.

98 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.1
98 reviews
Recommended
(8.3)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(8.2)
Atmosphere
(8.9)

dined on Sat, 9 Jan 2016

(9)
Food exceeded expectations!

dined on Sat, 19 Dec 2015

(10)
amazing service & food
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Speakeasy! We are so pleased to hear that you had a great time. Wishing you a very Merry Christmas and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Sun, 20 Dec 2015

dined on Sun, 13 Dec 2015

(10)
Beautiful outdoor space. Delicious meals. Will be back
Thanks for your review! So pleased to hear that you had a great time - we look forward to seeing you again!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Tue, 15 Dec 2015

dined on Sat, 12 Dec 2015

(7)
New menu was lovely. We had the fish of the day and the Jabalaya which was very tasty. Also had the Asian calamari which was crispy and tasty. Matcha lattes available!!
Thanks for your review! So pleased to hear that you had a great time - How good are Matcha Lattes?! We look forward to seeing you again!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Tue, 15 Dec 2015

dined on Sat, 12 Dec 2015

(10)
Food was sensational and the service lovely - chicken ribs incredible - can't wait to go back
Thanks for your review! So pleased to hear that you had a great time - we look forward to seeing you again!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Tue, 15 Dec 2015

dined on Fri, 4 Dec 2015

(9)
Great place to eat and catch up with fiends with a relaxing drink.
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Speakeasy - we are so glad to see that you had a great time! We look forward to seeing you again.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Tue, 8 Dec 2015

dined on Fri, 4 Dec 2015

(9)
Only complaint but not your fault - smokers in outside area. Bring on the smoking ban in VIC!! :)
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Speakeasy - we are so glad to see that you had a great time! We look forward to seeing you again.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Tue, 8 Dec 2015

dined on Sat, 28 Nov 2015

(10)
Great coffee and breakfast today!
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Speakeasy! We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Tue, 1 Dec 2015

dined on Sat, 14 Nov 2015

(3)
Food was over salty.
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Speakeasy. I am very sorry to hear that you had a less than perfect visit. I have passed your feedback regarding the food to the kitchen. I do not feel that you have experienced the level of service we are capable of providing and I hope that you will give us another opportunity. Please feel free to contact me directly to arrange your next visit.
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Tue, 17 Nov 2015

dined on Sat, 14 Nov 2015

(9)
Great atmosphere..
Thanks for your glowing review! We are very pleased to hear that you had a great time during your recent visit to Speakeasy. We are very much looking forward to seeing you again!
Jacqui Guzman, Speakeasy Kitchen Bar responded on Tue, 17 Nov 2015
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

About Speakeasy Kitchen Bar

Our lips are sealed Created as a nod to the speakeasy culture of illegal drinking dens set-up during America’s prohibition era, Speakeasy (now completely legal) hasn’t been much of a well-kept secret. This diner quickly sparked the interest of locals and businesses and it's packed out most nights. The small entrance – a three metre wide shopfront on Chapel Street – is a deceptive one. As you move through the space, a smart dining room and large outer-terrace reveal themselves. The menu has a Modern-Australian/American style vibe with plenty of choice. If you’re there with a group go for one of the sharing platters before ordering a solo chocolate mousse for dessert. The unspoken rule at Speakeasy that you must have a drink at all times - try their signature ‘Summer Speakeasy”: watermelon muddled with tromba blanco tequila & soho lychee liqueur, topped off with blueberries & lemonade to kickstart your night. Best Dish: any of the burgers.

Number of seats
85
Parking availability
Yes
Takeaway
Yes

Speakeasy Kitchen Bar Address

Google Map

Events

Speakeasy takes great pleasure in organising and being a part of your private or corporate function. Our function spaces are available night and day for casual or more formal settings with a choice of coursed menus or canapés for cocktail parties. Drink packages can be tailored to suit all occasions. The rear of Speakeasy houses a hidden open-air courtyard. This area is also available for functions; small areas can be booked or the entire courtyard can be reserved (min. spend applies). The area is equipped to cater for cold or rainy weather with retractable awnings and heaters.

Capacity
65 seated / 120 standing
Price
from $15 p.p.
Cuisine
Modern Australian
Location
South Yarra, VIC 3141
Best For
  • Conference
  • Private function
  • Business meeting
More info