.

98 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.1
98 reviews
Recommended
(8.3)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(8.2)
Atmosphere
(8.9)

dined on Fri, 30 Oct 2015

(7)
Everything was great, the service was a little slow however they were busy. Food was great, we had the chicken breast with sweet potato.
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Speakeasy! We hope that you enjoyed our new menu and we look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Thu, 5 Nov 2015

dined on Fri, 2 Oct 2015

(9)
Really enjoyed the atmosphere here, burgers were well priced and tasted delish! Had the Po bo :) and friend had the fried chicken which were both good choices
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Speakeasy! We're so pleased to hear that you had a great time! The Po Boy is very delicious! See you again soon!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Tue, 6 Oct 2015
Lisa

dined on Sat, 26 Sep 2015

(9)
Awesome beer garden! Relaxed atmosphere
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Speakeasy! We're so glad you enjoyed our beer garden - we certainly love it! It's a great space for dinner and drinks all year around! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Thu, 5 Nov 2015

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(7)
Went as apart of the half price eat night. Value and Food was great, would go again
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Speakeasy! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit - we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Tue, 29 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(9)
We had a deal for half price food and it made the meals so cheap. We enjoyed our dinner at Speakeasy and for a Thursday night it was very busy.
Thanks for your review! So pleased to hear that you had a great night - we look forward to seeing you again!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 25 Sep 2015
Charlotte

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(6)
Good theme and nice atmosphere but service was slow and food a bit surprisingly bland
I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Speakeasy. I will pass on your feedback regarding the flavour of the food to our kitchen team so they make improvements were necessary. I will also review our service procedures to ensure our staff are providing the best service possible. I hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 25 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(5)
Good portobello burger but the pulled pork burger was too sweet and salty. Nice outdoor area but a little cold for winter...
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Speakeasy. I will be certain to pass on your feedback regarding the pulled pork burger to the kitchen so that they may review the recipe as required.I hope that you will give us another try in the future.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 25 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(8)
Great meal in a relaxed setting. Excellent service!
Thanks for your review! We're very pleased to hear that you had a great dinner! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 25 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(7)
With the Dimmi offer of 50% off, my family had a delicious great value feed. However, as it was fully booked inside, we found that it was quite cool to sit outside despite the heaters being on.
Thanks for visiting Speakeasy and taking the time to review us! I'm sorry that you were a little chilly in the courtyard last night. You can make a note when booking to request a table inside. We will always do our best to accommodate! Great to hear that you enjoyed dinner! Thanks again!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 25 Sep 2015

dined on Thu, 24 Sep 2015

(7)
Good, chilled out dinning spot
We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Speakeasy! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to seeing you again!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Fri, 25 Sep 2015
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

About Speakeasy Kitchen Bar

Our lips are sealed Created as a nod to the speakeasy culture of illegal drinking dens set-up during America’s prohibition era, Speakeasy (now completely legal) hasn’t been much of a well-kept secret. This diner quickly sparked the interest of locals and businesses and it's packed out most nights. The small entrance – a three metre wide shopfront on Chapel Street – is a deceptive one. As you move through the space, a smart dining room and large outer-terrace reveal themselves. The menu has a Modern-Australian/American style vibe with plenty of choice. If you’re there with a group go for one of the sharing platters before ordering a solo chocolate mousse for dessert. The unspoken rule at Speakeasy that you must have a drink at all times - try their signature ‘Summer Speakeasy”: watermelon muddled with tromba blanco tequila & soho lychee liqueur, topped off with blueberries & lemonade to kickstart your night. Best Dish: any of the burgers.

Number of seats
85
Parking availability
Yes
Takeaway
Yes

Speakeasy Kitchen Bar Address

Google Map

Events

Speakeasy takes great pleasure in organising and being a part of your private or corporate function. Our function spaces are available night and day for casual or more formal settings with a choice of coursed menus or canapés for cocktail parties. Drink packages can be tailored to suit all occasions. The rear of Speakeasy houses a hidden open-air courtyard. This area is also available for functions; small areas can be booked or the entire courtyard can be reserved (min. spend applies). The area is equipped to cater for cold or rainy weather with retractable awnings and heaters.

Capacity
65 seated / 120 standing
Price
from $15 p.p.
Cuisine
Modern Australian
Location
South Yarra, VIC 3141
Best For
  • Conference
  • Private function
  • Business meeting
More info