.

260 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.2
260 reviews
Recommended
(8.3)
Food
(8.2)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Fri, 31 Mar 2017

(6)
Had a great night
Hi Raelene, Glad you had a great night! Don't leave it too long before you come in and see us again. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Wed, 5 Apr 2017

dined on Sat, 25 Mar 2017

(6)
The service was great and very attentive, as there was hardly anyone in the Bistro. I have eaten here before while it was very busy and it was very hard to get the attention of staff. The food is average but its location is great. It's the place to have a meal before heading to an event at Ethihad Stadium, that is in within walking distance.
Hi Patricia, Thanks for the review... your feedback is important and helps us to identify areas where changes can be made. We hope that on your next visit we can up the scores. Look forward to seeing you soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Wed, 5 Apr 2017

dined on Sun, 19 Mar 2017

(9)
Went for dinner before the Adele concert and the place was packed! Luckily we had a booking. Despite the crowd, our food was ordered and served quickly and the staff were amazing. This is now my go to place for dinner around the Etihad area. Fantastic.
Thank you Belinda, We worked really hard to ensure everyone had a great time before going to see Adele. (I heard she was amazing) We look forward to looking after you again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Mon, 20 Mar 2017

dined on Sun, 19 Mar 2017

(9)
Excellent job under such pressure Thanks for allowing us to pre order and assist us with speedy service so we could split and pay for our bill Great credit to all staff , especially Nikki and Haresh Highly recommend your establishment
Shane

dined on Sun, 19 Mar 2017

(8)
We dropped in here prior to the Adele concert and it fitted our needs perfectly. I'm glad we booked because it was slammed in the later afternoon. The main hostess was very good and professional and managed the huge numbers very well. The eye fillet was very good indeed.
Hi Shane, Thanks so much for the comments! That main hostess should get a pay rise! (Shhh it was me... honestly appreciate the mention :)) I will let the chef know that you enjoyed you meal too. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Mon, 20 Mar 2017

dined on Sat, 18 Mar 2017

(6)
We booked for a 'pre-theatre' event - our table had other people on it and we had to wait, then it took over an hour for our meals to arrive. Location was convenient but service did not keep up with the busy night. The staff were friendly and cheerful in the face of such a busy night
Hi Glenis, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a very hectic night and we did have 2 sittings for dinner. We do apologize for any delays caused on what was a huge night with everyone needing to eat and get to Adele at the same time...we certainly did our best and I am pleased to hear that we kept a cheerful momentum. Hope to see you in the hotel again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Mon, 20 Mar 2017

dined on Sat, 18 Mar 2017

(9)
excellent service and quick
It was a team effort and so happy that we were on point!
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Mon, 20 Mar 2017
Dianne

dined on Sat, 18 Mar 2017

(10)
I always eat here whenever I am in Melbourne (which is regularly) and have recommended it to friends and family who love it also. It is always great service and amazing food
Hi Dianne, We love a perfect score! We work really hard towards it! Thank you so much for taking the time to rate us and post such great comments about the staff, the food and our venue. Keep up the recommendations and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Mon, 8 May 2017
Sharon

dined on Sat, 18 Mar 2017

(9)
Great venue for pre dinner and drinks when heading to Ethiad stadium. Prompt and efficient service, but best to pre book table if you are looking to dine. Otherwise bar food looked great too. Friendly, social atmosphere.
Hi Sharon, Thank you for the excellent score! Hope your night continued on a high with the amazing Adele. Hope to see you again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Mon, 20 Mar 2017

dined on Thu, 2 Mar 2017

(9)
Good atmosphere and service able to sit and chat at our table.
Great review John! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers
Nici Nicholson, The Mail Exchange Hotel responded on Wed, 8 Mar 2017
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

About The Mail Exchange Hotel

Signed, sealed, delivered - I’m yours Mail Exchange Hotel. This historic Melbourne venue is the perfect spot for wining and dining - open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and everything in between. Housed on the lower ground level of the old Mail Exchange building this place is steeped in history and old school grandeur. As soon as you enter you’ll be sold - no need to return to sender. If you’re feeling peckish hit the lounge and order a few snacks, but if you’re after something more substantial sidle into the bistro and dine on pub grub classics that have had their flavour dial turned right up. This place is ideal for groups, so get your mates together and get ready to drink and dine in style. Best dish: chicken parmagiana: panko and parmesan crumbed chicken breast, roasted tomato Napoli sauce, virginia ham and mozzarella cheese + chips and salad.

The Mail Exchange Hotel Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

58
3.5/5