.

590 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.5
590 reviews
Recommended
(8.7)
Food
(8.6)
Service
(8.3)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.5)

dined on Wed, 1 Aug 2018

(6)
Ochre wasn't quite as good as I had hoped. The food was good, but not great and I had expected great from the reviews. Our waiter was also good, but not great. Product knowledge was lacking as were menu suggestions. The outlook is beautiful, the atmosphere is good.

dined on Tue, 10 Jul 2018

(8)
Food was really nice. Had to wait 50 minutes between entrée and mains.(we checked our phone for time between photo taken). (PS. side door was opened and I had to witness 10 lots group come through that door and wondered why they weren't be seated. And the entrance was indeed over the other side. We made that mistake when we came)

dined on Fri, 6 Jul 2018

(9)
Brilliant place to go for a Ladies’ Lunch

dined on Sat, 30 Jun 2018

(9)
Excellent Australian cuisine with lots of unique ingredients. Our antipasto platter for two included smoked crocodile, seared kangaroo and emu wonton. Gulf Bugs & Croc & Prawn mains were delicious. Quandong Brulee desert was excellent. Accompanied by delicious Tasmanian Josef Chromy sauvignon blanc. Don’t expect French bubbles or Kiwi sauvignon blanc here – it is strictly Oz only! Ignore the narcy reviews and try for yourself. Recommended.

dined on Thu, 28 Jun 2018

(9)
Amazing fine dining, you could definitely eat cheaper than we did but what we did eat was world class
Maggie Jackson

dined on Sat, 16 Jun 2018

(10)
Thanks for a lovely evening

dined on Wed, 13 Jun 2018

(10)
It was amazing the food and deserts
Richard

dined on Mon, 11 Jun 2018

(8)
The location is great both for visitors. Australian native food is a highlight. Service and food generally is very good.
Daron

dined on Sat, 2 Jun 2018

(10)
Wonderful food, in perfect portion sizes. Varied, interesting menu. Delightful, friendly staff. Lovely touch to combine two shared desserts onto one large plate. Would love to eat there again.

dined on Sat, 26 May 2018

(10)
Have wanted to go for ages. Finally booked. A perfect evening. FABULOUS food. FABULOUS service. Can’t wait to go back.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Ochre Restaurant

Go native Ochre Restaurant has been wowing Cairns locals and tourists alike for more than 20 years with its fresh take on local produce that manages to showcase such tricky ingredients such as crocodile and wallaby with real flair. If you can, try to snaffle a table on the pavement to really get the full Cairns experience. Somehow the fresh seafood, native game and bush foods such as tempura Gulf bugs on lemongrass with a green papaya salad and sweet chilli lemon myrtle dipping sauce, or the salt and native pepper leaf crocodile and prawns taste even more authentic that way. If you’re game, leave it to the Chef and opt for the Taste of Australia Ochre platter, a four-course set menu. If you prefer a la carte, then make sure you leave room for the desserts, which, if you’re lucky, might be the wattle seed pavlova or the Davidson Plum Mousse. Most popular Dishes: Tempura Bugs on Lemongrass Skewers & Pork Belly with Queensland Scallops

Ochre Restaurant Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14/20
79
4/5