.

640 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

7.6
640 reviews
Recommended
(7.6)
Food
(7.5)
Service
(7.9)
Value for money
(7.6)
Atmosphere
(7.4)

dined on Tue, 25 Apr 2017

(8)
Really nice staff who did a great job. Restaurant was very quiet, but we still enjoyed ourselves. Food was very nice and the wine list had a few reliable picks.
Mel

dined on Sat, 22 Apr 2017

(10)
Our waitress was sensational, a gorgeous young lady with a sense of humour and provided awesome service. The booths proove a little difficult when dining for the chairs are significantly away from the table, however it added to a little fun with the friends we were dining with. the booths are comfortable. It was a beautiful meal. The ravioli was DEVINE thank you

dined on Thu, 20 Apr 2017

(7)
We dined prior to a comedy show and let the staff know what time we had to leave to get to the theatre. Due to work commitments I arrived late for our original booking. We were told that there was not enough time for the pre theatre menu which requires 1 hr 15 min at least . With only an hour before the show was scheduled to commence, we were advised to select a main each and a side to share ie salad or chips. We did this and then waited for our meals, which arrived with only 15 min left before we had to leave. My husband gobbled his meal and left to pick up tix and meet friends. I stayed and finished my meal and glass of wine before heading out to the theatre. Both meals were lovely but perhaps a message to kitchen to fast track our order would have allowed both of us to enjoy our meal more. It didn't seem busy in the restaurant at the time.

dined on Sat, 15 Apr 2017

(8)
The food was delicious, the service was great. Will go back. Great for before a show.
Lonnie

dined on Sun, 9 Apr 2017

(10)
This restaurant is amazing! Fantastic food and service was very attentive. We enjoyed the best steak we've had for a very long time. Locanda is a restaurant you don't want to miss! Thanks for a great night - we'll be back!

dined on Tue, 4 Apr 2017

(7)
Food was good, and the restaurant had a nice ambient atmosphere. Servings were generous for a fine dining experience. Although service was a bit slow despite the restaurant being mostly empty. Thankfully we had plenty of time before the show we were attending.

dined on Sat, 1 Apr 2017

(2)
Booked a reservation but was skeptical from the photos as there's nothing that shows the dining area. We had a fancy meal in mind for the evening but it wasn't a good setting, I saw nothing that was in the photos. After listening to a few awful songs that made it seem like a cheap nightclub, we left and found a more suitable venue.

dined on Sat, 25 Mar 2017

(10)
The staff was very good and friendly in general. Though when we first got there the waitress couldn't find our name in the book and said they could squeeze us in which made us think why go through the trouble of booking a table... Towards the end of our meal, another waiter came to confirm that our name was in the book as it was getting rather busy. It just made me think if there were no table available, would they have turned us away just because the effort in understanding and finding my name in the book wasn't made!

dined on Fri, 24 Mar 2017

(2)
Very poor quality food - meat was extremely chewy and poor quality. Pork belly was dry, calamari was chewy and lasagne was supermarket quality
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Locanda Restaurant & Bar

Dine inn ‘Locanda’ variously translates from the Italian into English as ‘inn’, ‘pub’ or ‘diner’ depending on the context. Ah ha, we get you. Locanda Italian Steakhouse in the heart of Melbourne is a short walk to a number of theatres so is a favourite inn or pub for pre-theatre dining. Think up-market dining, private rooms, extensive wine cellars, and the best of Australian ingredients with a super chef at the helm, and you have the recipe for Locanda’s success. From the feature elements of floor to ceiling glass wine ‘cellars’, impressive pillars, a ceiling punctuated by acoustic beams, the distinctive mushroom stools and the massive marble bar, Locanda screams style, chic and elegance all at the same time. Then, of course, there is the food. The pre-theatre two or three course menu has some wonderful temptations such as malfaldine (ribbon-shaped pasta) with creamy carbonara sauce and aged Parmesan, or the pumpkin cannelloni with spiced carrot cream, feta cheese and pistachio crumble. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week, you also may want to try the extensive a la carte menu when you have more time. Best dish: Dark chocolate and raspberry torte, vanilla custard, and raspberry mascarpone served with candied pistachio

Locanda Restaurant & Bar Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

85