.

4558 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.1
4558 reviews
Recommended
(8.6)
Food
(8.1)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(7.5)
Atmosphere
(7.9)
Eriks Velins

dined on Sat, 7 Apr 2018

(9)
Delighted to see a new menu!

dined on Fri, 6 Apr 2018

(6)
Well-located for pre-theatre dining but would not choose to eat here otherwise as cost is not commensurate with quality of dining experience.
Christine

dined on Thu, 5 Apr 2018

(8)
Great pre theatre venue.

dined on Thu, 5 Apr 2018

(9)
Great for pre theatre dinner, really enjoyed the pasta special of the day.
Carol

dined on Wed, 4 Apr 2018

(3)
I rarely write bad reviews, but I'm sad to say the only reason to dine at Script is for convenience. And it is convenient when off to a MTC show. Yes, the food is always good, but that's about it. The waiting staff are obviously there for the $, because they're not enjoying it. The welcome was lack lustre at best. We had to ask for a glass of wine three times and then the wrong order was delivered. I feel sorry for the chef that is turning out good food. It's a good eg. that it's not just about food.

dined on Tue, 3 Apr 2018

(6)
I don't know... it's still not living up to my expectations. The autumn menu looks ok. I had duck lasagna and some of the lasagna was quite hard.. in sort of dried out. It's very convenient when going to the theatre, but value for money ?

dined on Tue, 3 Apr 2018

(10)
New menu offers a good selection. Sardines were fabulous. Friendly and attentive service. Suggest starters be renamed small plates to add flexibility of choice, particularly for pre theatre.

dined on Mon, 2 Apr 2018

(6)
Three meals were very tasty and up to scratch however one of the party found the marinara dish decidedly not what she expected. She did complain to the wait staff who took it on board and said she would pass the comments on to the chef!? ?
Rosalind

dined on Mon, 2 Apr 2018

(8)
Offering more menu changes nowadays which is great for frequent diners who come here before the theatre. Staff always get you to the show on time.
Peter Field

dined on Thu, 29 Mar 2018

(8)
Excellent before theatre
page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

About Script Bar & Bistro

The perfect pre theatre show... Picture this: a glass of beautiful red, perfectly cooked steak and panoramic views of Southbank Boulevard. Sound picture perfect? That’s exactly what you’re in for when you dine at Script Bar & Bistro, an Italian style bistro located in the heart of Melbourne's arts precinct at Southbank. Nestled between the award winning Southbank Theatre (Melbourne Theatre Company) and the critically acclaimed Melbourne Recital Centre, Script is a perfect pre theatre destination for those looking for a good feed before a great show. Whether you’re dining solo or in a group, you will be well taken care of at Script Bar & Bistro. Best dish: Scotch Fillet

Script Bar & Bistro Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

70
4/5