.

Have an American Express® Card?

AMEX

From 1 - 30 November 2018, American Express Card Members can spend $20 or more in one transaction, in-store at participating Shop Small Merchants and get $10 back. To take advantage of this offer you must first save the offer to your Card here .

301 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.1
301 reviews
Recommended
(8.3)
Food
(8.0)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Sat, 21 Apr 2018

(8)
A good spot for lunch before footy at Etihad
Hi Ben, Great review, thank you! Look forward to seeing you back in the hotel again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Sun, 22 Apr 2018

dined on Sun, 8 Apr 2018

(8)
Good service. Meals were OK but nothing to write home about.
Hi Michael, Thanks for taking the time to write a review, your comments have been passed on to the team....the kitchen will be lifting their game! Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Tue, 10 Apr 2018

dined on Sat, 7 Apr 2018

(6)
Service was a bit slow due to footy crowd
Cecilia

dined on Sun, 1 Apr 2018

(10)
nice atmosphere, great for after work and pretheatre drinks

dined on Thu, 29 Mar 2018

(9)
It's a good pub meal in nice surrounds. The bad boy chips that co,me with many meals are excellent.

dined on Sat, 24 Mar 2018

(10)
Great food, drinks and atmosphere
Great review! Thanks Elizabeth, hope to see you again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Tue, 27 Mar 2018

dined on Fri, 23 Mar 2018

(6)
Service was terrible. Took the waitress a long time to get us a wine list. Then they mucked it up and forgot the beer we ordered. Cancelled the beer and 5 minutes later another waitress brings it over and says we have to have it because they opened it.
We are human and mistakes do happen. The beer was offered as complimentary because it was open.
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Sat, 24 Mar 2018

dined on Fri, 23 Mar 2018

(3)
Food was very poor. Chicken Parma was tasteless and while all food was presented well, was a very low standard. Most service was good, with one waitress in particular very understanding and attentive regarding food allergy. The woman running the place was an ogre who hurried us out to seat others.
Hello Pat, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is important to us. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal and your comments have been passed on to the chef. We did give Brittany your feedback too and she was very pleased that to know you were happy with her service. I was disappointed to read that you thought I was an ogre, I did explain and show you the booking system before I sat you letting you know that the table was booked and that it was the dimmi booking system that only allowed you that short period of time to dine.
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Sat, 24 Mar 2018

dined on Tue, 20 Mar 2018

(4)
Totally disappointed in the hamburger, I had it was absolutely dry, my wife's cauliflower salad was good however the chicken strips was like leather,the calamari panco the calamari was to thin to say it was a good meal. As for the beer had no head on the beer, the actual glass was ordinary and not what a pot looks like, and this could be what is effecting the POURING of the beer NO HEAD (Froth) and is it a 10 oz glass
Hi Trevor, Thank you for your feed back. All of your comments have been relayed to management, the kitchen and to the bar staff. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Sat, 24 Mar 2018

dined on Thu, 15 Mar 2018

(7)
The big breakfast is good value
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About The Mail Exchange Hotel

Signed, sealed, delivered - I’m yours Mail Exchange Hotel. This historic Melbourne venue is the perfect spot for wining and dining - open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and everything in between. Housed on the lower ground level of the old Mail Exchange building this place is steeped in history and old school grandeur. As soon as you enter you’ll be sold - no need to return to sender. If you’re feeling peckish hit the lounge and order a few snacks, but if you’re after something more substantial sidle into the bistro and dine on pub grub classics that have had their flavour dial turned right up. This place is ideal for groups, so get your mates together and get ready to drink and dine in style. Best dish: chicken parmagiana: panko and parmesan crumbed chicken breast, roasted tomato Napoli sauce, virginia ham and mozzarella cheese + chips and salad.

Features

Shop Small

The Mail Exchange Hotel Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

58
3.5/5