.

2686 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.4
2686 reviews
Recommended
(8.7)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.7)
Atmosphere
(7.9)

dined on Fri, 19 May 2017

(7)
Beautiful decor, cosy & could be a great date place. Service was very attentive and friendly. I ordered the crumbed cutlet, (I think it was veal) although I'm sure it could be a beautiful dish, the crumbling was way too thick and stodgy tasting & fell off the meat, leaving unseasoned meat that was a bit overcooked, the purée was beautiful and smooth but there was not enough of it. Husband had a steak, ordered medium rare (as he always does) & as was recommended by the wait staff but it was under. Centre of the steak was so gelatinous that it was hard to eat. We could've asked for it be put back in the pan for a bit but we didn't. If I was over that side of town again, I would give it another go & order differently.

dined on Fri, 19 May 2017

(8)
Best steak in Melbourne!

dined on Mon, 15 May 2017

(9)
Love coming back for the perfect steak always. Still hoping for the chocolate souffle to be back on the menu!

dined on Sun, 14 May 2017

(9)
Food and Wine list were outstanding. However, steak sauce was only lukewarm at the table and my $38 rump cap was an OK cut of meat.

dined on Sun, 14 May 2017

(10)
Fantastic food. Amazing we always go for special occassions

dined on Sat, 13 May 2017

(8)
Food has improved since our last visit. Would highly recommend the charcuterie as a starter. Overall, we had a pleasant evening and will definitely be back again.

dined on Sat, 13 May 2017

(6)
Station hotel is well known for their steaks, so my partner and I went to get steaks. The steak menu is very impressive with about 10 options and a large price range. Our waiter was unable to talk us through the menu and advise us on ordering steaks. Eg cut, flavour, texture of the different options. When paying $70 for a steak I'd like the waiter Robbie able to tell me a bit about it. The steaks themselves were delicious. Beautifully cooked and a delicious piece of meat. The accompanying side salad was terrible. Just like a bag of Coles lettuce with some lemon juice. My partner wanted veges instead of chips. He was charged a surcharge for this, which is fine, except that his resultant veges were not great. He had steamed/boiled beans and carrots. No sauce or seasoning. The carrots were so over cooked it was like eating at school camp. For entree I had steak tartare which was bad. The actual meat seemed like high quality but it was not prepared well. It was completely underseasoned. And worse, the meat looked like it had been shredded. It was all stringy. Not a fine dice at all. I couldn't eat it. It would have been fine for a pub meal. But not when it has fine dining prices attached. And when paying 70 for a steak the sides need to have a bit more care.

dined on Sat, 13 May 2017

(9)
Love it. I'm a regular customer. Great service, great food, great value!

dined on Thu, 11 May 2017

(9)
Great place for a steak. Always great service

dined on Wed, 10 May 2017

(10)
Perfectly cooked steaks. Amazing service. Can't wait to go back.
page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Specials

Kids Eat Free

When
20 Sep 2016 - 20 Sep 2035
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Station Hotel

It’s a steak out... Right in the heart of Footscray you’ll find Station Hotel, a much-loved favourite with the locals due to the impressive lineup of steaks. The weight, cut, origin and whether its grain or grass fed are all highlighted on the menu that caters to all pockets. So no matter what your budget, you’ll be sure to get a good meaty feed when you rock up to the Station. Don’t be put off if you’re not a meat lover, the menu is substantial has got you covered with plenty of French bistro classics to cater to every need. This no-nonsense pub is perfect for a quick feed or a casual hang with friends. The kind of place to just kick and relax. Best dish: steak of course

Station Hotel Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14/20
86
4/5