.

1232 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.4
1232 reviews
Recommended
(8.7)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(7.7)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Thu, 20 Sep 2018

(3)
Very overpriced for Mexican and small portions which is really unusual for good Mexican.it was tasty food but $48 for a full side of ribs when it said full- I’d hate to see the small serve!! Service was hard to get and wine was served after we’d finished which at these prices you expect top service. My son had the ribs we had a tiny gucamole and I had 2 small tacos - 4 glasses of red and the bill was $120!! Not good value sorry!!
Katherine P

dined on Sat, 8 Sep 2018

(6)
Dined on Saturday night our experience was mostly okay. The disappointing factors were that the first drinks took forever to come, all the food came at once which was super annoying because were eating cold tacos and fries 15mins in!! And last there were 2 big cockroaches crawling down the wall during dinner right next to the couple next to us! Not a pleasant experience to add to your eating cold tacos. Otherwise the wait staff were lovely.

dined on Fri, 7 Sep 2018

(6)
Food was so so but great atmosphere.

dined on Sat, 1 Sep 2018

(2)
Arrived and was advised we would be looked after by Annie! Oh dear. She took ages to come and serve us, drinks took a long time after ordering, food took a long time too. Tacos were cold when they arrived and Annie advised they some times sat at the pass for a long time! Second and third food items took forever and Annie asked us if we had all our food!! No - still waiting :( and don't you know we haven't?? Ordered another drink, never came so in the end advised Annie to please cancel the drink. The order had never made it to the bar as I could see when she went to look for the tab at the bar it wasn't there. Won't go back, first and last time :( Food was ordinary and the fish taco could have been anything - no real sign of fish. Very disappointing.
Emma

dined on Sat, 1 Sep 2018

(9)
The bottomless brunch was fantastic, great food, great service!

dined on Fri, 31 Aug 2018

(9)
Great interior and very fun vibe - just very loud so needed to raise my voice to be heard. No big deal. The food was great. Ordered the tacos. Would visit again! Thank you.
Mel

dined on Thu, 30 Aug 2018

(8)
Great food and good for big groups with easy banquet menu

dined on Wed, 29 Aug 2018

(9)
Great spot for group lunches and events

dined on Sat, 25 Aug 2018

(9)
Great service and the owner was lovely! The rose lunch was worth the money

dined on Tue, 21 Aug 2018

(8)
The drinks are very expensive.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

The Full Gringo Feast $45pp (Groups of 10+)

MENU Guacamole, black corn tortilla chips (Vegan, GF) Croquettes, jalapeno, corn, cheese, preserved lemon mayo (V) Tuna Ceviche, peas, aji amarillo, lime, blue corn tortillas (GF, DF) Charred miso broccolini, chilli chickpeas, almonds, yoghurt (V, GF) Choice of taco each Choice of 3 meats for the table (GF, DF) Choice of 2 sides for the table *min. 4 people.* ~ *Please Note: Menus are subject to change seasonally. We will be in contact with you should this take place.* ~ We request that you provide your credit card details as a guarantee. If you fail to show up, numbers decrease or cancel without at least 24 hours notice, you may be charged a no-show fee.
Min. people
10
When
11 May 2017 - 21 Feb 2020
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Bottomless Rose Lunch $65pp (4ppl) - Terrace

Please note that this promotion is a 2 hour beverage package. Unlimited rosé or rosé sangria *for 2 hours* plus the below banquet. Shoestring fries, Valentina chilli mayo (v/gf) Choice of taco (steak/ fish/ haloumi) Jalapeño, cheese & corn croquettes, roast lemon mayo (v) Kingfish ceviche, lime, coriander, sweet corn, kiss peppers, cucumber, black corn tortillas (gf/df) Jerk chicken salad, puffed black rice, broad beans, coriander, pomegranate, pickled white onion (gf/df) We request that you provide your credit card details as a guarantee. If you fail to show up, numbers decrease or cancel without at least 24 hours notice, you may be charged a no-show fee of $20pp. These menus are subject to change with seasonal menu updates but all bookings will be notified of this.
Min. people
4
When
13 Jun 2017 - 31 Dec 2018
Sun, Fri, Sat 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Bottomless Rose Lunch $65pp (4ppl) - Inside

Please note that this promotion is a 2 hour beverage package. Unlimited rosé or rosé sangria *for 2 hours* plus the below banquet: Shoestring fries, Valentina chilli mayo (v/gf) Choice of taco (steak/ fish/ haloumi) Jalapeño, cheese & corn croquettes, roast lemon mayo (v) Kingfish ceviche, lime, coriander, sweet corn, kiss peppers, cucumber, black corn tortillas (gf/df) Jerk chicken salad, puffed black rice, broad beans, coriander, pomegranate, pickled white onion (gf/df) These menus are subject to change with seasonal menu updates but all bookings will be notified of this.
Min. people
4
When
13 Jun 2017 - 31 Dec 2018
Sun, Fri, Sat 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About SoCal Neutral Bay

SoCal, SoCool. With its beachy feel and zippy fare we wonder if SoCal should be renamed SoCool. Serious food for thought. If you thought Sydney had reached saturation point with hotdogs, sliders, tacos and margaritas - think again. The American food craze is far from over. SoCal is just another easy breezy eatery that has modernised and rehashed the American style cuisine to suit Aussie palates. Owners Ben Carroll and Hamish Watts have taken inspiration from the Southern Californian coastline for their Neutral Bay haunt where it's all about flash tropical cocktails and fresh, healthy food with a strong Mexican influence. This sandy, sorbet-coloured beach oasis is just a hop skip and a jump away from Military Road and is delighting many northshore locals with delicious dishes and to die for cocktails. The Salted Caramel Espresso Martini’s might jump out at you from the menu (it certainly did for us) but the Mexican Margaritas and Mezcal cocktails are what you want to be sipping on, we’re spruiking them as No.1 and No.2 cocktails on the menu - easily. Best dish: kingfish ceviche

SoCal Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

3.5/5