.

455 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.9
455 reviews
Recommended
(9.3)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.9)
Value for money
(8.2)
Atmosphere
(9.1)
David Rawlinson

dined on Sun, 19 Nov 2017

(9)
Love this location and the always impeccable service. Great wine list with friendly guidance by knowledgeable floor staff. Flavours in the goat and gnocchi dishes today were superb, portion control is a little on the tight side, though perhaps this is a good sign wanting more :-) Becoming a real favourite, thank you for looking after us
Bethany

dined on Sat, 18 Nov 2017

(7)
Food was delicious, with a good variety of flavours and less run-of-the-mill ingredients - although the blackened bread with the pork terrine was a bit too charred for my liking! I feel like this would be a good place to go a bit later in the evening when it’s not so busy, as it did get quite loud in the dining room. The overall atmosphere was a bit less ‘neighbourhood’ friendly as I had hoped, so probably a good spot for groups rather than couples.
victoria

dined on Fri, 27 Oct 2017

(9)
Again another Carlton/North Carlton gem. Great atmosphere-cosy and cool. Great cocktails, great service. Loved it!

dined on Sat, 14 Oct 2017

(7)
Good place and nice meal

dined on Fri, 13 Oct 2017

(8)
Great ambience

dined on Sun, 8 Oct 2017

(9)
Great collection of wines and delicious meals.
Andrew

dined on Sat, 7 Oct 2017

(7)
Solid neighbourhood restaurant. Good if you're in the area.

dined on Sat, 7 Oct 2017

(9)
This is our favourite neighbourhood bar/restaurant
Rebecca

dined on Sun, 1 Oct 2017

(8)
Great atmosphere. Value for money food. Although the actual Sunday roast was a bit tasteless, the entree and dessert were great. I'd give it another go.

dined on Wed, 20 Sep 2017

(8)
Good atmosphere
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

About Neighbourhood Wine

Welcome to the Neighbourhood! You’ll instantly feel like a local when you come to Neighbourhood Wine, located on Reid Street in Fitzroy North. The vibe is warm and friendly, the wines are top quality drops from Australia and abroad, and the French-style cuisine is fancy without being pricey. The Neighbourhood has an interesting history – in the 1950s, it was once an illegal casino while the 90s saw it used as Alphonse Gangitano’s high-end gentlemen’s club. Today, however, that’s all changed, with Neighbourhood Wine transformed into a house of wine and food. The drinks are the main event here, with an impressive 19 page beverage list curated by sommelier Simon Denman. Denham has sourced bottles from around the globe, including artisanal wines from Santorini to Swartland. Head chef and co-owner Almay Jordaan, who actually hails from Cape Town, has created the accompanying European-flavoured menu using fresh and sustainable produce. It would be a crime (and Neighbourhood Wine knows plenty about that!) to miss this cosy little haunt. Best dish: Country style pork shoulder and pistachio terrine

Neighbourhood Wine Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

5/5
7/10