.

260 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.2
260 reviews
Recommended
(8.3)
Food
(8.2)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Wed, 31 May 2017

(10)
Friendly service - good food

dined on Sat, 27 May 2017

(10)
The lady that has been the manager for years is great and a lovely person.

dined on Fri, 26 May 2017

(8)
GOOD VALUE. TABLES ARE SPREAD OUT.
Hi Simon, Happy to hear that the elbow room among all else was a stand out for you on your last visit. Don't be a stranger and come in again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Thu, 15 Jun 2017

dined on Sat, 20 May 2017

(9)
Great food and good service...
Hi Julie, Thanks for the great review! Come in and see us again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Sun, 21 May 2017

dined on Sat, 6 May 2017

(8)
Great place for a meal and a drink before the footy. Good food and friendly, efficient staff. Best to book because it can be hard to get a table before a big game otherwise.

dined on Tue, 2 May 2017

(6)
food is alright but a bit overpiced for a TAB style bistro
Hello Lina, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We did consider the layout of the hotel very carefully to avoid a "TAB" feel when dining in the bistro and thought we had hit the mark, so we are sorry that you did not think so. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Mon, 8 May 2017
Amy

dined on Sun, 30 Apr 2017

(9)
Love the drink selections. Great service and nice dining rooms.
Hi Amy, Thanks for the great score! You should come in on Wednesdays for our $10 cocktails....all day! We look forward to serving you well again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Mon, 8 May 2017

dined on Sat, 29 Apr 2017

(6)
Was nice to get about 7 chips with my Parma!

dined on Tue, 25 Apr 2017

(8)
We enjoyed our meals.
Hi Bruce, Thank you for the great review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your meals. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Sat, 29 Apr 2017

dined on Tue, 25 Apr 2017

(10)
We had a great time on ANZAC day the staff are great the whole atmosphere is just fantastic, food was beautiful and concidering the amount of people there on the day, we hadrdly had any waiting time, we will be back
Hello Gail, Anzac day is a very special day for us at the hotel and we are so pleased to host our service men and their families on such a special day. The atmosphere was sensational this year with the Victorian Pipes and Drums band adding to the entertainment of our traditional 2 up. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Sat, 29 Apr 2017
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

About The Mail Exchange Hotel

Signed, sealed, delivered - I’m yours Mail Exchange Hotel. This historic Melbourne venue is the perfect spot for wining and dining - open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and everything in between. Housed on the lower ground level of the old Mail Exchange building this place is steeped in history and old school grandeur. As soon as you enter you’ll be sold - no need to return to sender. If you’re feeling peckish hit the lounge and order a few snacks, but if you’re after something more substantial sidle into the bistro and dine on pub grub classics that have had their flavour dial turned right up. This place is ideal for groups, so get your mates together and get ready to drink and dine in style. Best dish: chicken parmagiana: panko and parmesan crumbed chicken breast, roasted tomato Napoli sauce, virginia ham and mozzarella cheese + chips and salad.

The Mail Exchange Hotel Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

58
3.5/5