.

80 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
80 reviews
Recommended
(8.9)
Food
(8.9)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(8.1)
Atmosphere
(8.5)

dined on Tue, 2 Jan 2018

(10)
We came to port Douglas for 8 nights. First 5 we went to other establishments and we realised this place isn’t a foodie area. Everywhere we ate food was below average. I know what your thinking other people give good reviews but I have travelled the world and eaten in 3 Michelin and 2 Michelin star restaurants. But I must say that we went to Sassi and was most impressed. Service was good and food was home style food but spectacular. Booked it for dinner for rest of our stay.

dined on Tue, 26 Dec 2017

(10)
Friendly staff and great food!

dined on Sat, 9 Dec 2017

(9)
Beautiful food.
Geoff

dined on Sat, 25 Nov 2017

(9)
Great al fresco Italian food

dined on Tue, 24 Oct 2017

(10)
Loved the authentic Italian service, the singing waiter and wonderful selection of food. The restaurant has lovely ambience to it, and nice views. Definitely recommended.

dined on Sat, 21 Oct 2017

(9)
Very good food in a great location.

dined on Thu, 19 Oct 2017

(8)
Popped in for an impromptu dinner. The staff were attentive and helpful. Beautiful fresh oysters and scampi and our pastas were delicious.

dined on Sun, 15 Oct 2017

(7)
Good food but not so good service. Food took long and I had to walk to the front to pay after asking for the bill twice

dined on Sun, 8 Oct 2017

(9)
The food is wonderful and so was the staff.

dined on Wed, 4 Oct 2017

(4)
The portions were unbelievably stingy. Two courses and we left hungry! They were unapologetic about the size of the meals $35 for a pasta that was a cupful!?, the lack of dressing on the salad, no bread (you can't even pay extra for some!?) low grade ingredients eg buffalo motzarella was absolutely not buffalo or very low grade if it was. It was over hyped, and a complete waste of money. Not a foodie restaurant.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

About Sassi Cucina + Bar

All about the taste! Sassi Cucina + Bar delivers the best of Italy’s flavours right in Port Douglas. Either sit outside and dine underneath the stars amongst the bougainvillea or inside at the bar, Sassi has something for everyone. This spot is perfect for drinks with friends over an Italian feast or casual lunches. You’ll find it impossible to go past the delightful flavours of the spaghetti con le vongole (spaghetti with clams) or the costola di manzo (Black angus on the bone, salt and pepper crusted, char grilled, served with anchovy and rosemary butter). With a range of wines to complement each dish, your taste buds will be thanking you for the gift. Best Dish: Fritelli di zucchine- zucchini fritters with mint and mayonnaise.

Sassi Cucina + Bar Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14.5/20