.

98 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.1
98 reviews
Recommended
(8.3)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(8.2)
Atmosphere
(8.9)

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(8)
Great cocktails
Thanks for your review! I'm so pleased to hear that you love our cocktails! We look forward to seeing you again.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 25 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(7)
Had the Wagyu Burger and the Mushroom burger and both were delicious! Service was average - waiter wasn't very attentive or friendly. Nevertheless it was an enjoyable meal overall.
Thanks for your review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals whilst dining with us recently. I am sorry that the service you received was lacklustre - I will be sure to follow this up with the front of house team so we can endeavour to provide the highest level of service at all times. I look forward to seeing you here at Speakeasy again in the future.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Tue, 29 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(9)
Really good food. Everything was cooked perfectly and the desserts were great. I recommend the Philly Cheese Steak :)
The Philly Cheese Steak certainly is a winner! So glad you loved it as much as we do! Thanks for your review - we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 25 Sep 2015
Kevin

dined on Tue, 22 Sep 2015

(7)
Food was decently priced at around $20 per menu item. Not something that I will go to for cheap eats
Thanks for visiting Speakeasy and for taking the time to review your visit. We're pleased to hear that you had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Wed, 23 Sep 2015

dined on Mon, 21 Sep 2015

(8)
Fantastic Philly Cheese Steak sandwich!
Thanks for your review! We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Speakeasy. The Philly Cheese Steak is one of my favourites too! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Tue, 22 Sep 2015

dined on Fri, 18 Sep 2015

(8)
Booked through Dimmi for a 50% off your meal. I had the Speakeasy Burger. It was perfectly prepared, the burger portion size was a bit small, but then again my eyes are always bigger then my stomach. The pulled pork burger looked fantastic too. The Grizz Amber Ale on tap was absolutely fantastic. Price - Cheap and cheerful with the deal. Decent value even otherwise. Service - Friendly and courteous, Overall experience was good. We'd try and comeback here to try other stuff on the menu. Definitely worth a visit back just to try the amber ale again.
Thanks for your detailed review! We are very pleased to hear that we ticked so many boxes for you during your last visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Tue, 29 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 17 Sep 2015

(8)
Good food, good service and Great atmosphere !
Thanks for you review! So pleased to hear that you had such a great time with us during your last visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to Speakeasy in the not too distant future!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Wed, 30 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 17 Sep 2015

(7)
Great location and outdoor area is great
Thanks for reviewing your recent visit! We are really happy to hear that you had a great time. Our courtyard truly is a hidden gem! We look forward to seeing you again.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 17 Sep 2015

(6)
We ordered burgers and the big boy steak. The burgers were alright, but the steak was a bit tough. It was a 400g cut which came all sliced up, which was not what we were expecting. Not sure if that contributed to the meat being bit tough.
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Speakeasy. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the quality of the steak ordered. Serving the steak sliced shouldn't affect the quality or toughness. I will pass this onto our Kitchen Team so that they may improve our product. I hope that you will give us another opportunity again in the future.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 18 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 17 Sep 2015

(7)
Burgers were really good. Service was ok but had to do some self serve a couple of times. Overall would probably come back
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

About Speakeasy Kitchen Bar

Our lips are sealed Created as a nod to the speakeasy culture of illegal drinking dens set-up during America’s prohibition era, Speakeasy (now completely legal) hasn’t been much of a well-kept secret. This diner quickly sparked the interest of locals and businesses and it's packed out most nights. The small entrance – a three metre wide shopfront on Chapel Street – is a deceptive one. As you move through the space, a smart dining room and large outer-terrace reveal themselves. The menu has a Modern-Australian/American style vibe with plenty of choice. If you’re there with a group go for one of the sharing platters before ordering a solo chocolate mousse for dessert. The unspoken rule at Speakeasy that you must have a drink at all times - try their signature ‘Summer Speakeasy”: watermelon muddled with tromba blanco tequila & soho lychee liqueur, topped off with blueberries & lemonade to kickstart your night. Best Dish: any of the burgers.

Number of seats
85
Parking availability
Yes
Takeaway
Yes

Speakeasy Kitchen Bar Address

Google Map

Events

Speakeasy takes great pleasure in organising and being a part of your private or corporate function. Our function spaces are available night and day for casual or more formal settings with a choice of coursed menus or canapés for cocktail parties. Drink packages can be tailored to suit all occasions. The rear of Speakeasy houses a hidden open-air courtyard. This area is also available for functions; small areas can be booked or the entire courtyard can be reserved (min. spend applies). The area is equipped to cater for cold or rainy weather with retractable awnings and heaters.

Capacity
65 seated / 120 standing
Price
from $15 p.p.
Cuisine
Modern Australian
Location
South Yarra, VIC 3141
Best For
  • Conference
  • Private function
  • Business meeting
More info