.

2014 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.6
2014 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.6)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.5)

dined on Sat, 17 Jun 2017

(9)
Excellent meal & atmosphere

dined on Thu, 15 Jun 2017

(8)
was quite noisy when full at the start but improved over the night staff friendly

dined on Tue, 13 Jun 2017

(5)
Great atmosphere and service, but food was average

dined on Sat, 10 Jun 2017

(9)
Another very good Melbourne restaurant. Imaginative fusion dishes. Great location. Relaxed informal ambience. High cool factor.
Roger

dined on Sat, 10 Jun 2017

(9)
Consistently good food.

dined on Sat, 3 Jun 2017

(10)
outstanding food and service
Santino

dined on Sat, 3 Jun 2017

(8)
Tasty Food, lovely view and prompt service.

dined on Fri, 2 Jun 2017

(9)
Great food and fantastic views over the Yarra

dined on Thu, 1 Jun 2017

(9)
an amazing long lunch at Taxi Kitchen.. fabulous food, great knowledge service and a varied drinks list.. the food here is so tasty & wonderfully presented, we relaxed all arvo & weren't rushed out..

dined on Wed, 31 May 2017

(9)
I was so impressed with Taxi Kitchen at my first visit that I decided to go back again the next night with different friends to sample more from the menu. Taxi Kitchen has a big neon sign which is easy to see once you know where it is(!) but it was actually quite was hard to find the first time until you think to look up above the noisy bar opposite the station. The views are different in the evening, with the arts centre spire and Southbank lights complementing the reflections from the river and the bustle of the trams and Flinders Street station. I would love it even more if they were able to get the windows cleaned though. The food and ambiance were consistently great across the two visits but the service was totally different and if I had only gone on the second night I may well have rated much lower. Service on the second visit was well off point and tailed away to virtually nothing once the mains were served. We were very close to ringing the restaurant from the table to ask for the bill. Will definitely return for the brilliant quality of the meals.
page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Specials

Complimentary Capocollo Platter

Not available with other promotions.
Max. people
6
When
15 Feb 2017 - 04 Aug 2019
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

3 Course Showbiz Menu $65pp

Enjoy our specially designed 3 Course Showbizz menu when you dine with us prior to attending a show. Please note this is not available in conjunction with any other promotion, special or voucher
When
17 May 2017 - 17 May 2020
Fri, Sat 5:00 PM - 6:15 PM
When
17 May 2017 - 17 May 2020
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Lunch Special 2 Course Meal for $35

Lunch in a rush at Taxi Kitchen. Enjoy our 2 courses specially designed by our kitchen and you’ll be back at your desk before your boss notices. Please note this is not available in conjunction with any other promotion, special or voucher.
When
13 Jun 2017 - 12 Jun 2018
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Taxi Kitchen

Taxi Kitchen.. Taxi Kitchen has a new look, and vibe. One that’s more relaxed, carefree and fresh, appealing to both young and older dining crowds. With an emphasis on share plates (baked whole barramundi or slow roasted lamb shoulder), smaller dishes, (for the pre theatre, concert and football crowd). Taxi Kitchen offers less fussy, more affordable, accessible food. Dishes to write home about would have to be the candied pork with coconut salad and red chilli dressing and the sesame-scorched oysters. You don’t want to be leave without tasting these two beauties. With one of the best views in Melbourne (almost 360-degree views of the city), Taxi caters to everyone that comes through the Federation Square hub. From tourists to casual diners and everyone in between.

Number of seats
200
Parking availability
Yes

Taxi Kitchen Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14.5/20
4/5
8/10