.

1930 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.6
1930 reviews
Recommended
(8.9)
Food
(8.7)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.5)
Fiona

dined on Wed, 12 Apr 2017

(8)
We went for an early meal, pre theatre, expecting it to be quiet and a good place for a quick meal. The venue filled up very quickly, and it seemed there weren't enough staff to cope with the demand. Water glasses weren't refilled, wine orders slow to be served. The food was very slow to be served. Partly our fault because we didn't mention we had a time imperative, but if you're going to a restaurant that upon booking stresses the 'we expect you to vacate the table 2 hours after you're seated' rule, you expect the food service to be snappy. It wasn't, on this occasion. It meant I didn't get to finish my meal, which was frustrating, as it was delicious! As was the food of my fellow diners. I've had better experiences at Taxi - I've always enjoyed the food and the views, and have not previously had issues with the service. So I will return - just hope for a better experience next time.

dined on Sat, 8 Apr 2017

(10)
Consistently happy with Taxi, always so friendly, excellent service and food, have been dining here for years!

dined on Fri, 7 Apr 2017

(10)
Fantastic setting; superb food and wine and great service.
Sue

dined on Fri, 7 Apr 2017

(10)
Absolutely awesome, we love this place. It is on our list every time we visit The food is wonderful, wait staff are lovely and great views

dined on Fri, 7 Apr 2017

(8)
As always, the food was great. Highly recommended!

dined on Fri, 7 Apr 2017

(8)
We attended for MFWF unfortunately unlike the other restaurants we had attended there seemed to be many more rules. In the end we were so confused we didn't know what we would end up with. Our waiter was very attentive and attempted to meet all of our requests. Entrees were fantastic we received each of the 2 on offer and they were large & easy to share. The main ended up being a whole barramundi to share. Unlike most restaurants were you get to chose which main you want. The fish had no real accompaniment just a garnish. While the fish was lovely there was not a huge amount of fish on it. The view is fantastic & it wasn't an unpleasant lunch just not as good as the others I attended during the festival.

dined on Fri, 7 Apr 2017

(10)
Amazing food & service, cannot beat the location!

dined on Fri, 7 Apr 2017

(8)
We had the express lunch for $40 per person plus we shared a dessert. Our first entree was the sake washed tuna which was fantastic. The candied pork entree was delicious as well, very punchy flavour, melt in your mouth pork and a delicious fresh pickle. The chicken braised in mastersrock was disappointing. The chicken was very dry and there wasn't much flavour to the little black bean type salsa. I don't rate that dish at all. For dessert we had the lemon curd dish. This was sensational! Had bits of torched meringue, a beautiful sour sorbet, lemon curd, foam, raspberries ... yum, perfect. The service was great. We would return.

dined on Fri, 7 Apr 2017

(8)
Had the Express Lunch as part of the Food and Wine Fesitval. Service was great, and was a really good way to spend a Friday afternoon with the team.
ian

dined on Fri, 7 Apr 2017

(10)
MFWF lunch, meal and wines stunning
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

Specials

Complimentary Capocollo Platter

Not available with other promotions.
Max. people
6
When
15 Feb 2017 - 04 Aug 2019
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

20% Off Food Bill

Terms and Conditions: · Food only – beverages not included in discount · Max discount is $40 · Not to be used in conjunction with any other offer e.g. Entertainment Card or Australian Good Food Guide Card or any set menu options
When
10 Apr 2017 - 13 May 2017
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
When
15 May 2017 - 20 Mar 2019
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Mother's Day Lunch $95pp

Treat you and your loved ones to a 3 course lunch for $95 per person. ~ We request that you provide your credit card details as a guarantee. If you fail to show up, numbers decrease or cancel without at least 72hours notice, the full cost of the meal/s will be charged to the card of $95 per person.
When
14 May 2017
Sun 11:00 AM - 11:00 AM
When
14 May 2017
Sun 11:30 AM - 11:30 AM
When
14 May 2017
Sun 12:00 PM - 12:00 PM
When
14 May 2017
Sun 1:30 PM - 1:30 PM
When
14 May 2017
Sun 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
14 May 2017
Sun 2:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Taxi Kitchen

Taxi Kitchen.. Taxi Kitchen has a new look, and vibe. One that’s more relaxed, carefree and fresh, appealing to both young and older dining crowds. With an emphasis on share plates (baked whole barramundi or slow roasted lamb shoulder), smaller dishes, (for the pre theatre, concert and football crowd). Taxi Kitchen offers less fussy, more affordable, accessible food. Dishes to write home about would have to be the candied pork with coconut salad and red chilli dressing and the sesame-scorched oysters. You don’t want to be leave without tasting these two beauties. With one of the best views in Melbourne (almost 360-degree views of the city), Taxi caters to everyone that comes through the Federation Square hub. From tourists to casual diners and everyone in between.

Number of seats
200
Parking availability
Yes

Taxi Kitchen Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14.5/20
4/5
8/10

Events

Our goal for our private dining offering is to extend to you the very same exceptional food and service experience that has transported Taxi Kitchen to sit within the top tier of Australian restaurants. On arrival to Taxi Kitchen, you’re welcomed with views of iconic Melbourne to deliver you an unforgettable experience in the heart of the city yet far removed from the crowds. We are fortunate to have with us the renowned head chef, Tony Twitchett whose unique and highly creative style of Australian cuisine focuses on fresh, seasonal and local ingredients that always surprises and delights.

Capacity
200 seated / 450 standing
Price
from $85 p.p.
Cuisine
Modern Australian
Location
Melbourne CBD, VIC 3000
Best For
  • Wedding/engagement party
  • Birthday/group party
  • Christmas party
  • Private function
  • Cocktail party
More info