.

3569 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
3569 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Sat, 20 Oct 2018

(9)
My parents have been coming here for over 40 years and the food is always amazing! Fantastic service too
Darren Farmeary

dined on Fri, 19 Oct 2018

(9)
Fantastic restaurant with amazing food and service

dined on Wed, 10 Oct 2018

(10)
As usual service and food was great.
Thanks Hemandra :-)
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Sat, 13 Oct 2018

dined on Fri, 28 Sep 2018

(9)
Just great, always come back. The food is delicious
Thanks Jasmine :-)
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Wed, 10 Oct 2018

dined on Wed, 26 Sep 2018

(9)
Great food - very tasty - attentive service. Bit loud - but great atmosphere nonetheless.
Hi Ana, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the wonderful food and attentive service. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the restaurant again soon. Kind Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 28 Sep 2018

dined on Tue, 25 Sep 2018

(8)
Amazing food, amazing place. One of my top three restaurants in the CBD.
Hi Leslie, Thank you for your kind words and patronage. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Thu, 11 Oct 2018

dined on Mon, 24 Sep 2018

(10)
Enjoyed my first experience at The Malaya. Will definitely be returning and recommending to everyone.
Hi Marj, Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased you enjoyed your first dining experience and we look forward to seeing you at the restaurant again soon. Kind regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Fri, 28 Sep 2018
Sonia

dined on Sun, 16 Sep 2018

(9)
Amazing food, the Kapitan Chicken curry is a must!

dined on Sat, 8 Sep 2018

(8)
The Malaya never fails to produce. Wonderful flavours, excellent combinations, and outstanding service. The Satay is a must and the Szechwan Egg Plant... goodness me!
Hi Neil, Thank you for your feedback. We are so pleased to hear we delivered on wonderful food and service again, on your recent visit. We believe consistency is key, to our long standing business. Looking forward to having you and your guests dine with us again soon. Regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
Robert Powell

dined on Sun, 2 Sep 2018

(9)
Fathers Day lunch, great food and service and free beer for dad
Hi Robert, Thanks for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your Fathers Day lunch with us :) Kind regards The Malaya Management Team
Restaurant The Malaya responded on Mon, 3 Sep 2018
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

Specials

Melbourne Cup 2018

Lunch reservations for Melbourne Cup are required to provide credit card details. Full cancellation of a reservation, or a reduction in the number of seats reserved is welcome up to 72 hours prior to your reservation. Past this date, an amount of $50.00 per person will be deducted from the credit card on file for full cancellation or reduction in numbers. We also require that groups of 10 guests or more preselect a banquet menu for their table. A member of our reservation team will call to assist you with your selection, or you can contact us on 9279 1170 to discuss your menu selection. Please advise us of all dietary requirements prior to your reservation. We will do our best to accommodate requests, although this cannot be guaranteed. Due to the layout of the restaurant, tables of 10 or more will generally be seated inside in the main dining area.
When
06 Nov 2018
Tue 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About The Malaya

A night of spice... For over 50 years, The Malaya has been serving up dishes that test taste buds with authentic spicy dishes based on traditional south east Asian cuisine. And judging from the groups of corporate diners and holidaygoers who crowd the Malaya's steeland-glass interiors day after day, they are clearly doing something right. Think you can handle chilli? See how spiceresistant you really are by putting your palate to the test with the 'extra hot' sambal. Located in Darling Harbour, the restaurant not only promises astonishing food but stunning sweeping waterviews in a contemporary and welcoming setting. Signature dishes include the spanner crab san choy bow for entrée and the delicious Duck Perchik for main. No matter what you choose you’re in for a real treat when you dine at The Malaya. Best dish: Duck Perchik

The Malaya Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
82
5/5
7.5/10