.

277 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8
277 reviews
Recommended
(8.1)
Food
(8.0)
Service
(8.3)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Fri, 25 Aug 2017

(10)
Outstanding venue for pre footy. Great service, atmosphere, selection.
Laura

dined on Fri, 25 Aug 2017

(7)
Dined here Friday night. Food was good, atmosphere was great, service was poor. Had 3-4 different wait staff. 2/4 were great the 2 that weren't seemed a little abrupt. A smile means so much to make a comfortable dining experience. The 2nd waitress seemed to know her gluten free and dietary guidelines only to be disappointed after the order was completely wrong and had to be sent back, child's order was also wrong and also had to be sent back which meant there was some waiting for meals. The dessert was delicious except was not pre prepared and had to wait to make. We were very patient at this point, but what ruined the whole experience straight after we had finished desert was the 5th waitress asking us to leave because they needed the table. Yes we were part of that footy crowd that had descended on the hotel and we had flown from Sydney and prebooked the table knowing this. We had been there since 4.30 and it was 6 and it was no fault of hours that we had to be be there that long. I mentioned this on the way out to the waitress that bit unfair, after the meals were messed up that we were asked to leave.

dined on Fri, 25 Aug 2017

(8)
All in all was a good experience

dined on Sat, 19 Aug 2017

(10)
Great good and service. Great place to eat before the footy

dined on Sat, 19 Aug 2017

(9)
IT WAS A PRE FOOTY DINNER SO I THOUGHT THE STAFF DID A GREAT JOB GETTING EVERYBODY FED QUICKLY BUT STILL WITH STYLE.

dined on Sat, 19 Aug 2017

(5)
Very noisy and service poor but the food was good for pre football

dined on Fri, 18 Aug 2017

(8)
Great bad boy chips and mulled wine

dined on Thu, 17 Aug 2017

(6)
It was ok for a quiet night out

dined on Sat, 12 Aug 2017

(10)
Very well looked after byeveryone

dined on Fri, 11 Aug 2017

(8)
Another nice meal before the footy. Great food and friendly service. There was a long wait for our meal this time, but that is unusual, as normally the service is quite prompt.
Hi Russell, Thank you for the feed back, sorry about the wait this time. As you can imagine feeding 400-500 footy goers at the same can put a little pressure on at times. Hope your team had a great season and we look forward to seeing at the Mail Exchange again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About The Mail Exchange Hotel

Signed, sealed, delivered - I’m yours Mail Exchange Hotel. This historic Melbourne venue is the perfect spot for wining and dining - open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and everything in between. Housed on the lower ground level of the old Mail Exchange building this place is steeped in history and old school grandeur. As soon as you enter you’ll be sold - no need to return to sender. If you’re feeling peckish hit the lounge and order a few snacks, but if you’re after something more substantial sidle into the bistro and dine on pub grub classics that have had their flavour dial turned right up. This place is ideal for groups, so get your mates together and get ready to drink and dine in style. Best dish: chicken parmagiana: panko and parmesan crumbed chicken breast, roasted tomato Napoli sauce, virginia ham and mozzarella cheese + chips and salad.

The Mail Exchange Hotel Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

58
3.5/5