.

1930 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.6
1930 reviews
Recommended
(8.9)
Food
(8.7)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.5)

dined on Fri, 28 Apr 2017

(8)
Good food. Specials are usually very good!
David Fagan

dined on Fri, 28 Apr 2017

(10)
Today was the first day of the new Taxi Kitchen menu.Great oysters and chicken breast.Excellent cauliflower side dish.Attentive but unobtrusive service.
Alister

dined on Thu, 27 Apr 2017

(10)
An amazing place for an incredible food experience

dined on Thu, 27 Apr 2017

(9)
Gorgeous views, wonderful service!

dined on Sun, 23 Apr 2017

(8)
It's a good night

dined on Sat, 22 Apr 2017

(8)
Lovely desserts and entree

dined on Sat, 22 Apr 2017

(0)
Had the worst experience here, had to wait for my table, mind you I booked in advance! Then waited almost an hour for the mains to be served, and when the food finally came I found a worm in my food!!!! Sent it back only to be told that it may have come from the salad and that there is nothing to worry about (are you serious??? don't you wash the salads before serving your customers???). Also he kept saying they were busy (if you are busy either get more staff or do not take the booking). There were 4 of us and all of us stopped eating. The toilets were disgusting as well. To top it off service was crap too. The manager also did you let me use my entertainment book card (he still made us pay for the drinks and entree) but he did not charge us for the mains (which we did not eat anyway as we were completely disgusted and this was of no fault of ours).Left with a bad taste in my mouth and a hungry tummy!!! Never going back!

dined on Sat, 22 Apr 2017

(7)
The food was great, our order was confused and one meal came out late. The drinks waiter was not good. The food waiter ended up topping up our drinks. I thought he was a bit of a tosser actually. The deserts were very good. The night cap was also confused with one out of four drinks coming out. The batman was a complete tosser. Very rude. However our waitress saved the night by being so pleasant. I would return but not on a busy night. Brett from Perth.

dined on Sat, 22 Apr 2017

(9)
Went here for pre-show dinner. Told staff and they made sure we were served in good time. Shared barramundi for two with a couple of drinks. Very good food, service and atmosphere. RB
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Complimentary Capocollo Platter

Not available with other promotions.
Max. people
6
When
15 Feb 2017 - 04 Aug 2019
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

20% Off Food Bill

Terms and Conditions: · Food only – beverages not included in discount · Max discount is $40 · Not to be used in conjunction with any other offer e.g. Entertainment Card or Australian Good Food Guide Card or any set menu options
When
10 Apr 2017 - 13 May 2017
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
When
15 May 2017 - 20 Mar 2019
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Mother's Day Lunch $95pp

Treat you and your loved ones to a 3 course lunch for $95 per person. ~ We request that you provide your credit card details as a guarantee. If you fail to show up, numbers decrease or cancel without at least 72hours notice, the full cost of the meal/s will be charged to the card of $95 per person.
When
14 May 2017
Sun 11:00 AM - 11:00 AM
When
14 May 2017
Sun 11:30 AM - 11:30 AM
When
14 May 2017
Sun 12:00 PM - 12:00 PM
When
14 May 2017
Sun 1:30 PM - 1:30 PM
When
14 May 2017
Sun 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
14 May 2017
Sun 2:30 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Taxi Kitchen

Taxi Kitchen.. Taxi Kitchen has a new look, and vibe. One that’s more relaxed, carefree and fresh, appealing to both young and older dining crowds. With an emphasis on share plates (baked whole barramundi or slow roasted lamb shoulder), smaller dishes, (for the pre theatre, concert and football crowd). Taxi Kitchen offers less fussy, more affordable, accessible food. Dishes to write home about would have to be the candied pork with coconut salad and red chilli dressing and the sesame-scorched oysters. You don’t want to be leave without tasting these two beauties. With one of the best views in Melbourne (almost 360-degree views of the city), Taxi caters to everyone that comes through the Federation Square hub. From tourists to casual diners and everyone in between.

Number of seats
200
Parking availability
Yes

Taxi Kitchen Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14.5/20
4/5
8/10

Events

Our goal for our private dining offering is to extend to you the very same exceptional food and service experience that has transported Taxi Kitchen to sit within the top tier of Australian restaurants. On arrival to Taxi Kitchen, you’re welcomed with views of iconic Melbourne to deliver you an unforgettable experience in the heart of the city yet far removed from the crowds. We are fortunate to have with us the renowned head chef, Tony Twitchett whose unique and highly creative style of Australian cuisine focuses on fresh, seasonal and local ingredients that always surprises and delights.

Capacity
200 seated / 450 standing
Price
from $85 p.p.
Cuisine
Modern Australian
Location
Melbourne CBD, VIC 3000
Best For
  • Wedding/engagement party
  • Birthday/group party
  • Christmas party
  • Private function
  • Cocktail party
More info