.

1232 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.4
1232 reviews
Recommended
(8.7)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(7.7)
Atmosphere
(8.6)
Isabella

dined on Fri, 18 May 2018

(9)
Great food. The tacos are reasonably sized though not enough that you don’t need a few of them. It can become quite expensive very quickly if you’ve got enough of an appetite however the tacos were good enough that the price is a little more justified ($6 for one)

dined on Thu, 17 May 2018

(8)
Love SoCal! It's a great spot for casual dining and the food is consistently fantastic. One thing though - it can get really noisy so if you're looking for a catch up with good conversation, go during the weekend when it's a bit quieter.

dined on Mon, 12 Nov 2018

(5)
Nice hang out but limited food menu and overpriced for what you get.

dined on Sat, 10 Nov 2018

(9)
Great wait staff. We went for the bottomless rose lunch and they were always ready to refill the jugs of sangria and tortilla and guacamole.
Lynn Baeyens

dined on Tue, 6 Nov 2018

(8)
Very nice tacos and delicious cocktails

dined on Sat, 3 Nov 2018

(8)
Fun brunch at SoCal! Wish it were longer with more food and better booze, but still a fun start to Saturday.

dined on Thu, 1 Nov 2018

(9)
Great food, cocktails and vibe. A real neighbourhood gem!

dined on Sat, 27 Oct 2018

(8)
good food and great atmosphere
Alice Tran

dined on Sat, 27 Oct 2018

(10)
We enjoyed a Saturday bottomless rosé set lunch at SoCal this weekend and absolutely loved it. Our waiter was so friendly and even made sure to let us know upon arrival that the restaurant received our note about one of the guests being pregnant (and arranged for baby-friendly food options and mocktails in place of cocktails). We booked a table on the terrace, and were lucky enough to be there on a beautiful sunny day. It was a little cool on the shade, but when a table freed up in the sun our waiter made it possible for us to swap tables to enjoy the 27 degree sunshine for an hour or so until the next booking arrived. Rosé and sangria on tap was great! And the food was DELICIOUS! We did not expect each dish to be so yummy. Ceviche, tacos, charred chicken coriander salad, and even the black corn chips with guacamole were all delicious!!! Definitely recommend!

dined on Sun, 21 Oct 2018

(8)
Epic food, great cocktails and nice vibes, not too fancy but fancy enough for a date
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

The Full Gringo Feast $45pp (Groups of 10+)

MENU Guacamole, black corn tortilla chips (Vegan, GF) Croquettes, jalapeno, corn, cheese, preserved lemon mayo (V) Tuna Ceviche, peas, aji amarillo, lime, blue corn tortillas (GF, DF) Charred miso broccolini, chilli chickpeas, almonds, yoghurt (V, GF) Choice of taco each Choice of 3 meats for the table (GF, DF) Choice of 2 sides for the table *min. 4 people.* ~ *Please Note: Menus are subject to change seasonally. We will be in contact with you should this take place.* ~ We request that you provide your credit card details as a guarantee. If you fail to show up, numbers decrease or cancel without at least 24 hours notice, you may be charged a no-show fee.
Min. people
10
When
11 May 2017 - 21 Feb 2020
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Bottomless Rose Lunch $65pp (4ppl) - Terrace

Please note that this promotion is a 2 hour beverage package. Unlimited rosé or rosé sangria *for 2 hours* plus the below banquet. Shoestring fries, Valentina chilli mayo (v/gf) Choice of taco (steak/ fish/ haloumi) Jalapeño, cheese & corn croquettes, roast lemon mayo (v) Kingfish ceviche, lime, coriander, sweet corn, kiss peppers, cucumber, black corn tortillas (gf/df) Jerk chicken salad, puffed black rice, broad beans, coriander, pomegranate, pickled white onion (gf/df) We request that you provide your credit card details as a guarantee. If you fail to show up, numbers decrease or cancel without at least 24 hours notice, you may be charged a no-show fee of $20pp. These menus are subject to change with seasonal menu updates but all bookings will be notified of this.
Min. people
4
When
13 Jun 2017 - 31 Dec 2018
Sun, Fri, Sat 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Bottomless Rose Lunch $65pp (4ppl) - Inside

Please note that this promotion is a 2 hour beverage package. Unlimited rosé or rosé sangria *for 2 hours* plus the below banquet: Shoestring fries, Valentina chilli mayo (v/gf) Choice of taco (steak/ fish/ haloumi) Jalapeño, cheese & corn croquettes, roast lemon mayo (v) Kingfish ceviche, lime, coriander, sweet corn, kiss peppers, cucumber, black corn tortillas (gf/df) Jerk chicken salad, puffed black rice, broad beans, coriander, pomegranate, pickled white onion (gf/df) These menus are subject to change with seasonal menu updates but all bookings will be notified of this.
Min. people
4
When
13 Jun 2017 - 31 Dec 2018
Sun, Fri, Sat 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About SoCal Neutral Bay

SoCal, SoCool. With its beachy feel and zippy fare we wonder if SoCal should be renamed SoCool. Serious food for thought. If you thought Sydney had reached saturation point with hotdogs, sliders, tacos and margaritas - think again. The American food craze is far from over. SoCal is just another easy breezy eatery that has modernised and rehashed the American style cuisine to suit Aussie palates. Owners Ben Carroll and Hamish Watts have taken inspiration from the Southern Californian coastline for their Neutral Bay haunt where it's all about flash tropical cocktails and fresh, healthy food with a strong Mexican influence. This sandy, sorbet-coloured beach oasis is just a hop skip and a jump away from Military Road and is delighting many northshore locals with delicious dishes and to die for cocktails. The Salted Caramel Espresso Martini’s might jump out at you from the menu (it certainly did for us) but the Mexican Margaritas and Mezcal cocktails are what you want to be sipping on, we’re spruiking them as No.1 and No.2 cocktails on the menu - easily. Best dish: kingfish ceviche

SoCal Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

3.5/5