.

2139 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.4
2139 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Fri, 13 Jul 2018

(10)
Fantastic service by the staff even though we were a big (sometimes loud) group. Great food and wine, great atmosphere. Definitely will be back again!

dined on Wed, 11 Jul 2018

(9)
This place is definitely Hidden Gem

dined on Sat, 7 Jul 2018

(9)
Staff happy to let us practise our Spanish. Very friendly. Nice atmosphere and good food with piano bar upstairs.

dined on Fri, 29 Jun 2018

(10)
Great service, food is delicious, and the atmosphere is relaxed, friendly and intimate. I love this place and have been back 5 times on romantic date nights, a special meal with a best friend and dinner with the girls. I almost don’t want the rest of Melbourne to know about it!!
John

dined on Tue, 26 Jun 2018

(9)
Never disappoints. We shared about 7 different dishes between the table of four, and nine disappointed.
Jake

dined on Sat, 23 Jun 2018

(9)
Great meal!

dined on Sat, 16 Jun 2018

(10)
They looked after us very well and even the chef came out to talk to us as we selected for him to choose what we ate and he did a fantastic job 👍

dined on Sat, 16 Jun 2018

(10)
One of the best Melbourne restaurants I’ve ever been to. I am fructose intolerant and not only did they have a huge amount of options on the menu for me, they had heaps for almost every intolerance! It was absolutely amazing to not feel like I was an inconvenience. What’s more, the food was phenomenal and our waitress was absolutely fabulous. We’ll be back!

dined on Fri, 1 Jun 2018

(8)
I think they forgot our booking as we still had to wait 20 mins for our table, which wasn't much of a problem as we just went to the piano bar next door. But otherwise after being seated, the service was really good and attentive. We enjoyed our food overall which came relatively quickly with good serving sizes. The lamb ribs were juicy and whilst the saganaki was delicious with the grapefruit, it was quite hard, and eventually became very hard to even cut. Would recommend!

dined on Fri, 1 Jun 2018

(10)
Had the best night here! Food was amazing: we ordered the special tasting menu of the night.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Paella SET MENU $55

Enjoy our specially prepared Paella SET MENU (2 tapas, Paella & Churros) served every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday night for only $55pp when you dine with us.
Min. people
2
When
21 Feb 2018 - 29 Feb 2020
Tue, Wed, Thu 12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

$25 Express Lunch

$25 Express lunch Every Thursday & Friday from 12:00pm - 3:00pm
When
17 May 2018 - 31 Dec 2028
Thu, Fri 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Chef's Selection Menu

Enjoy the '5 course Chef's Selection Menu". Each course consist of two different dishes 10 all together that were skillfully prepared by our chef´s team which will bring all the flavours from Iberian Peninsula. To order required are minimum two but there are no maximum number of patrons for this menu. Buen Provecho!
Min. people
2
When
31 Jul 2018 - 31 Jul 2020
Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Portello Rosso

A Spanish affair in Melbourne's Warburton Lane Making elegant use of its gritty location with a look of sharp urban calculated chic is Portello Rosso, and it’s catching the attention of those seeking out the coolest spots in Melbourne’s CBD. Well hidden away down a side alley (Warburton Lane), it’s easy to miss this intimate city gem with only a small red and white sign to show you it’s there. Blink and you might just miss it. Brought to you by the guys at Murmur upstairs, the beautiful tapas bar delivers simple but delicious fare with intoxicating Spanish flavours. One thing’s for sure, Portello Rosso is serious about food. The split-level space of black, vinyl-cushioned banquettes, industrial pendant lights and bentwood chairs boasts an impressive list of tapas and wines by the glass that include Mount Langi Billi Billi pinot grigio and Torbreck's Steading. As the name suggests, one of the eatery’s main focus is Jamon (dry-cured Spanish ham). The three types on offer are sliced on premises and are strongly represented on the menu. With cool backing tracks from the Cat Empire and Latin soul, and well paced service every time, this is the epitome of magic Melbourne dining. . Best dish: Three grades of Spanish Jamon: mild serano, more complex Joselito paleta and rich, nutty Iberico.

Portello Rosso Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

89
4.5/5