.

2594 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
2594 reviews
Recommended
(9.1)
Food
(8.9)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Mon, 5 Mar 2018

(10)
Always the best place to go for the most delicious Argentinian steak cooked to perfection! Great service from the knowledgeable staff as well.
Hola Michael, Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us! You might come back again soon for some more steak and a few Malbecs! Have a great day! The team at San Telmo
Restaurant San Telmo responded on Tue, 6 Mar 2018

dined on Thu, 22 Feb 2018

(9)
Excellent food and service. A little bit of South America in Melbourne.
Hola Teresa, Thank you so much for the lovely review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us at San Telmo. We hope to see you again soon, Have a great day The team at San Telmo
Restaurant San Telmo responded on Mon, 26 Feb 2018

dined on Sun, 18 Feb 2018

(7)
We liked it. Our (Chilian) waitress was busy but we ve got her attention. And she did her best to make us feel good. Thank you!
Hola Ilanit, Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your Sunday night with us. Our wait staff work extra hard when its busy, glad to hear that we were able to look after you during the rush. Have a great day, we hope to see you again soon. The team at San Telmo
Restaurant San Telmo responded on Mon, 26 Feb 2018

dined on Sun, 4 Feb 2018

(9)
Best Argentinian in Melbourne! Everything was delicious. The two starters (Provoleta & Fried broccoli), 3 entree's (Chorizo, Mejilla de Cerdo & Tira de asado) and a side (Tomate). We were so full, we had to skip dessert! Definitely worth going back to try the rest of the menu.
Hola David, Thank you so much for your lovely review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us. You must come back again soon and try our steak, it's the best in Melbourne! Have a great day, The team at San Telmo
Restaurant San Telmo responded on Wed, 7 Feb 2018

dined on Fri, 2 Feb 2018

(8)
Good selection of meats and veg cooked well in Argentinian woodfire. Great tastes and variety.

dined on Tue, 23 Jan 2018

(9)
Visited for my boyfriend's 25th birthday. One of the best restaurant meals we have had in a very long time. Beautiful authentic Argentine empanadas, lamb steak cooked and seasoned to perfection and an amazing accompaniment of cauliflower with manchego cream. Worth the money

dined on Tue, 23 Jan 2018

(9)
I found the overall experience great but felt that there was overkill on the salt on some food. Spoilt the underlining flavours

dined on Sun, 21 Jan 2018

(8)
Loved the atmosphere. Definitely get the corn and cheese empanadas. Steak was beautifully cooked. The hazelnut carrots with goats cheese are a beautiful accompaniment!
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

BBQ Masterclass with Stephen Clark

Learn from the most knowledgeable Parillero (Barbequer) in town. If you have dined at San Telmo you know chef Stephen Clark is a mean griller. He will conduct an exclusive class on how to cook the perfect steak at home. Giving us his secrets on how he does it at San Telmo and teaching you how to take those skills to you home bbq. He will also be talking about where to find the best quality meat in Melbourne and what to look for. Enjoy lunch based on what you have learnt in the class. Inclusive of 3 courses, a glass of beer and a glass of Argentinian Malbec red wine. Tickets for this event are very limited so get in quick and don’t miss out. ~Price: $130pp ~Time: 2pm - 4pm ~Recipes included
When
11 Mar 2017
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
18 Mar 2017
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
08 Apr 2017
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
13 May 2017
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
17 Jun 2017
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
15 Jul 2017
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
19 Aug 2017
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
16 Sep 2017
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
21 Oct 2017
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
18 Nov 2017
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
25 Nov 2017
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
17 Feb 2018
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
21 Feb 2018
Wed 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
17 Mar 2018
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
21 Mar 2018
Wed 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
21 Apr 2018
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
19 May 2018
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
When
16 Jun 2018
Sat 2:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About San Telmo

Sensory pleasure at San Telmo... Named after the Parker brothers’ (the owners) favourite neighbourhood in Buenos Aires, San Telmo is a rustic, bohemian eatery that’s filled with antiques and unique one off finds that the three gringos (Parker brothers) collected on their travels around BA. The all day restaurant and bar offers plenty of sensory pleasures, from sight to smell, and of course, taste, it pleases all three. Soft leather detailing like the leather placemats (feel free to touch - stroke - whatever) and fat timber slab tables give this place a real edge. But one that’s warm and inviting, not harsh and cold. With tasty Argentinian dishes such as the taut-skinned chorizo and the ''tira de asado'' (beef short ribs) taste buds will be equally impressed as your eyes. Wash your grub down with the all-Argy wine list that and you’ll be one happy diner. Best dish: taut-skinned chorizo

San Telmo Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14.5/20
81
3.5/5
4/5