.

306 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.1
306 reviews
Recommended
(8.4)
Food
(8.0)
Service
(8.3)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Mon, 5 Nov 2018

(10)
Great pub meal. Nice atmosphere. Friendly staff. The bad boy chips are the best.

dined on Fri, 26 Oct 2018

(9)
A good pub meal. Nice setting. Reasonably priced. Friendly staff.

dined on Fri, 12 Oct 2018

(10)
Fantastic service and the food was lovely.
Hi Kylie, What a great review! Thank you for taking the time to post such positive feedback. Your comments will be passed on to the team and we look forward to seeing you at the Mail Exchange Hotel again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Tue, 16 Oct 2018

dined on Tue, 9 Oct 2018

(9)
There was only one thing one of our group ordered an entrée as a main meal but was served his meal prior to our and then had to watch us eat.
Hi Lo, Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback as it always helps us to identify areas for improvement. We look forward to seeing you in the hotel again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Thu, 11 Oct 2018

dined on Sat, 6 Oct 2018

(7)
Pub grub of reasonable quality, good atmosphere and layout. Pokies and sports bar available for those who want it. Handy venue opposite Southern Cross Station.

dined on Fri, 5 Oct 2018

(7)
The food was nice but we waited almost an hour for the food to be on our table :(
Stephanie Marshall

dined on Mon, 1 Oct 2018

(9)
The relaxed atmosphere is beautiful here. The food was also quite tasty.

dined on Sat, 29 Sep 2018

(5)
Bland unremarkable pub grub Parmas were tiny compared to most, steaks were small, chewy and dry Seafood was overcooked Salads - a heaped pile of lettuce is not a salad Poor, boring selection of tap beers The staff were smiling and helpful and were the best part of our lunch
Hello Gary, Thank you for your feedback it is very important to us in order to rectify any issues and make the necessary changes. Customer satisfaction is so important to us and we are sorry that you have been let down on this occasion. We are very happy to know that our staff front of house were on point and your comments have been relayed to each department head. We do hope that you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves with the usual high standard of meals and service that are known for. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Thu, 4 Oct 2018

dined on Sat, 29 Sep 2018

(10)
Went for pre footy brunch. Great food, friendly service, great atmosphere!
Dianne Tozer

dined on Fri, 21 Sep 2018

(10)
still the best place in melbourne to eat. Great staff, great food. my go to place for a great night out
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About The Mail Exchange Hotel

Signed, sealed, delivered - I’m yours Mail Exchange Hotel. This historic Melbourne venue is the perfect spot for wining and dining - open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and everything in between. Housed on the lower ground level of the old Mail Exchange building this place is steeped in history and old school grandeur. As soon as you enter you’ll be sold - no need to return to sender. If you’re feeling peckish hit the lounge and order a few snacks, but if you’re after something more substantial sidle into the bistro and dine on pub grub classics that have had their flavour dial turned right up. This place is ideal for groups, so get your mates together and get ready to drink and dine in style. Best dish: chicken parmagiana: panko and parmesan crumbed chicken breast, roasted tomato Napoli sauce, virginia ham and mozzarella cheese + chips and salad.

The Mail Exchange Hotel Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

58
3.5/5