.

609 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.7
609 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(8.1)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Thu, 27 Sep 2018

(10)
Excellent service great food and view

dined on Mon, 24 Sep 2018

(3)
The appetizers are interesting, but the main meat is not good.

dined on Sat, 22 Sep 2018

(10)
Excelent choices of wine with food!

dined on Sat, 15 Sep 2018

(2)
This restaurants food is fair value for portion size and quality but the service was horrendous. The menu was convoluted and confusing and the ambience similar to a dining hall for the armed services. A bus tour of near 75 people arrived soon after us. This influx was not unexpected since their set menu was served immediately. This may also account for portions of our meal being lukewarm upon arrival at our table.

dined on Thu, 13 Sep 2018

(6)
People how served our food explained it well...rest of the staff mmm not very attentive. Steak was well worth the visit.

dined on Mon, 27 Aug 2018

(6)
A wait staff I asked for an assistance to select the menu was not friendly nor helpful.

dined on Tue, 7 Aug 2018

(9)
Second visit 9 years after first discovery. Australian game platter is absolutely delicious, especially smoked crocodile & kangaroo.

dined on Wed, 1 Aug 2018

(6)
Ochre wasn't quite as good as I had hoped. The food was good, but not great and I had expected great from the reviews. Our waiter was also good, but not great. Product knowledge was lacking as were menu suggestions. The outlook is beautiful, the atmosphere is good.

dined on Tue, 10 Jul 2018

(8)
Food was really nice. Had to wait 50 minutes between entrée and mains.(we checked our phone for time between photo taken). (PS. side door was opened and I had to witness 10 lots group come through that door and wondered why they weren't be seated. And the entrance was indeed over the other side. We made that mistake when we came)

dined on Fri, 6 Jul 2018

(9)
Brilliant place to go for a Ladies’ Lunch
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

NYE Three Course Set Menu $99pp

Bring in the new year with Ochre Restaurant with the NYE Three Course Set Menu $99pp Welcome sparkling or craft beer Wattle seed Damper – native spiced dukka and macadamia oil Entree Twice cooked pork belly and seared Queensland scallops – Davidson plum jam and cauliflower puree Salt and pepper quail – compressed watermelon with finger lime Quinoa salad - roast beetroot and macadamia, fennel, orange, pickled muntrie and torn burrata Sugarcane mackerel sticks – seared pineapple and sunrise lime salsa, taro chips Main course Crispy Skin Salmon – mango & riberry salsa- lemon & coriander rice cake- steamed bok choi Tablelands pork fillet – macadamia crumbed, poached pear, rocket and Parmesan salad, riberry mayo Morganbury Tenderloin and braised cheek – citrus mash, onion purée, exotic mushrooms, pepper berry jus Chicken breast – mango and macadamia, lemon aspen, taro chips, baby carrots and sugar snaps Dessert Wattle seed pavlova – Davidson plum sorbet, mango coulis, macadamia biscotti Chocolate mascarpone cheesecake – mango and passion fruit – strawberry and rivermint sorbet Deconstructed riberry banoffee pie – macadamia crumb, dulce de leche, smoked Iridium rum, - caramelised banana and banana gelato Gallo cheese selection – pepper leaf lavosh, fig chutney
When
31 Dec 2018
Mon 5:30 PM - 11:45 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Ochre Restaurant

Go native Ochre Restaurant has been wowing Cairns locals and tourists alike for more than 20 years with its fresh take on local produce that manages to showcase such tricky ingredients such as crocodile and wallaby with real flair. If you can, try to snaffle a table on the pavement to really get the full Cairns experience. Somehow the fresh seafood, native game and bush foods such as tempura Gulf bugs on lemongrass with a green papaya salad and sweet chilli lemon myrtle dipping sauce, or the salt and native pepper leaf crocodile and prawns taste even more authentic that way. If you’re game, leave it to the Chef and opt for the Taste of Australia Ochre platter, a four-course set menu. If you prefer a la carte, then make sure you leave room for the desserts, which, if you’re lucky, might be the wattle seed pavlova or the Davidson Plum Mousse. Most popular Dishes: Tempura Bugs on Lemongrass Skewers & Pork Belly with Queensland Scallops

Ochre Restaurant Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14/20
79
4/5