 Nov 2017

(10)
really impeccable service, very attentive and knowledgeable about food and drinks.
Hi Linda N, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We are very pleased to hear that you were impressed by the wonderful food and service. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our wonderful team of staff. regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 8 Nov 2017

dined on Sat, 4 Nov 2017

(9)
very nice! have been here many times for lots of different occasions and would defiantly recommend
Linda

dined on Sat, 4 Nov 2017

(10)
Great food as always!
Hi Linda, Thanks for the wonderful rating & review! Looking forward to welcoming you back at the restaurant again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 8 Nov 2017

dined on Fri, 3 Nov 2017

(7)
fine dine with real authentic taste!
Hi Ishita, Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you were happy with the wonderful flavors of our food. Our kitchen staff work very hard to consistently produce a great product. Thanks again Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 8 Nov 2017

dined on Thu, 2 Nov 2017

(9)
Excellent Service.
Hi Steven, Thanks for the wonderful review! So pleased to hear you were happy with the wonderful food and service. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 8 Nov 2017

dined on Wed, 1 Nov 2017

(6)
Atmosphere disappointing despite location
Hi Brian, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased you rated us high on food and service. It is disappointing to hear that you were unhappy with the atmosphere of the restaurant. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 22 Nov 2017

dined on Sun, 29 Oct 2017

(8)
Beautiful setting , wonderful food !
Hi Mayka, Thanks for reviewing us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the wonderful ambience of the restaurant and fantastic food. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 9 Nov 2017
Rebecca

dined on Fri, 27 Oct 2017

(7)
I love the Malaya - always have. The food is amazing - such variety, always fresh and delicious. I was very disappointed on the service this time. We waited an hour for food to come our and 3 times the wrong dishes were brought to our table - terrible service. First time I have had this experience at Malaya. Hopefully this was a once off.
Hi Rebecca, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dining experience with us. We would like to thank you for the continued support of our restaurant over the years. We are pleased to hear that you are a 'fan'. We would like to apologise for the last dining experience you had with us. We obviously dropped the ball and indeed it was a rare occasion. We hope that you give us another chance. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 4 Nov 2017
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Specials

Celebrate NYE at The Malaya

Bid farewell to the year gone by and welcome in the New Year in style. Relax and let our friendly and professional staff look after your every need while dining on a delicious 7 course set menu. Please advise us of all dietary requirements when booking as we may not be able to accommodate some. Children under 12 will be served a children’s menu. Cancellation of a reservation or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome by 5pm, Wednesday 27th of December. Past this date, an amount of $120 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or deduction in numbers. Tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside the main dining area.
When
31 Dec 2017
Sun 5:30 PM - 11:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10