.

3358 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3358 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Tue, 5 Jun 2018

(9)
Great dinner but can be a bit loud!
Andrew Adel

dined on Mon, 4 Jun 2018

(10)
Love this resturaunt, have been going since I was a child when they were open at North Sydney and continue to enjoy it at King St Wharf! Highly recommend.
Dear Andrew, Thank for your feedback. We love the review! Thank you for your ongoing support of the restaurant over the years :) Kindest regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 6 Jun 2018
Richard

dined on Sat, 2 Jun 2018

(9)
A regular favourite, food and service are always great and tonight was no exception
Dear Richard, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you and your guests had a wonderful time with us last week. We pride ourselves on our consistent product and service. Thank you for your continued support of the restaurant over the years. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 6 Jun 2018

dined on Sat, 2 Jun 2018

(9)
Fabulous - from booking to the wonderful good and exceptional service. A great experience.
Dear Jennifer, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear you and your guests enjoyed your time with us. We are very lucky to have a wonderful team of staff who deliver a wonderful product. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 6 Jun 2018
Laura

dined on Sat, 2 Jun 2018

(9)
A great restaurant with a long history. Always have a great meal
Dear Laura, Thank you for the wonderful review :) I will be sure to pass them on to our wonderful team. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 6 Jun 2018
Cameron Francis

dined on Sat, 2 Jun 2018

(10)
Great service and great food.
Thanks Cameron :)
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 6 Jun 2018

dined on Fri, 1 Jun 2018

(10)
Great food and service!

dined on Thu, 31 May 2018

(7)
Food was good. Ambience is a little cold. Service was great.

dined on Thu, 31 May 2018

(10)
Excellent food and wonderful service. We had a fantastic time. Thank you!
Vicki

dined on Sat, 26 May 2018

(10)
Wines are terribly expensive
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Specials

Father's Day 2018

All reservations for Father's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
03 Sep 2017
Sun 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
When
02 Sep 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2018

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
03 Nov 2015
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
When
01 Nov 2016
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
When
06 Nov 2018
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10