.

260 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.2
260 reviews
Recommended
(8.3)
Food
(8.2)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Tue, 19 Dec 2017

(8)
Great decor, good for groups

dined on Tue, 12 Dec 2017

(8)
One of our regular lunch venues to catch up with past work colleagues

dined on Thu, 26 Oct 2017

(10)
Highly recommended!

dined on Sat, 21 Oct 2017

(8)
Thanks to staff, friendly service, and a good place for our group of 13 people to celebrate two significant birthdays. We appreciated having the side room, and the attentive waiting staff. Birthday cakes were presented with aplomb.

dined on Fri, 29 Sep 2017

(5)
The food took 70 minutes to arrive, after ordering. And this was at 1.40pm after the lunch hour crowd. The place wasn't busy but did have a function or footy lads in the corner.
Hi Sean, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel. Feed back is important to us and we are disappointed to hear that we were not on point on this occasion. It is our aim to provide the best possible service and experience to our patrons and hope that you will visit us again to show you the standard that we are best known for. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Mon, 2 Oct 2017
Peter Stead

dined on Thu, 28 Sep 2017

(8)
It was OK. I've had the same choice before and I think it was better then.

dined on Thu, 28 Sep 2017

(8)
nothing to add service great
Maree Anne

dined on Sun, 10 Sep 2017

(9)
great afternoon lunch was delicious

dined on Tue, 29 Aug 2017

(4)
Great location, however meals were overpriced and basic, and despite the tasteful fit-out, the atmosphere is ruined by the pokies ringing in the distance.

dined on Tue, 29 Aug 2017

(6)
Unfortunately the service yesterday was extremely slow, having to wait over 1/2 hour for some meals (especially desert, which for one of my group was a scope of ice cream) with no explanations. Have always found the service good at this venue, so hopefully it was just a one off occasion.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About The Mail Exchange Hotel

Signed, sealed, delivered - I’m yours Mail Exchange Hotel. This historic Melbourne venue is the perfect spot for wining and dining - open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and everything in between. Housed on the lower ground level of the old Mail Exchange building this place is steeped in history and old school grandeur. As soon as you enter you’ll be sold - no need to return to sender. If you’re feeling peckish hit the lounge and order a few snacks, but if you’re after something more substantial sidle into the bistro and dine on pub grub classics that have had their flavour dial turned right up. This place is ideal for groups, so get your mates together and get ready to drink and dine in style. Best dish: chicken parmagiana: panko and parmesan crumbed chicken breast, roasted tomato Napoli sauce, virginia ham and mozzarella cheese + chips and salad.

The Mail Exchange Hotel Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

58
3.5/5