.

1893 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Dimmi Score

8.4
1893 reviews
Recommended
(8.7)
Food
(8.3)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.1)
Elizabeth

dined on Fri, 23 Jun 2017

(7)
We often come here pre theatre and enjoy our meals the Pork Belly was not a good choice tonight - very small meal and fatty, not tasty. Don't know what the grey/green stuff was that was under it , but uninspiring They brought me a yummy salad to go with it when I pointed out how small it was - looked like an entree compared with the other meals served
Anna

dined on Fri, 23 Jun 2017

(8)
We were here on a busy Friday night for a pre-theatre dinner. Service was a bit slow to start, but the food never disappoints. Four excellent pasta dishes between us.

dined on Thu, 22 Jun 2017

(8)
We usually are eating prior to going to the theatre. The service is quick because of that. I would like to be able to split the bill....coming as a group it is always an issue. Otherwise it is always an enjoyable meal.
Suzanne

dined on Thu, 22 Jun 2017

(10)
A regular visitor to La Camera, can't fault it!

dined on Sat, 17 Jun 2017

(9)
Good food, nice big portions. Great for parties

dined on Fri, 16 Jun 2017

(10)
Enjoyable meal with excellent service.

dined on Fri, 16 Jun 2017

(9)
In for b'fast. Dine reasonably regularly at specialMonday night events. Service not the best and waiting for that first coffee longer than many competitors Need to attract staff for any items additional to order. Generally happy when time is not of the essence.

dined on Thu, 15 Jun 2017

(8)
Always a great option before a show / gig - quick, tasty and affordable :)
Roger

dined on Tue, 13 Jun 2017

(9)
Great food, a little quiet on the Tuesday night we were there but as wonderful as always. We will be back when next in Melbourne

dined on Tue, 13 Jun 2017

(9)
Awesome and generous lunch menu, $30 for 2 course with drink is great value!
page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Specials

The New Aperitivo

The New Aperitivo The Aperitivo is part of the Italian culture as pasta and pizza. Basically it’s their version of happy hour, but with food. Normally it involves a standard pre-dinner drink with some free nibbles and with the recent influx of Italians over the last few years, it is becoming very popular on the Melbourne Food scene. At La Camera Southgate we have our own version of The Aperitivo available every day between 4:00 pm -5:30 pm. Choose from a selection of platters with a huge variety of mouth-watering antipasti and receive a complimentary aperitif….Aperol Spritz, Campari, Vermouth, Negroni, Sbagliato and Prosecco. The balcony is always the best postion to enjoy your aperitivo which overlooks The Yarra River and has breathtaking views of the Melbourne’s beautiful city. Choose from a selection of classic tapas style hot plates, cured meats and roasted veggies. It’s the perfect way to start your evening before your main meal, as a pre or post theatre meal or just to catch up with friends. Prices vary from $15 -$20 depending upon your selection. * not available NYE and Christmas Day
When
21 Feb 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 4:00 PM - 5:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Lunch Specials

When it comes to quality, value, location and great service, La Camera Southgate still leads the way with our express business lunch deals. The offer is available Monday to Thursday between 11:15 am and 4pm 1 COURSE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$20.00 Choice of one main course with a glass of our red or white wine or post mix soft drinks. 2 COURSE . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .$30.00 Choice of one antipasto and one main course with a glass of house wine or post mix soft drinks. *Please note some additions will incur extra charge **not to be used with any other offer
When
21 Feb 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu 11:15 AM - 4:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

30% Off Food BIll

Discount applies to food only, no drinks or alcoholic beverages. Offer not valid in conjunction with any other special, promotion or voucher. Maximum discount $30
When
23 Feb 2017 - 23 Feb 2019
Mon, Tue 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About La Camera Southgate

Food is life Nestled amongst riverside treetops on Southgate’s mid level, with stunning views over The Yarra River and iconic Flinders Street Station, La Camera is a touch of Italy right on Melbourne’s door step. The family owned and operated restaurant offers an array of authentic Italian dishes, including unique Roman-style pizzas, authentic Gnocchi oxtail from Trastevere, Rome and by far the most delectable Tiramisu in town. All made using quality ingredients and fresh, seasonal produce. Sit out on the large balconies, or in the main dining area where the interior is adorned with vintage black-and-white photographs depicting the history of the family run restaurant. There’s good reason to dine at this Southgate stunner; whether you’re after a quick bite before work, a venue to host a business lunch, great food in a central location for a family meal, or a pre theatre meal, La Camera has you covered. Relax, unwind, escape - and make La Camera, your room…where as with all Italians…“FOOD IS LIFE”. Best dish: Gnocchi oxtail matched to a shiraz

Takeaway
Yes

La Camera Southgate Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

74
3.5/5