.

1975 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.4
1975 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.2)

dined on Mon, 27 Feb 2017

(9)
We were looked after from the moment we arrived. Very courteous and obliging service. Food was very well prepared. It was a lovely evening on the balcony . The grilled calamari and melanzzane we had for entree were both very palatable. My Pappardelle with beef cheek ragu was rich and tasty and the pasta was cooked to al dente perfection. My friend's seafood linguine was also delicious and the large chunks of fish were super succulent.

dined on Mon, 27 Feb 2017

(9)
Another great Jazz & Shiraz event but think a few extra waiters would have been beneficial.
Hi Carol, Thanks for your feedback. We did have a few extra staff on yesterday as we knew it was going to be busy. Sorry if it was not adequate. I would really love to get a little more feedback so we can make sure we improve our service. Feel free to give us a call. kindest regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Tue, 28 Feb 2017

dined on Mon, 27 Feb 2017

(8)
Was good pasta cooked to perfection. Entrees were grea. In and out within an hour and 15 mins, perfect for a preshow 2 course meal
Hi James, Thanks for your feedback. When it comes to pre theatre La Camera has you covered...quick, efficient,considerate, great food and focused on getting you to your show on time. Thanks for taking the time to put pen to paper. Kind regards, Paul Scidone
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Tue, 28 Feb 2017

dined on Fri, 24 Feb 2017

(8)
Pasta and pizza is very good
Hi Ian, Thanks for your great score regarding referring a friend. I did notice the value score was a little low. We try and stay as competitive as possible with price, but due to our location our overheads far exceed the regular prices you might see in the suburbs. Kindest regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Mon, 27 Mar 2017

dined on Fri, 24 Feb 2017

(9)
Great food and very good service - excellent for pre-theatre dining

dined on Wed, 22 Feb 2017

(9)
Had a really nice dinner here. The service was lovely and very friendly. The misters outside were perfect for a warm night to cool you down just enough. The food was definitely a stand out and came out very quickly especially considering how busy they were. We will definitely be back!

dined on Wed, 22 Feb 2017

(9)
Loved the pasta and the staff were, as always, very obliging ... Thank you

dined on Wed, 22 Feb 2017

(10)
The lunch 'special' was good value and the wines reasonably priced if you want a bottle over and above the free glass of house wine. Really recommend the grilled calamari. The carbonara was also excellent. The chicken salad was disappointing though; the chicken a little dry and no 'dressing'. Still a great lunch experience overall!
Hi Michael, Thanks so much for your feedback. Sounds like overall you enjoyed your dining experience. Excuse us for over cooking the chicken it is normally tender and succulent. Kind regards, Paul Scidone Manager
Restaurant La Camera Southgate responded on Thu, 23 Feb 2017

dined on Mon, 20 Feb 2017

(9)
Always a good place to eat. Ideal for pre-theatre dinner as the service is quick and courteous and the food good value.
page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Specials

The New Aperitivo

The New Aperitivo The Aperitivo is part of the Italian culture as pasta and pizza. Basically it’s their version of happy hour, but with food. Normally it involves a standard pre-dinner drink with some free nibbles and with the recent influx of Italians over the last few years, it is becoming very popular on the Melbourne Food scene. At La Camera Southgate we have our own version of The Aperitivo available every day between 4:00 pm -5:30 pm. Choose from a selection of platters with a huge variety of mouth-watering antipasti and receive a complimentary aperitif….Aperol Spritz, Campari, Vermouth, Negroni, Sbagliato and Prosecco. The balcony is always the best postion to enjoy your aperitivo which overlooks The Yarra River and has breathtaking views of the Melbourne’s beautiful city. Choose from a selection of classic tapas style hot plates, cured meats and roasted veggies. It’s the perfect way to start your evening before your main meal, as a pre or post theatre meal or just to catch up with friends. Prices vary from $15 -$20 depending upon your selection. * not available NYE and Christmas Day
When
21 Feb 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Lunch Specials

When it comes to quality, value, location and great service, La Camera Southgate still leads the way with our express business lunch deals. The offer is available Monday to Thursday between 11:15 am and 4pm 1 COURSE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$20.00 Choice of one main course with a glass of our red or white wine or post mix soft drinks. 2 COURSE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$30.00 Choice of one antipasto and one main course with a glass of house wine or post mix soft drinks. *Please note some additions will incur extra charge **not to be used with any other offer
When
21 Feb 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu 11:15 AM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

30% Off Food BIll

Discount applies to food only, no drinks or alcoholic beverages. Offer not valid in conjunction with any other special, promotion or voucher. Maximum discount $30
When
01 Aug 2017 - 23 Feb 2019
Mon, Tue 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Jazz and Shiraz - Wine Tasting Event

What do get when you combine a free wine tasting night, some soothing and very cool jazz music, the idyllic location and sumptuous Italian fare? One hell of a night and one reason why so many patrons have attended our Southbank Community Night over the last 11 years La Camera has become synonymous with innovative, enjoyable dining events which has seen patrons flock to La Camera on the last Monday of every month (except December and January). Whether it be a Cooking Class, Opera Night, Live Music or Italian Yum Cha, one can be assured of an excellent night's entertainemnt and sumptuous food. Our first two Jazz and Shiraz events earlier this year were a complete sell out so reserve your table today. For more information call 9699 3600. #jazz #livemusic #shiraz #freewinetasting #melbourneevent
When
30 Oct 2017
Mon 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Father's Day Theme

Are you ready for a special treat for Father’s Day? Chosen by our followers on Instagram and Facebook in a recent competition, we have a photo booth with various props for your entertainment (breakfast/lunch only). Booth will be available from 10.30am to 2pm. There will also be extra surprises and giveaways on the day/night that will assure plenty of laughs and a memorable Father’s Day. All dads will receive a $20 drinks voucher that they can use at La Camera or next door at our sister venue, “Waterslide Bar”. Booking Essential. NB: A la carte dining is available all day however, set menus apply for bookings of 15 or more px.
When
03 Sep 2017
Sun 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About La Camera Southgate

Food is life Nestled amongst riverside treetops on Southgate’s mid level, with stunning views over The Yarra River and iconic Flinders Street Station, La Camera is a touch of Italy right on Melbourne’s door step. The family owned and operated restaurant offers an array of authentic Italian dishes, including unique Roman-style pizzas, authentic Gnocchi oxtail from Trastevere, Rome and by far the most delectable Tiramisu in town. All made using quality ingredients and fresh, seasonal produce. Sit out on the large balconies, or in the main dining area where the interior is adorned with vintage black-and-white photographs depicting the history of the family run restaurant. There’s good reason to dine at this Southgate stunner; whether you’re after a quick bite before work, a venue to host a business lunch, great food in a central location for a family meal, or a pre theatre meal, La Camera has you covered. Relax, unwind, escape - and make La Camera, your room…where as with all Italians…“FOOD IS LIFE”. Best dish: Gnocchi oxtail matched to a shiraz

La Camera Southgate Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

74
3.5/5