.

93 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.1
93 reviews
Recommended
(8.3)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(8.2)
Atmosphere
(8.9)
Charlotte

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(6)
Good theme and nice atmosphere but service was slow and food a bit surprisingly bland
I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Speakeasy. I will pass on your feedback regarding the flavour of the food to our kitchen team so they make improvements were necessary. I will also review our service procedures to ensure our staff are providing the best service possible. I hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 25 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(5)
Good portobello burger but the pulled pork burger was too sweet and salty. Nice outdoor area but a little cold for winter...
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Speakeasy. I will be certain to pass on your feedback regarding the pulled pork burger to the kitchen so that they may review the recipe as required.I hope that you will give us another try in the future.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 25 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(8)
Great meal in a relaxed setting. Excellent service!
Thanks for your review! We're very pleased to hear that you had a great dinner! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 25 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(7)
With the Dimmi offer of 50% off, my family had a delicious great value feed. However, as it was fully booked inside, we found that it was quite cool to sit outside despite the heaters being on.
Thanks for visiting Speakeasy and taking the time to review us! I'm sorry that you were a little chilly in the courtyard last night. You can make a note when booking to request a table inside. We will always do our best to accommodate! Great to hear that you enjoyed dinner! Thanks again!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 25 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(7)
Good, chilled out dinning spot
We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Speakeasy! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 25 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(8)
Great cocktails
Thanks for your review! I'm so pleased to hear that you love our cocktails! We look forward to seeing you again.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 25 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(7)
Had the Wagyu Burger and the Mushroom burger and both were delicious! Service was average - waiter wasn't very attentive or friendly. Nevertheless it was an enjoyable meal overall.
Thanks for your review! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meals whilst dining with us recently. I am sorry that the service you received was lacklustre - I will be sure to follow this up with the front of house team so we can endeavour to provide the highest level of service at all times. I look forward to seeing you here at Speakeasy again in the future.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Tue, 29 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(9)
Really good food. Everything was cooked perfectly and the desserts were great. I recommend the Philly Cheese Steak :)
The Philly Cheese Steak certainly is a winner! So glad you loved it as much as we do! Thanks for your review - we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 25 Sep 2015
Kevin

dined on Tue, 22 Sep 2015

(7)
Food was decently priced at around $20 per menu item. Not something that I will go to for cheap eats
Thanks for visiting Speakeasy and for taking the time to review your visit. We're pleased to hear that you had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Wed, 23 Sep 2015

dined on Mon, 21 Sep 2015

(8)
Fantastic Philly Cheese Steak sandwich!
Thanks for your review! We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Speakeasy. The Philly Cheese Steak is one of my favourites too! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Tue, 22 Sep 2015
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7

About Speakeasy Kitchen Bar

Our lips are sealed Created as a nod to the speakeasy culture of illegal drinking dens set-up during America’s prohibition era, Speakeasy (now completely legal) hasn’t been much of a well-kept secret. This diner quickly sparked the interest of locals and businesses and it's packed out most nights. The small entrance – a three metre wide shopfront on Chapel Street – is a deceptive one. As you move through the space, a smart dining room and large outer-terrace reveal themselves. The menu has a Modern-Australian/American style vibe with plenty of choice. If you’re there with a group go for one of the sharing platters before ordering a solo chocolate mousse for dessert. The unspoken rule at Speakeasy that you must have a drink at all times - try their signature ‘Summer Speakeasy”: watermelon muddled with tromba blanco tequila & soho lychee liqueur, topped off with blueberries & lemonade to kickstart your night. Best Dish: any of the burgers.

Number of seats
85
Parking availability
Yes
Takeaway
Yes

Speakeasy Kitchen Bar Address

Google Map

Events

Speakeasy takes great pleasure in organising and being a part of your private or corporate function. Our function spaces are available night and day for casual or more formal settings with a choice of coursed menus or canapés for cocktail parties. Drink packages can be tailored to suit all occasions. The rear of Speakeasy houses a hidden open-air courtyard. This area is also available for functions; small areas can be booked or the entire courtyard can be reserved (min. spend applies). The area is equipped to cater for cold or rainy weather with retractable awnings and heaters.

Capacity
65 seated / 120 standing
Price
from $15 p.p.
Cuisine
Modern Australian
Location
South Yarra, VIC 3141
Best For
  • Conference
  • Private function
  • Business meeting
More info