.

645 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8
645 reviews
Recommended
(8.1)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(7.8)
Catherine

dined on Sat, 20 May 2017

(8)
This is our 'go to' restaurant when we have tickets to the Theatre. We have dined here close to 10 times in the last few years. The food is delicious and we leave feeling very relaxed and satisfied. A little higher on the price scale, but we feel the experience is worth it.

dined on Fri, 12 May 2017

(3)
Restaurant is part of the Rydges Hotel so everything is clean and presented well, decor, furniture, staff.. However food was quite average for fine dinning, it would be more akin to run of the mill bar food with fancy plating. The bar section next to the restaurant area was very loud, and seating arrangement in the restaurant area is horrible unless you are fortunate enough to get one of the booth seats and do not have tables and chair place right next to them. We tired to get a seats move as we were right in the middle of the footpath and people were constant knocking out seats but the staff did not seem interested to solve the issue, they merely said all the empty tables were reserved.

dined on Thu, 11 May 2017

(9)
Great location and ambience for a pre-theatre Dinner. Good value 'Set menu' with tasty food. The only minor let down was not getting the glass of wine I ordered to accompany my main course until I was two-thirds of the way through it; and then only after chasing the waiter for it.

dined on Sat, 6 May 2017

(6)
A good place to grab a meal before going to the theatre.

dined on Tue, 25 Apr 2017

(8)
Really nice staff who did a great job. Restaurant was very quiet, but we still enjoyed ourselves. Food was very nice and the wine list had a few reliable picks.
Mel

dined on Sat, 22 Apr 2017

(10)
Our waitress was sensational, a gorgeous young lady with a sense of humour and provided awesome service. The booths proove a little difficult when dining for the chairs are significantly away from the table, however it added to a little fun with the friends we were dining with. the booths are comfortable. It was a beautiful meal. The ravioli was DEVINE thank you

dined on Thu, 20 Apr 2017

(7)
We dined prior to a comedy show and let the staff know what time we had to leave to get to the theatre. Due to work commitments I arrived late for our original booking. We were told that there was not enough time for the pre theatre menu which requires 1 hr 15 min at least . With only an hour before the show was scheduled to commence, we were advised to select a main each and a side to share ie salad or chips. We did this and then waited for our meals, which arrived with only 15 min left before we had to leave. My husband gobbled his meal and left to pick up tix and meet friends. I stayed and finished my meal and glass of wine before heading out to the theatre. Both meals were lovely but perhaps a message to kitchen to fast track our order would have allowed both of us to enjoy our meal more. It didn't seem busy in the restaurant at the time.

dined on Sat, 15 Apr 2017

(8)
The food was delicious, the service was great. Will go back. Great for before a show.
Lonnie

dined on Sun, 9 Apr 2017

(10)
This restaurant is amazing! Fantastic food and service was very attentive. We enjoyed the best steak we've had for a very long time. Locanda is a restaurant you don't want to miss! Thanks for a great night - we'll be back!
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Locanda Restaurant & Bar

Dine inn ‘Locanda’ variously translates from the Italian into English as ‘inn’, ‘pub’ or ‘diner’ depending on the context. Ah ha, we get you. Locanda Italian Steakhouse in the heart of Melbourne is a short walk to a number of theatres so is a favourite inn or pub for pre-theatre dining. Think up-market dining, private rooms, extensive wine cellars, and the best of Australian ingredients with a super chef at the helm, and you have the recipe for Locanda’s success. From the feature elements of floor to ceiling glass wine ‘cellars’, impressive pillars, a ceiling punctuated by acoustic beams, the distinctive mushroom stools and the massive marble bar, Locanda screams style, chic and elegance all at the same time. Then, of course, there is the food. The pre-theatre two or three course menu has some wonderful temptations such as malfaldine (ribbon-shaped pasta) with creamy carbonara sauce and aged Parmesan, or the pumpkin cannelloni with spiced carrot cream, feta cheese and pistachio crumble. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week, you also may want to try the extensive a la carte menu when you have more time. Best dish: Dark chocolate and raspberry torte, vanilla custard, and raspberry mascarpone served with candied pistachio

Locanda Restaurant & Bar Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

85