.

179 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.3
179 reviews
Recommended
(8.5)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(7.5)
Atmosphere
(8.2)

dined on Thu, 1 Mar 2018

(6)
Good restaurant, good menu, the service can be improved drastically. I left note that was my birthday and the menu we choosed and they brought us the menu at the table (?) plus didn’t organise anything to say happy birthday. Very disappointed, much cheaper restaurants make you feel more welcomed!

dined on Wed, 28 Feb 2018

(8)
Great place for a quiet, intimate dinner date. Small, dim lit room with an open kitchen and blinds to hide everything from the outside. Service was good - most were friendly to us. Food was delicious; flavours are innovative and portions were perfect. Only let down were the oysters we had as starters. Oysters here were priced higher than the average you see in other restaurants for each, but that wouldn't have mattered if the quality and flavours lived up to its value. Unfortunately they didn't taste as fresh as I expected and they all varied in size. One I had in particular was barely half the size of the full grown oyster opposite it on the plate. It was barely an oyster, which was disappointing. Everything else was enjoyable - the highlight dish was the compressed peach dessert served with crumble, peach gel, and whipped cream cheese.
Georgia

dined on Sat, 24 Feb 2018

(8)
Delicious food; good wine list. But service is patchy. Friendly but had to ask for my wine again after watching the bar staff chatting and cleaning glasses for 15 minutes. And if you won’t allow water bottles on the table for self service you need to watch when the glasses are empty- waitresses walking back and forth past tables with empty hands is not a good look. It’s tedious needing to ask over and over. Also why can’t you offer vegetables as sides? Seems essential to a well rounded meal is they aren’t provided with the main. Chips don’t count. Especially lacking on a menu that only offers one vegetable based entree and main.

dined on Wed, 21 Feb 2018

(10)
Fantastic food and service

dined on Fri, 16 Feb 2018

(2)
Not worth the wait or the cost. Went 7-course degus, had to wait over 50 minutes between one of the courses. Was given bread at the start, and bread/butter were taken away after we finished our slice without asking if we wanted more. All dishes in our opinion lacked salt, but no salt/pepper on the tables to adjust. First 3 courses were essentially cold dishes, but took 2 hours to come out to the table. Taste was otherwise average and nothing special I’d expect of a hatted restaurant.

dined on Fri, 2 Feb 2018

(7)
Interesting to sit at the bar area facing the kitchen to watch the chefs do their thing. It does get a bit hot there though.

dined on Tue, 30 Jan 2018

(9)
Great food and service.

dined on Sat, 27 Jan 2018

(10)
Fantastic Service & Amazing Food!
Andy Pham

dined on Thu, 25 Jan 2018

(9)
It was perfect, thank you.
page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

About Saint Crispin

Saintly Saint Crispin Located in a former cobbler's workshop originally built in 1865, Saint Crispin is in the heart of Collingwood. "Food philosophy" Saint Crispin is Scott Pickett's second of four eating establishments. As well as Saint Crispin, Scott also owns Northcote's two-hatted Estelle by Scott Pickett (ESP), Estelle Bistro and Pickett's Deli & Rotisserie at Melbourne's iconic The Queen Victoria Market. Scott Pickett is the essence of Australian hospitality. His generosity of spirit and abundant personality is at the core of his establishments. His understanding of seasonality and respect for Australian growers and producers is testament to his origins. Executive chef Stuart McVeigh has recently joined the Saint Crispin team after selling his Ascot Vale business, Union Food and Wine. Pickett and McVeigh have a long work history together starting with their time at The Square in London. His Melbourne appointments have included Sofitel's No35 Restaurant, The Botanical and Fenix before opening his own business in 2013. Best dish: Snap, Crackle and Pop

Saint Crispin Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

4/5
4/5
7/10