.

938 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
938 reviews
Recommended
(9.0)
Food
(8.7)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.8)
Jeffrey Strickson

dined on Fri, 27 Jan 2017

(2)
My duck confit was over cooked and tough I had trouble cutting it with a knife. My Wife's burramundi was was under cooked boarding on raw. My Daughters beef was well cooked however the sauce for the want of a better word made the meal inedible. I would like to state that I have been going to the Reef Restaurant for over 8 years and up until the 27 January 2017 The meals have been good. However I can only assume that there is a new cook in the kitchen and not the Chef that was there before. As for the service I prefer to have my coffee served after my dessert not before. Would I return to this restaurant in a word no would I recommend this restaurant again no. I would need to be assured that there was someone in the kitchen that could cook. Sad as I have had good memories at the Reef.

dined on Sun, 22 Jan 2017

(9)
A fabulous night!

dined on Sat, 21 Jan 2017

(10)
Beautiful setting, Beautifully surrounds, delicious food, good selection of wines, great service - what more can one ask for? Reef is definitely on my list now.
Karen

dined on Sat, 14 Jan 2017

(10)
Being in Terrigal, which is a very tourist area, I did expect this to be mediocre. However, I was pleasantly surprised by what a gem this is. Upon arrival, I thought this would have a surf club feel, but walking in you see the view and the decor is nice. I absolutely would recommend a window seat, or a booth. There are a few tables near the entrance and they just look and feel out of place, not good for couples dining. The food was very good. We started with a medley of a dozen oysters, which were clean, well shucked (no shell remnants), a perfect size and delicious complementing flavours. The ginger with sorbet was my absolute favourite. I had the feta tart entree, which was light, delicate and full of flavour. The Thai fish parcel also went down a treat and had an enjoyable level of heat and layers of flavour. The confit of duck and red Emperor were perfectly cooked with the accompanying vegetables and sauces matching each dish perfectly. You don't NEED to order sides with the mains as they are a decent size, however they are also pretty darn good. We didn't have dessert as we were full after 3 courses. I did spy dessert on other tables and they looked good. The house wine was really good and I liked that they get their wines from smaller wine makers. The degustation menu looks very inviting and I will be giving that a go next time. If you are wanting a seafood platter, please note they require at least 24 hours notice. I didn't see anyone with one of these whilst we were dining, so need to go back and try this. The drive through Terrigal High street can get backed up between 6pm and 8pm on Friday and Saturday evenings, so make sure you give yourself an extra 15 minutes in travel time, unless you are a local who knows the back streets. Plenty of parking available. It was a lovely atmosphere, with great views and great food.

dined on Sat, 14 Jan 2017

(6)
Nothing to add

dined on Thu, 12 Jan 2017

(9)
Would recommend and definitely come back .

dined on Tue, 10 Jan 2017

(7)
Would proabably preferred more of a seafood menu.

dined on Thu, 5 Jan 2017

(7)
There was only one waitress who was terrible. She must have been having a bad day. Very lackadaisical attitude, never smiling or eye contact. I am sorry we left a tip. All other staff were fabulous.

dined on Thu, 5 Jan 2017

(10)
I have taken both family and friends, local and from overseas, to "Reef" over the past nine years, the comments have always been very complementary. I always feel very confident as the high quality of food and service never changes, same goes for the ambience and views.

dined on Wed, 4 Jan 2017

(10)
It was excellent. Very tidy, very clean, fantastic fast service and the food was amazing. Very, very impressed. Not too overly priced either.
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

About Reef

Tie the knot at Reef The name gives you a clue but nothing prepares you for the amazing waterfront views at Reef Restaurant in Terrigal. The Pacific Ocean at its best, an attractive Central Coast town and an award-winning restaurant. It’s that type of triple threat that makes Reef so special. As a top-rated modern Australian fine dining restaurant, you can expect the best and you will experience it when it comes to atmosphere, service, location, views and the food. It’s no surprise that this restaurant is a favoured place for date nights, special occasions and weddings. Whatever the size of your dining party, expect the friendly staff at the Reef to cater to your every wish. Whether you opt for the degustation menu, the platters or choose a la carte we expect that you will be delighted. Locals say the mixed oyster platter is a “stand out”, the lamb rack and barramundi are definitely recommended and the desserts are to die for. Best dish: Beef fillet with potato and horseradish gallette, caramelised fennel and onion jam served with Café de Paris butter.

Reef Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

13/20
88