.

639 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

7.5
639 reviews
Recommended
(7.5)
Food
(7.4)
Service
(7.8)
Value for money
(7.6)
Atmosphere
(7.5)
Julie Taylor

dined on Sun, 18 Jun 2017

(10)
The restaurant was great but very disappointed in Dimmi as on arrival ther was no record of our booking. Luckily there was several spare tables. Very poor on behalf of Dimmi but great by Locanda that they could accommodate us.

dined on Thu, 15 Jun 2017

(6)
We got there at 6.15 and advised the staff that we were catching a show at 8pm , ordered the 3 course set menu but had to wait an hour between the first course and the second and hurried through our main and desert after calling the staff a few times. While the staff were polite and apologetic, I believe pre-theatre diners should take priority above other diners because of time restrictions. We made it within seconds to spare.

dined on Fri, 9 Jun 2017

(7)
Had a great time, but perhaps more because of my company than the venue. A little on the loud side and the wait-staff seemed confused on check-in. Satisfied with food, but not spectacular, and happy with the wine - pretty good wine list.
Elieshia

dined on Sun, 28 May 2017

(9)
The restaurant looked pretty booked out and we had actually accidently booked for the wrong date but the staff still made good efforts to accommodate us.
Catherine

dined on Sat, 20 May 2017

(8)
This is our 'go to' restaurant when we have tickets to the Theatre. We have dined here close to 10 times in the last few years. The food is delicious and we leave feeling very relaxed and satisfied. A little higher on the price scale, but we feel the experience is worth it.

dined on Fri, 12 May 2017

(3)
Restaurant is part of the Rydges Hotel so everything is clean and presented well, decor, furniture, staff.. However food was quite average for fine dinning, it would be more akin to run of the mill bar food with fancy plating. The bar section next to the restaurant area was very loud, and seating arrangement in the restaurant area is horrible unless you are fortunate enough to get one of the booth seats and do not have tables and chair place right next to them. We tired to get a seats move as we were right in the middle of the footpath and people were constant knocking out seats but the staff did not seem interested to solve the issue, they merely said all the empty tables were reserved.

dined on Thu, 11 May 2017

(9)
Great location and ambience for a pre-theatre Dinner. Good value 'Set menu' with tasty food. The only minor let down was not getting the glass of wine I ordered to accompany my main course until I was two-thirds of the way through it; and then only after chasing the waiter for it.

dined on Sat, 6 May 2017

(6)
A good place to grab a meal before going to the theatre.

dined on Tue, 25 Apr 2017

(8)
Really nice staff who did a great job. Restaurant was very quiet, but we still enjoyed ourselves. Food was very nice and the wine list had a few reliable picks.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Locanda Restaurant & Bar

Dine inn ‘Locanda’ variously translates from the Italian into English as ‘inn’, ‘pub’ or ‘diner’ depending on the context. Ah ha, we get you. Locanda Italian Steakhouse in the heart of Melbourne is a short walk to a number of theatres so is a favourite inn or pub for pre-theatre dining. Think up-market dining, private rooms, extensive wine cellars, and the best of Australian ingredients with a super chef at the helm, and you have the recipe for Locanda’s success. From the feature elements of floor to ceiling glass wine ‘cellars’, impressive pillars, a ceiling punctuated by acoustic beams, the distinctive mushroom stools and the massive marble bar, Locanda screams style, chic and elegance all at the same time. Then, of course, there is the food. The pre-theatre two or three course menu has some wonderful temptations such as malfaldine (ribbon-shaped pasta) with creamy carbonara sauce and aged Parmesan, or the pumpkin cannelloni with spiced carrot cream, feta cheese and pistachio crumble. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week, you also may want to try the extensive a la carte menu when you have more time. Best dish: Dark chocolate and raspberry torte, vanilla custard, and raspberry mascarpone served with candied pistachio

Locanda Restaurant & Bar Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

85