.

93 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.1
93 reviews
Recommended
(8.3)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(8.2)
Atmosphere
(8.9)

dined on Fri, 18 Sep 2015

(8)
Booked through Dimmi for a 50% off your meal. I had the Speakeasy Burger. It was perfectly prepared, the burger portion size was a bit small, but then again my eyes are always bigger then my stomach. The pulled pork burger looked fantastic too. The Grizz Amber Ale on tap was absolutely fantastic. Price - Cheap and cheerful with the deal. Decent value even otherwise. Service - Friendly and courteous, Overall experience was good. We'd try and comeback here to try other stuff on the menu. Definitely worth a visit back just to try the amber ale again.
Thanks for your detailed review! We are very pleased to hear that we ticked so many boxes for you during your last visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Tue, 29 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 17 Sep 2015

(8)
Good food, good service and Great atmosphere !
Thanks for you review! So pleased to hear that you had such a great time with us during your last visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Speakeasy in the not too distant future!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Wed, 30 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 17 Sep 2015

(7)
Great location and outdoor area is great
Thanks for reviewing your recent visit! We are really happy to hear that you had a great time. Our courtyard truly is a hidden gem! We look forward to seeing you again.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 17 Sep 2015

(6)
We ordered burgers and the big boy steak. The burgers were alright, but the steak was a bit tough. It was a 400g cut which came all sliced up, which was not what we were expecting. Not sure if that contributed to the meat being bit tough.
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Speakeasy. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the quality of the steak ordered. Serving the steak sliced shouldn't affect the quality or toughness. I will pass this onto our Kitchen Team so that they may improve our product. I hope that you will give us another opportunity again in the future.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 18 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 17 Sep 2015

(7)
Burgers were really good. Service was ok but had to do some self serve a couple of times. Overall would probably come back
Sheri

dined on Mon, 14 Sep 2015

(10)
Very interesting menu. So many yummy things couldn't decide! Bloody Mary with Cajun spice salted rim is a must. Waitstaff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely pop in to see them and have Another Bloody Mary!
Thanks for your review! We are so pleased to heat that you had a great time! We'll see you again!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Wed, 16 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 10 Sep 2015

(4)
Even at 50%.off, burgers underwhelming. Great spot for a drink in summer but skip the food.
I am very sorry to hear that you had an underwhelming experience with us last night. We strive to produce the highest quality food at all times and take on board feedback openly. I will follow up with our team to ensure this does not happen again. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you what we are capable of in the future.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 11 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 10 Sep 2015

(9)
Really great, high quality food, fantastic burgers!!
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Speakeasy! We're so pleased to hear that you had a great time and we can't wait to see you again!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Wed, 21 Oct 2015

dined on Thu, 10 Sep 2015

(7)
Highly recommend the wings with blue cheese sauce. Great service from the server.
We're so pleased to hear that you had a great visit to Speakeasy recently - thanks for your review! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Tue, 6 Oct 2015
Serena

dined on Sat, 5 Sep 2015

(8)
Good that able to use entertainment voucher
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Speakeasy! We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Wed, 9 Sep 2015
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7

About Speakeasy Kitchen Bar

Our lips are sealed Created as a nod to the speakeasy culture of illegal drinking dens set-up during America’s prohibition era, Speakeasy (now completely legal) hasn’t been much of a well-kept secret. This diner quickly sparked the interest of locals and businesses and it's packed out most nights. The small entrance – a three metre wide shopfront on Chapel Street – is a deceptive one. As you move through the space, a smart dining room and large outer-terrace reveal themselves. The menu has a Modern-Australian/American style vibe with plenty of choice. If you’re there with a group go for one of the sharing platters before ordering a solo chocolate mousse for dessert. The unspoken rule at Speakeasy that you must have a drink at all times - try their signature ‘Summer Speakeasy”: watermelon muddled with tromba blanco tequila & soho lychee liqueur, topped off with blueberries & lemonade to kickstart your night. Best Dish: any of the burgers.

Number of seats
85
Parking availability
Yes
Takeaway
Yes

Speakeasy Kitchen Bar Address

Google Map

Events

Speakeasy takes great pleasure in organising and being a part of your private or corporate function. Our function spaces are available night and day for casual or more formal settings with a choice of coursed menus or canapés for cocktail parties. Drink packages can be tailored to suit all occasions. The rear of Speakeasy houses a hidden open-air courtyard. This area is also available for functions; small areas can be booked or the entire courtyard can be reserved (min. spend applies). The area is equipped to cater for cold or rainy weather with retractable awnings and heaters.

Capacity
65 seated / 120 standing
Price
from $15 p.p.
Cuisine
Modern Australian
Location
South Yarra, VIC 3141
Best For
  • Conference
  • Private function
  • Business meeting
More info