.

643 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8
643 reviews
Recommended
(8.1)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(7.8)

dined on Thu, 9 Aug 2018

(4)
Service was extremely slow, booked for 6 o'clock and didn't get desert (2 course meal) until 7.10. Had to eat rushed to get to the theatre. Both first wines that I tried must have been opened for days. I have been here before, but after last nights experience I would not recommend this restaurant.
maria

dined on Thu, 21 Jun 2018

(9)
We had pre theatre dinner, and found the food to be delicious and the portion sizes were very generous. The price was fantastic ,will definitely return for dinner on our next show.

dined on Sat, 9 Jun 2018

(8)
good for a quick bite

dined on Sat, 26 May 2018

(9)
Great location with lots of food options

dined on Fri, 18 May 2018

(7)
Good variety of food and drinks.

dined on Sun, 13 May 2018

(8)
Enjoyed the food. Staff friendly and helpful. Will go back again for a meal before a show.

dined on Sun, 15 Apr 2018

(1)
Tasteless food, very poor service, no atmosphere.

dined on Fri, 13 Apr 2018

(8)
Quick service to ensure we were finished for theatre
Peter

dined on Fri, 16 Mar 2018

(7)
We went for a pre theatre meal which they advertise. the service was fantastic but the kitchen was overwhelmed so the food took a long time to come which meant that you couldn't do the advertised 2 courses. food was good without being great

dined on Sat, 24 Feb 2018

(10)
Pre Dinner booking was booked on Dimmi but the restaurant did not get the booking. So we had to wait 20 minutes for the head waiter to organise the table. But the service and food was excellent.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Locanda Restaurant & Bar

Dine inn ‘Locanda’ variously translates from the Italian into English as ‘inn’, ‘pub’ or ‘diner’ depending on the context. Ah ha, we get you. Locanda Italian Steakhouse in the heart of Melbourne is a short walk to a number of theatres so is a favourite inn or pub for pre-theatre dining. Think up-market dining, private rooms, extensive wine cellars, and the best of Australian ingredients with a super chef at the helm, and you have the recipe for Locanda’s success. From the feature elements of floor to ceiling glass wine ‘cellars’, impressive pillars, a ceiling punctuated by acoustic beams, the distinctive mushroom stools and the massive marble bar, Locanda screams style, chic and elegance all at the same time. Then, of course, there is the food. The pre-theatre two or three course menu has some wonderful temptations such as malfaldine (ribbon-shaped pasta) with creamy carbonara sauce and aged Parmesan, or the pumpkin cannelloni with spiced carrot cream, feta cheese and pistachio crumble. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week, you also may want to try the extensive a la carte menu when you have more time. Best dish: Dark chocolate and raspberry torte, vanilla custard, and raspberry mascarpone served with candied pistachio

Locanda Restaurant & Bar Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

85