.

Have an American Express® Card?

AMEX

Due to an overwhelming response to Shop Small, the offer cap has been reached. However, if you have already saved the Shop Small Offer to your Card, you are still able to book and redeem at any of the participating locations with the Shop Small badge from 1 – 30 November 2018 once per participating Merchant, up to five times.

464 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.9
464 reviews
Recommended
(9.5)
Food
(8.9)
Service
(8.9)
Value for money
(8.3)
Atmosphere
(9.1)

dined on Mon, 29 Oct 2018

(9)
Great atmosphere, delicious food,

dined on Sun, 28 Oct 2018

(9)
Great food as always! The Sunday roast special is amazing value and the venue has such a great feel. Staff are very accommodating with dietary requirements and have great wine knowledge.

dined on Tue, 16 Oct 2018

(9)
Been here several times, love it.
Elizabeth Wheeler

dined on Sun, 14 Oct 2018

(10)
This was my second time at Neighbourhood Wine and it was almost perfect! I knocked off a few points on atmosphere because the music was a bit loud, but it's a really lovely place to spend time in. Delicious food, really professional waitstaff.

dined on Sat, 13 Oct 2018

(10)
Incredible food in lovely setting

dined on Sun, 7 Oct 2018

(9)
Neighbourhood wine is always a lovely experience, it's a beautiful room with great service and delicious food and wine. One of my faves!

dined on Fri, 14 Sep 2018

(7)
Food, atmosphere and service was great! However, the wine list can be best described as "eclectic". One companion asked one of the staff if the person who drew up the list was allowed near sharp knives, but it turns out he owns the place. "Organic, bio whatever, natural" - these are the most important attributes for the wine. Everything from the huge international list is in some way good for you in one way or another. Okay, if that's the way you roll, fine but I felt like it was being shoved at me, I couldn't choose. Funniest moment was asking one of the staff why there was only ONE Australian cabernet on the list (Margaret River and not worth the $150 we paid) and he replied - with a spectacularly straight face - "No one does cabernet any more, no one drinks it, no one asks for it". I waited for the punchline, but that was it. He tried equating this with the fad for unoaked chardonnay which could be best described as a stretch. Apparently the reason all the other restaurants and wine shops in Melbourne are failing is by offering so much of what people don't want any more. Or something. We had a few other reds that are all good for us (naturally bio organically good) and they were all okay without being special. Hopefully the medication kicks in and there can be a better balance brought to the wine list because everything else here was really, really good. And of course if you don't "do" cabernets any more and need to be given a list of wines that are all good for you and the world, this is your place. You will feel smugly self-satisfied doing good, I guess. And you will certainly enjoy everything else!

dined on Fri, 14 Sep 2018

(10)
Weird and wonderful wine list. Great food especially the gnocchi!

dined on Mon, 10 Sep 2018

(8)
service a bit slow music a bit loud

dined on Sat, 1 Sep 2018

(10)
Our second visit, and it was a terrific experience again.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Neighbourhood Wine

Welcome to the Neighbourhood! You’ll instantly feel like a local when you come to Neighbourhood Wine, located on Reid Street in Fitzroy North. The vibe is warm and friendly, the wines are top quality drops from Australia and abroad, and the French-style cuisine is fancy without being pricey. The Neighbourhood has an interesting history – in the 1950s, it was once an illegal casino while the 90s saw it used as Alphonse Gangitano’s high-end gentlemen’s club. Today, however, that’s all changed, with Neighbourhood Wine transformed into a house of wine and food. The drinks are the main event here, with an impressive 19 page beverage list curated by sommelier Simon Denman. Denham has sourced bottles from around the globe, including artisanal wines from Santorini to Swartland. Head chef and co-owner Almay Jordaan, who actually hails from Cape Town, has created the accompanying European-flavoured menu using fresh and sustainable produce. It would be a crime (and Neighbourhood Wine knows plenty about that!) to miss this cosy little haunt. Best dish: Country style pork shoulder and pistachio terrine

Features

Shop Small

Neighbourhood Wine Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

5/5
7/10