.

590 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.5
590 reviews
Recommended
(8.7)
Food
(8.6)
Service
(8.3)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.5)

dined on Sat, 9 Sep 2017

(6)
Food was mostly ok but not at any point special.
Lynne

dined on Fri, 8 Sep 2017

(8)
The cocktail list inventive and enjoyed my Cassowary cocktail. The food is good but a little overpriced but I guess it is a tourist town. Service very friendly and efficient.

dined on Fri, 8 Sep 2017

(7)
Crocodile rack over cooked - a little too dry oysters had great flavor but were not served chilled - disappointing Barramundi batter had great flavor but t was not the freshest.

dined on Mon, 4 Sep 2017

(9)
Amazing indigenous food so different to anything I've had before. Wine list however needs improvement.

dined on Sun, 3 Sep 2017

(10)
Wonderful place with a beautiful view of the marina. Friendly and professional service. Happy to find a cool veg degustation dish, not easy in Australia.

dined on Sun, 3 Sep 2017

(8)
On holidays with my partner and decided to go there for dinner. The Australian antipasto platter was really nice and interesting even though we are both Australian and have previously eaten most of the types of meats but the preparation is unique. Food presentation is really good and the chocolate desert was fabulous! Everyone was very friendly and accomodating. Highly recommended. It's a little more in the expensive side but you get nice views onto the marina so that's a small bonus.
Zaff Chevik

dined on Sat, 2 Sep 2017

(5)
Waiters are friendly but laud, service is like a production line, quick to pick up plates and ask for next, would be better if if there is little more room between mains and deserts. Wine list was pro dominantly South Australia and personally not a big fan of SA wines, menu and wine list designed for Japanese and Asian tourists. Overall it's good experience to have in Cairns.
Byron

dined on Sat, 2 Sep 2017

(9)
Great Australian Native food

dined on Mon, 28 Aug 2017

(5)
We would've spent more in drinks if the service wasn't so lacklustre. We had 4 courses and only ordered 2 drinks.

dined on Sat, 26 Aug 2017

(10)
Food and service was amazing. Main could have been a little smaller (we both had the strip loin - I ate the meat and salad but couldn't manage the potatoes). We didn't enjoy our desert as much as we could have had the meals been slightly smaller, but the deserts were beautiful in presentation and taste. Entree (I had the scallops and pork belly) - I would have preferred a few more scallops as they're lighter and one less pork belly cube as having four made it quite a meal - but it was a stunning entree! I would recommend anyone who enjoys fine food to go here.
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

About Ochre Restaurant

Go native Ochre Restaurant has been wowing Cairns locals and tourists alike for more than 20 years with its fresh take on local produce that manages to showcase such tricky ingredients such as crocodile and wallaby with real flair. If you can, try to snaffle a table on the pavement to really get the full Cairns experience. Somehow the fresh seafood, native game and bush foods such as tempura Gulf bugs on lemongrass with a green papaya salad and sweet chilli lemon myrtle dipping sauce, or the salt and native pepper leaf crocodile and prawns taste even more authentic that way. If you’re game, leave it to the Chef and opt for the Taste of Australia Ochre platter, a four-course set menu. If you prefer a la carte, then make sure you leave room for the desserts, which, if you’re lucky, might be the wattle seed pavlova or the Davidson Plum Mousse. Most popular Dishes: Tempura Bugs on Lemongrass Skewers & Pork Belly with Queensland Scallops

Ochre Restaurant Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14/20
79
4/5