.

277 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8
277 reviews
Recommended
(8.1)
Food
(8.0)
Service
(8.3)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.1)
Scott

dined on Sun, 15 Jul 2018

(10)
Wait staff were excellent and knowledgeable, a reasonably extensive menu with a comprehensive drinks list, excellent portion sizes, nice environment.

dined on Sat, 14 Jul 2018

(10)
Great meeting place near the Station.
Hello Anne, Great review, thank you! Come back and see us again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Mon, 16 Jul 2018

dined on Thu, 12 Jul 2018

(9)
Very nice food at reasonable prices.
Garett

dined on Fri, 6 Jul 2018

(7)
We had an absolutely stunning truffle dinner! Big thank you to Andre, kitchen crew, front of house, and everyone who made this possible.
Hi Garett, We are so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the Truffle dinner. Andre did create an amazing menu and Christine worked really hard to making everything else perfect. Thank you for attending and your comments will definitely be passed on. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Sun, 8 Jul 2018

dined on Thu, 28 Jun 2018

(4)
Pre football dinner and drinks. Was very busy. Dinner took nearly an hour. Food, not worth the wait. Will go back again, but probably not for the food
Hello Shane, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments on the standard of food have been passed on to the chef. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Tue, 3 Jul 2018

dined on Thu, 28 Jun 2018

(3)
Booked table for 5.45 pm thinking this would be in plenty of time to eat and attend football game commencing at 7.20 pm at nearby Etihad Stadium. Still waiting to be served our meal at 7.00 pm. Missed nearly all of the first quarter of the game. A waitress was apologetic but said s=there was nothing she could do about it. Asked us it we would like to talk to management. No point as we won't be going back to the hotel.
Hello Ian, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very disappointed at having let you down with the standard of service you received on your last visit to our venue. We do pride ourselves on prompt and efficient service, unfortunately on this occasion we were hindered in the kitchen and struggled to get the meals out in a timely manner. You do have our sincerest apologies.
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Sun, 1 Jul 2018

dined on Fri, 1 Jun 2018

(10)
Delicious steak. Friendly helpful staff. Comfy multi area seating. Ticks every box.
Hi Christy, What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to post your positive experience with us. Knowing that you enjoyed all that we offer makes us very happy and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Mon, 4 Jun 2018

dined on Sun, 27 May 2018

(3)
Uninspiring food with room for improvement.

dined on Fri, 25 May 2018

(9)
Great for dinner before the football
Geoff Bullock

dined on Fri, 25 May 2018

(9)
Wine abit dear
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About The Mail Exchange Hotel

Signed, sealed, delivered - I’m yours Mail Exchange Hotel. This historic Melbourne venue is the perfect spot for wining and dining - open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and everything in between. Housed on the lower ground level of the old Mail Exchange building this place is steeped in history and old school grandeur. As soon as you enter you’ll be sold - no need to return to sender. If you’re feeling peckish hit the lounge and order a few snacks, but if you’re after something more substantial sidle into the bistro and dine on pub grub classics that have had their flavour dial turned right up. This place is ideal for groups, so get your mates together and get ready to drink and dine in style. Best dish: chicken parmagiana: panko and parmesan crumbed chicken breast, roasted tomato Napoli sauce, virginia ham and mozzarella cheese + chips and salad.

The Mail Exchange Hotel Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

58
3.5/5