.

642 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

7.7
642 reviews
Recommended
(7.8)
Food
(7.7)
Service
(8.1)
Value for money
(7.6)
Atmosphere
(7.5)

dined on Thu, 27 Oct 2016

(2)
Very disappointed in the quality of the steak. There was an error in one of the main courses and with 2 of the desserts. Coffee order was not taken. Overall a disappointing meal.

dined on Sun, 23 Oct 2016

(6)
Whilst the location and service was good, the food was a bit of a let down. I fully understand for a pre-theatre dinner that the food needs to be churned out quickly and that the menu cost was cheap. Unfortunately the food wasn't so tasty.

dined on Sun, 23 Oct 2016

(6)
Good place for Sunday lunch

dined on Sat, 22 Oct 2016

(8)
A great night out for my Dad's birthday
Patricia Ilhan

dined on Sat, 22 Oct 2016

(9)
Great atmosphere, much better e pertinence than I expected

dined on Sat, 22 Oct 2016

(9)
Pre-theatre set menu great value. Steak cooked to perfection and waiters ensured we were in time for the theatre.
Jacqui

dined on Sat, 15 Oct 2016

(8)
Our waitress was very friendly and efficient. In fact all of the staff were friendly! Menu choice was great.

dined on Wed, 12 Oct 2016

(8)
We really enjoyed the food though portions were small. Having said that, we left filling satisafied. I would go again.

dined on Sat, 8 Oct 2016

(2)
Five of us went to this restaurant last night five of us wouldn't go back. Four left still hungry. Beware of the salt served on open dish on table, waiter advised not changed after meal, changed daily only, wonder how many dirty fingers may have been there

dined on Sat, 8 Oct 2016

(10)
Absolutely amazing service! Did a pre theatre dinner and booked for 5 people. Found out last minute a 6th person was coming and the staff accommodated our party without a complaint. Great service. Great food as well, and really well priced. Will be back for sure!
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

About Locanda Restaurant & Bar

Dine inn ‘Locanda’ variously translates from the Italian into English as ‘inn’, ‘pub’ or ‘diner’ depending on the context. Ah ha, we get you. Locanda Italian Steakhouse in the heart of Melbourne is a short walk to a number of theatres so is a favourite inn or pub for pre-theatre dining. Think up-market dining, private rooms, extensive wine cellars, and the best of Australian ingredients with a super chef at the helm, and you have the recipe for Locanda’s success. From the feature elements of floor to ceiling glass wine ‘cellars’, impressive pillars, a ceiling punctuated by acoustic beams, the distinctive mushroom stools and the massive marble bar, Locanda screams style, chic and elegance all at the same time. Then, of course, there is the food. The pre-theatre two or three course menu has some wonderful temptations such as malfaldine (ribbon-shaped pasta) with creamy carbonara sauce and aged Parmesan, or the pumpkin cannelloni with spiced carrot cream, feta cheese and pistachio crumble. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week, you also may want to try the extensive a la carte menu when you have more time. Best dish: Dark chocolate and raspberry torte, vanilla custard, and raspberry mascarpone served with candied pistachio

Locanda Restaurant & Bar Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

85