.

260 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.2
260 reviews
Recommended
(8.3)
Food
(8.2)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Fri, 23 Mar 2018

(3)
Food was very poor. Chicken Parma was tasteless and while all food was presented well, was a very low standard. Most service was good, with one waitress in particular very understanding and attentive regarding food allergy. The woman running the place was an ogre who hurried us out to seat others.
Hello Pat, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is important to us. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your meal and your comments have been passed on to the chef. We did give Brittany your feedback too and she was very pleased that to know you were happy with her service. I was disappointed to read that you thought I was an ogre, I did explain and show you the booking system before I sat you letting you know that the table was booked and that it was the dimmi booking system that only allowed you that short period of time to dine.
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Sat, 24 Mar 2018

dined on Tue, 20 Mar 2018

(4)
Totally disappointed in the hamburger, I had it was absolutely dry, my wife's cauliflower salad was good however the chicken strips was like leather,the calamari panco the calamari was to thin to say it was a good meal. As for the beer had no head on the beer, the actual glass was ordinary and not what a pot looks like, and this could be what is effecting the POURING of the beer NO HEAD (Froth) and is it a 10 oz glass
Hi Trevor, Thank you for your feed back. All of your comments have been relayed to management, the kitchen and to the bar staff. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Sat, 24 Mar 2018

dined on Thu, 15 Mar 2018

(7)
The big breakfast is good value

dined on Mon, 12 Mar 2018

(7)
My friend ordered a rare steak and ended up with a medium to well done steak. So we weren't impressed by that

dined on Sun, 11 Mar 2018

(6)
I thought the food was abit ordingary wasn't happy, it was very busy with Ed Sheeran concert etc I know but we had to keep asking for service the thai yellow curry was tastless, curry sauce put over steamed veges..that would have been serviced with other meals very ordinary

dined on Sat, 10 Mar 2018

(8)
Food fabulous quick service before concerts
Felicity

dined on Tue, 30 Jan 2018

(7)
Great for pre-concert at Etihad. Considering the amount of orders they had to get through and quickly, the staff were helpful, friendly and hardworking. Food was delicious but slightly pricey for what it was.
Hi Felicity, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always great to get the feed back. Your comments have been passed on to the chef and he has been churning out some great new dishes so please join us again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Tue, 20 Feb 2018

dined on Tue, 30 Jan 2018

(8)
Friendly staff with good quality food at fair prices. No frills dining perfect for any Etihad Stadium pre or post show or game, being across the road from the venue which is what it caters for.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate feedback and it is always great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Mail Exchange hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Thu, 8 Feb 2018

dined on Fri, 12 Jan 2018

(10)
Despite the fact the hotel was extremely busy every staff member was cheerful and attentive!!

dined on Thu, 21 Dec 2017

(10)
Great service, delicious chicken salad
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About The Mail Exchange Hotel

Signed, sealed, delivered - I’m yours Mail Exchange Hotel. This historic Melbourne venue is the perfect spot for wining and dining - open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and everything in between. Housed on the lower ground level of the old Mail Exchange building this place is steeped in history and old school grandeur. As soon as you enter you’ll be sold - no need to return to sender. If you’re feeling peckish hit the lounge and order a few snacks, but if you’re after something more substantial sidle into the bistro and dine on pub grub classics that have had their flavour dial turned right up. This place is ideal for groups, so get your mates together and get ready to drink and dine in style. Best dish: chicken parmagiana: panko and parmesan crumbed chicken breast, roasted tomato Napoli sauce, virginia ham and mozzarella cheese + chips and salad.

The Mail Exchange Hotel Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

58
3.5/5