.

634 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

7.3
634 reviews
Recommended
(7.3)
Food
(7.3)
Service
(7.9)
Value for money
(7.3)
Atmosphere
(7.3)

dined on Sat, 8 Oct 2016

(2)
Five of us went to this restaurant last night five of us wouldn't go back. Four left still hungry. Beware of the salt served on open dish on table, waiter advised not changed after meal, changed daily only, wonder how many dirty fingers may have been there

dined on Sat, 8 Oct 2016

(10)
Absolutely amazing service! Did a pre theatre dinner and booked for 5 people. Found out last minute a 6th person was coming and the staff accommodated our party without a complaint. Great service. Great food as well, and really well priced. Will be back for sure!

dined on Sat, 8 Oct 2016

(7)
Great for meal prior to shows either at Her Majesty's or Comedy Theatres

dined on Fri, 7 Oct 2016

(8)
Always a pleasure to dine here before a show :)

dined on Sun, 2 Oct 2016

(4)
It is a steak restaurant so we probably should have ordered steak. However, we didn't have a good meal. We had Beef Carpaccio to start, was so thinly cut couldn't taste anything, was bone dry and frankly terrible. I enjoyed my quinoa salad main, but my husband ordered Tortellini which was an enormous 'unrefined' portion, he said was like out of supermarket packet past and sauce. Kids had a very average pizza. The atmosphere was ok and relaxed, we were staying in the hotel so wanted an easy meal one night and reviews were good. I would make the effort to go elsewhere.

dined on Sat, 1 Oct 2016

(7)
Good food and Service

dined on Sun, 25 Sep 2016

(2)
Main course's were very poor. Although mains not charged for the whole experience considering the pricing was below average.

dined on Sat, 24 Sep 2016

(9)
Very pleased with the quality of food and drinks and the service was excellent

dined on Sat, 17 Sep 2016

(7)
both of us have been quite ill the day after dining in the restaurant. We both had entree and mains and shared them both so we both are the same food. Not sure if it was the food or not but seems like a coincidence that we both fell ill at the same time. A little disappointed
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

About Locanda Restaurant & Bar

Dine inn ‘Locanda’ variously translates from the Italian into English as ‘inn’, ‘pub’ or ‘diner’ depending on the context. Ah ha, we get you. Locanda Italian Steakhouse in the heart of Melbourne is a short walk to a number of theatres so is a favourite inn or pub for pre-theatre dining. Think up-market dining, private rooms, extensive wine cellars, and the best of Australian ingredients with a super chef at the helm, and you have the recipe for Locanda’s success. From the feature elements of floor to ceiling glass wine ‘cellars’, impressive pillars, a ceiling punctuated by acoustic beams, the distinctive mushroom stools and the massive marble bar, Locanda screams style, chic and elegance all at the same time. Then, of course, there is the food. The pre-theatre two or three course menu has some wonderful temptations such as malfaldine (ribbon-shaped pasta) with creamy carbonara sauce and aged Parmesan, or the pumpkin cannelloni with spiced carrot cream, feta cheese and pistachio crumble. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week, you also may want to try the extensive a la carte menu when you have more time. Best dish: Dark chocolate and raspberry torte, vanilla custard, and raspberry mascarpone served with candied pistachio

Locanda Restaurant & Bar Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

85