.

2404 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
2404 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.9)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Tue, 1 Aug 2017

(9)
This is an awesome restaurant for meat lovers. very limited options for vegetarians so if you have one in your group, i'd advise going elsewhere.
Cathy

dined on Mon, 31 Jul 2017

(10)
Excellent and unforgettable food as always. Simply love love love this place! My boyfriend and his family were super impressed. It was their first time 😊

dined on Sat, 29 Jul 2017

(8)
First visit to San Telmo and loved it. A secret Melbourne place. Loved the wine list and unashamedly could order just meat with nothing else.

dined on Fri, 28 Jul 2017

(2)
Waited for 40mins and the steak was tough and chewy. The waitress was unhelpful as it was our first time. We were looking for suggestions from the waitress and she wasn't interested. For the price the restaurant charges, we would expect a little bit of service and quality.

dined on Fri, 28 Jul 2017

(8)
Service tremendous. Food great. Only suggestion - coffee should be hot not just warm

dined on Thu, 27 Jul 2017

(9)
Great food and atmosphere. The restaurant can be quite loud but that didn't bother us.

dined on Tue, 25 Jul 2017

(9)
Very Melbourne being located in a lane way and the quality of the food, particularly the steak, was exceptional. Wine list focused on a broad range of Argentinian wines.

dined on Sat, 22 Jul 2017

(9)
Great food, great service. Couldn't fault anything. A really great way to spend an evening.

dined on Sat, 22 Jul 2017

(10)
Great service, lively atmosphere and delicious food!! Will definitely go back :)

dined on Sun, 16 Jul 2017

(10)
Great service and accommodated our quick meal requirements so we could get to the theatre 10/10
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

Specials

BBQ Masterclass with Stephen Clark

Learn from the most knowledgeable Parillero (Barbequer) in town. If you have dined at San Telmo you know chef Stephen Clark is a mean griller. He will conduct an exclusive class on how to cook the perfect steak at home. Giving us his secrets on how he does it at San Telmo and teaching you how to take those skills to you home bbq. He will also be talking about where to find the best quality meat in Melbourne and what to look for. Enjoy lunch based on what you have learnt in the class. Inclusive of 3 courses, a glass of beer and a glass of Argentinian Malbec red wine. Tickets for this event are very limited so get in quick and don’t miss out. ~Price: $130pp ~Time: 2pm - 4pm ~Recipes included
When
19 Aug 2017
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
16 Sep 2017
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About San Telmo

Sensory pleasure at San Telmo... Named after the Parker brothers’ (the owners) favourite neighbourhood in Buenos Aires, San Telmo is a rustic, bohemian eatery that’s filled with antiques and unique one off finds that the three gringos (Parker brothers) collected on their travels around BA. The all day restaurant and bar offers plenty of sensory pleasures, from sight to smell, and of course, taste, it pleases all three. Soft leather detailing like the leather placemats (feel free to touch - stroke - whatever) and fat timber slab tables give this place a real edge. But one that’s warm and inviting, not harsh and cold. With tasty Argentinian dishes such as the taut-skinned chorizo and the ''tira de asado'' (beef short ribs) taste buds will be equally impressed as your eyes. Wash your grub down with the all-Argy wine list that and you’ll be one happy diner. Best dish: taut-skinned chorizo

San Telmo Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14.5/20
81
3.5/5
4/5