.

30% off food when you book on Dimmi

Exclusive to Dimmi30% off food when you book at South Wharf Meat Market at specially marked times. Don’t miss out, limited availability.

30% off food

Dinner Sun-Thu
Lunch Sun-Thu

386 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8
386 reviews
Recommended
(8.1)
Food
(8.0)
Service
(7.9)
Value for money
(7.7)
Atmosphere
(8.2)

dined on Sat, 14 Jul 2018

(7)
Service was very slow and we waited an hour for the food although the restaurant wasn’t crowded

dined on Wed, 11 Jul 2018

(9)
Excellent food and service, definitely back for family dinner again.

dined on Wed, 11 Jul 2018

(5)
The staff were friendly but there was some inconsistency with how they approached the table. After ordering, we were told multiple times that certain items weren't available and had to reorder. This was okay, but different waiters would come up and be confused as to what was going on which resulted in us having to explain the situation again and again. The charcuterie board, cheese and wine were amazing as well as the salmon but the lamb tasted a little burnt. The cheesecake we ordered did not specify it had nuts, however it did. Slightly careless on my part not to ask but I'm allergic to nuts and it caused discomfort. The waitress was apologetic and removed the wine from the bill which was nice, but certain things about this experience make me sceptical about returning.

dined on Mon, 9 Jul 2018

(4)
First time dining there. Sorry to see the short of floor staff running around forgetting orders! No free bread rolls & butter with main course we had to pay for it. We ordered bread rolls & butter for $4 together with entrees and we finished our entrees and our bread hasn’t arrived! We had to ask twice to remind the waitress as she kept forgetting. Eventually the bread arrived which consist of 2 tiny mini round rolls & one se be of butter & that’s $4! After main we asked for desert menu, some warm water which the waitress kindly obliged, however nothing to be seen & we had to keep chasing them & remind them to bring the desert menu, after ordering desert, waited almost 30min but nothing arrived, we asked another waiter who told us the desert wasn’t put thru yet! Again aked for a share cutlery for the desert but never arrive, I had to go personally to help myself with the cutlery, get my own bill. Nice restaurant & beatifully decorates but pity the service is lacking as everyone works under the pump & only 2 chefs cooking everything for the entire restaurant! If the boss is hoping to save some $$ from labour the service level is going to be compromised unfortunately! Will I be back? Absolutely NO!!

dined on Sun, 8 Jul 2018

(7)
food - small serving atmosphere - very good
Michael

dined on Sat, 7 Jul 2018

(5)
If not for the 50% off food special would have been even more disappointed. Having the oysters to start - awesome...as were the other entrees. The "common" calamari one of the best I've had. Sadly the fish was the nicest of the Meat. I asked twice if I ordered my $65 500gm porterhouse medium rare, it would be medium rare...they even spend half a page in the menu explaining the cooking temperature. Guess what - it was closer to medium well. No offer to replace. Sadly, just another eatery along this expensive SouthBank/Wharf area that cant get an expensive steak cooked right. Better stick to the suburbs where parking is free.

dined on Wed, 4 Jul 2018

(9)
Very enjoyable meal, the ribs were outstanding
stefan

dined on Wed, 4 Jul 2018

(6)
need to improve service otherwise steaks are great
stefan

dined on Tue, 3 Jul 2018

(5)
We are regulars in The Meat Market and food is always great, meat cuts are lovely and nicely cooked. Major disappointment last night though. Service was a major let down, for a restaurant where the steak starts at $60 you cannot afford the waiter to: try to substitute the wine you ordered for a cheaper version, forget you ordered two different mains, not once come round to check whether you need anything or whether everything is fine. Also it is not acceptable to wait 30 minutes for a steak. I know they employ a lot of working visa holiday makers but surely at these prices they should be able to be more selective in their staff choice.

dined on Mon, 2 Jul 2018

(8)
Attentive and friendly service. Steak was delicious and perfectly cooked. Desserts were also a highlight. Would definitely return.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

1.2kg TomaHawk Steak $95pp

1.2kg TomaHawk Steak with side & 500ml carafe of St.Hallets butchers cart shiraz $85. Suitable for 2 people to share or take on the challenge yourself! Not valid with another offer.
When
01 Dec 2016 - 01 Dec 2018
Thu 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
When
01 Dec 2016 - 01 Dec 2018
Thu 5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Cape to Coast. Chef's Selection for 2 w wine $84

Chef’s selection for two: including Cape Grim Beef Cuts, pan seared Hokkaido Scallops, bacon and cream sauce, Morton Bay Bugs, garlic butter, Natural Oysters from the raw bar, inclusive of wine for $84
Min. people
2
Max. people
2
When
26 Jun 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
Tue 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Beef Ribs platter for two with beer $65

Hot and smokey Flinders Island Beef Ribs platter for two, matched with James Squire ‘Jack of Spades’ porter for $65 inclusive of beer
When
26 Jun 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
Wed 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Slow braised chef’s special w wine $42

Rotating slow braised chef’s special with matching wine for $42
When
26 Jun 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
Mon 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Express Lunch one course inc. drink $20

Express Lunch - One Course $20, Two Courses $29, Three Courses $34. Includes a glass of house wine, pot of beer or soft drink
When
26 Jun 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

RIVERSIDE LUNCH sharing platter for two ~ $36

LUNCH RIVERSIDE Saturday & Sunday from noon to 3pm sharing platter for two ~ $36 char grilled Basque style CHICKEN BITES salt and pepper CALAMARI with wild rocket and aioli sautéed BROCOLINNI with salsa verde and Persian feta grilled POLENTA with peppered pecorino and black truffle oil crispy sourdough and caponata BRUSCHETTA with basil oil
When
23 Jul 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
Sun, Sat 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Father's Day

1/2 price Wagyu & Penfold's for Dad on Father's Day. Grab a Wagyu steak and a bottle of Penfolds 50% Must book special offer through website. Limit of one steak and one bottle per dad.
When
02 Sep 2018
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About South Wharf Meat Market

Dedicated to the flavours of an open flame grill, Meat Market is the ideal spot to sample the best meats Victoria has to offer. Meat Market offers pasture fed beef and lamb from some of Australia’s best ethical producers, as well as locally sourced chicken and seafood. The open kitchen means guests can get up close to the culinary action before enjoying some of the best steak in Melbourne.

South Wharf Meat Market Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

2.6