.

2778 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.5
2778 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.6)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(7.7)
Atmosphere
(8.2)

dined on Tue, 20 Mar 2018

(7)
While it's not our first time at Station, it is at the bottom in terms of ratings this round. First off was the very very slow service and we waited quite awhile between entree and mains even though we were the only table. Luckily a waiter was on the ball and rectified that. I ordered a lamb which was beautifully cooked but came with the most awful salad I ever had in my life and I tried to finish it as I do not like to waste food but I gave up in the end. It was supposed to be a cucumber tomato quinoa frisee salad. I was instead given a strawberry nectarine blue/ goat chesse no dressing quinoa salad that was just like swallowing large grains of sand. I was told apparently that I "complained too late" as they could have rectified it immediately in the kitchen. But they couldn't have as I finished the lamb first before even trying the salad ! it was taken off the bill for us which was very nice of them.

dined on Mon, 19 Mar 2018

(5)
Service needs work us and afew other tables in our section waited a very long time to order with staff members setting tables ect around us.

dined on Sun, 18 Mar 2018

(9)
Great local pub and restaurant. Delicious food, fabulous steak.

dined on Sat, 17 Mar 2018

(10)
Best steakhouse

dined on Sat, 17 Mar 2018

(9)
A+ great service and one of the best steaks going around. I love my steaks and this place is in the top 3 for me.. would highly recommend to anyone, that enjoys a great steaks
Linda

dined on Tue, 13 Mar 2018

(9)
Excellent food and wine list - love the simplicity and the exquisite cooking

dined on Tue, 13 Mar 2018

(9)
Excellent steak!

dined on Fri, 9 Mar 2018

(8)
We specifically wanted to order The Beast burger, but were told it was not available. This was at 7:30, so surely they should be able to offer one of their prime dishes at a main meal time. Disappointed by that.

dined on Fri, 9 Mar 2018

(10)
Best steak and service! Love it!!

dined on Tue, 6 Mar 2018

(5)
So i didn't know they changed ownership, menu change. they no longer have oysters, theyve changed the bread that comes along with the parfait, not as nice as before. we ordered the fish of the day, the waitress originally said it was salmon then came back to tell it was hapuka fish, i had a feeling this type of fish has a distinct taste or smell (fishy) when I asked the waitress, she either couldnt answer me or didnt know how to answer me. she didnt seem like she knew the menu very well. our table was dirty from the bread crumbs and a few clumsy food spillage but our table was never cleaned. the restaurant was half empty so expected a bit better service. once we got the bill, we had to catch the attention of a staff as 10mins gone by and no one came back to check on us. mains were ok, nice but nothing special, as we paid 62 for one dish, it was fairly average. im netural about this place, wouldnt be in a rush to come back though.
Hi Cindy, Thank you for the review. Sorry to hear you were disappointed that we don’t have oysters on the menu at the moment. We do change our menu seasonly to reflect the freshest & best quality ingredients. Also running daily special to also keep with this, hence the fish changing, so we do apologies in regards to that. Glad to hear that the New York Strip was to your liking however. We appreciate your feedback and continue to us this as a tool for staff training. - The Station Team
Restaurant Station Hotel responded on Thu, 8 Mar 2018
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Mother's Day Set Menu $75pp

Spoil Mum this Mother’s Day and take her to lunch with the whole family. Dine on our special two-course menu for just $75pp. Children are welcome to order off the kid's menu on the day. Terms and Conditions: - Confirmation of your booking is required 48 hours prior to your booking time, don’t worry we will call to confirm! - We accept all major credit cards or cash. - We take credit card details as security only. The bill is to be paid in full at the end of your stay with us. If you choose to cancel the whole reservation within 48 hours of the booking, or if your group numbers drop by more than 3 in the same period of time, 50% of the menu selected will be charged to the card provided. - All non-attendees on the day may incur a cancellation fee. - When notified of food allergies & intolerances we will take all due care to ensure meals or beverages served are free from notified products. However, we cannot guarantee that the meals or beverages will be free from trace elements. Please ensure that you notify us of any requirements 48 hours in advance.
When
13 May 2018
Sun 12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Station Hotel

It’s a steak out... Right in the heart of Footscray you’ll find Station Hotel, a much-loved favourite with the locals due to the impressive lineup of steaks. The weight, cut, origin and whether its grain or grass fed are all highlighted on the menu that caters to all pockets. So no matter what your budget, you’ll be sure to get a good meaty feed when you rock up to the Station. Don’t be put off if you’re not a meat lover, the menu is substantial has got you covered with plenty of French bistro classics to cater to every need. This no-nonsense pub is perfect for a quick feed or a casual hang with friends. The kind of place to just kick and relax. Best dish: steak of course

Station Hotel Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14/20
86
4/5