.

645 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8
645 reviews
Recommended
(8.1)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(7.8)

dined on Tue, 20 Nov 2018

(10)
This is a wonderful restaurant with great menu, wine list, and service. One of my guests was a vegetarian and particularly enjoyed the Vegetarian Tasting Plate - it looked great, and the Head Chef should be congratulated for devising such a well considered dish.

dined on Wed, 4 Jul 2018

(10)
Excellent evening. Service was amazing. Food from a set price menu was outstanding. Great vegetarian platter. Very fun evening for the four of us.

dined on Tue, 11 Dec 2018

(7)
Went to Locanda for a lunch with a friend and it was very quiet - had hoped for a bit more atmosphere, but we did enjoy having a comfortable booth so we could sit and chat in a relaxed setting. Menu was short and focused, and both of us really enjoyed our burgers. It was good value for money vs many other local options. Service could have been a bit more engaged, but overall it was fine.

dined on Wed, 7 Nov 2018

(9)
Great location

dined on Sat, 27 Oct 2018

(8)
Our waitress was fantastic!! Food was nice, nothing that I’d particularly rush back for, but as a dinner stop prior to an early show it worked out well for us. If you’re heading to a show, make sure to mention as you also receive a 20% discount.

dined on Sat, 27 Oct 2018

(10)
Great atmosphere

dined on Mon, 8 Oct 2018

(9)
Good choice of food, friendly service

dined on Sat, 8 Sep 2018

(8)
There is a great variety of food to choose from the menu.

dined on Tue, 4 Sep 2018

(7)
Nice food, friendly service.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

About Locanda Restaurant & Bar

Dine inn ‘Locanda’ variously translates from the Italian into English as ‘inn’, ‘pub’ or ‘diner’ depending on the context. Ah ha, we get you. Locanda Italian Steakhouse in the heart of Melbourne is a short walk to a number of theatres so is a favourite inn or pub for pre-theatre dining. Think up-market dining, private rooms, extensive wine cellars, and the best of Australian ingredients with a super chef at the helm, and you have the recipe for Locanda’s success. From the feature elements of floor to ceiling glass wine ‘cellars’, impressive pillars, a ceiling punctuated by acoustic beams, the distinctive mushroom stools and the massive marble bar, Locanda screams style, chic and elegance all at the same time. Then, of course, there is the food. The pre-theatre two or three course menu has some wonderful temptations such as malfaldine (ribbon-shaped pasta) with creamy carbonara sauce and aged Parmesan, or the pumpkin cannelloni with spiced carrot cream, feta cheese and pistachio crumble. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week, you also may want to try the extensive a la carte menu when you have more time. Best dish: Dark chocolate and raspberry torte, vanilla custard, and raspberry mascarpone served with candied pistachio

Locanda Restaurant & Bar Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

85