.

3447 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3447 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Sat, 28 Jul 2018

(9)
Always love going to the Malaya; fabulous service and delicious food on the water - what's not to love!

dined on Sat, 28 Jul 2018

(6)
Whilst the food was great, the service was ridiculously rushed. We ordered a pre dinner drink and had barely had a sip when our first entree and drink arrived. We asked them to slow down, this meant we had a 10 minute break between the entrees and main which all came at once w accompanying drinks meaning we barely had time to enjoy everything
Dear Nicci, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your food but it is very disappointing to hear that your meal was rushed. Our banquet menus are designed to arrive at the table in a steady flow – not one at a time like a degustation, but also not all together. If this was not the case on the night, we sincerely apologise. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 31 Jul 2018

dined on Fri, 27 Jul 2018

(5)
Once upon a time this used to be our favourite restaurant ,no longer ,bland tastes, poor service.
Hi Peter, Thanks very much for taking the time to leave your comments. We are very sorry to hear your latest dining experience was not up to the standard you have come to expect from us. We work very hard to maintain our standards that have helped us stay in business for 55 years so far. We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future. Kind regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Tue, 31 Jul 2018
Andrew

dined on Thu, 19 Jul 2018

(8)
Menu limited since my last visit but food as always great
Hi Andrew, Thank you for your feedback on your recent dining experience with us. It is disappointing to hear you thought our menu was limited. Our menu has a large variety of dishes to choose from. We are pleased you enjoyed the food and service. Looking forward to having you dine with us regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 4 Aug 2018
Geoff

dined on Wed, 18 Jul 2018

(9)
Good food and service. At our lunch it was little cold in the restaurant.

dined on Sun, 15 Jul 2018

(7)
Have dined here many times. Food is great.
Amy

dined on Sat, 14 Jul 2018

(10)
We come to the Malaya regularly and the past few times have been good but this visit was amazing! We had a few new dishes and they were so delicious. I would say the meal we had was one of the best we’ve had in Sydney and will continue to return and recommend to friends and family!

dined on Sat, 14 Jul 2018

(9)
We enjoyed delicious food, and attentive friendly service. We’ll certainly eat here again as we’ve done since the Malaya was located at Railway Square.

dined on Sat, 7 Jul 2018

(9)
Great restaurant- perfect for my mums birthday
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

Specials

Father's Day 2018

All reservations for Father's Day are required to provide credit card details at the time of booking. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
02 Sep 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Melbourne Cup 2018

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
06 Nov 2018
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10